How to Fix iMessage

Discussion in 'General Help' started by jaymonkey, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Oct 12, 2017 at 12:42 AM #6891
    RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    It is iMac 18,1.
     
  2. RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Oct 13, 2017 at 12:23 AM #6892
    RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Any ideas?
     
  3. MikeHoward

    MikeHoward

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X Gaming 5
    CPU:
    4 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2017 at 11:20 AM #6893
    MikeHoward

    MikeHoward

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X Gaming 5
    CPU:
    4 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You could try it... that is the only way to find out. And it will not hurt you to find out.

    Look, I'm not an expert at this.

    From a purist point of view, I would not recommend it, specially if your rig is very old. The problem is your rig serial number and Board SN is fixed to a specific board with a certain set of capability on that board. USB ports, DDR ram types , CPU support, PCI cards etc...

    If you lucky you could probably get it working with reduced capability. It's like trying to run the latest and greatest CPU on a 7 series mobo for example.. At boot time the OS would expect the 7 series mobo except its actually not ...

    You may have problems (or not) with USB supports and potentially CPU / power management

    Let me know if it worked. How old is your rig (the one with the working SN for iMessage) by the way...
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  4. esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 14, 2017 at 8:51 PM #6894
    esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You can use the values from your old rig in your present new rig even if the SmBIOS is different to the one before.
     
  5. d70

    d70

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z270-AR
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 SC
    Oct 15, 2017 at 3:46 AM #6895
    d70

    d70

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z270-AR
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 SC
    Confirmed. Reused old values and everything is working great.
     
  6. esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 15, 2017 at 10:50 AM #6896
    esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Enjoy :thumbup:
     
  7. hoeman

    hoeman

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Motherboard:
    Rampage V Extreme
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
    Oct 18, 2017 at 10:09 PM #6897
    hoeman

    hoeman

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Motherboard:
    Rampage V Extreme
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
    Please help me. I've read through the steps on resolving the issues, but I see a contradiction against the original guide as well as the prevailing method towards getting iMessage working: in following the troubleshooting guide, it appears I ought to have a valid but unregistered S/N prior to contacting Apple, but the guide on getting iMessage working in the first place from a clean install clearly states that I'm supposed to use a S/N that checks out against everyman.com but is invalid at checkcoverage.apple.com.

    Shouldn't I be concerned with getting Apple to whitelist a valid but unregistered S/N? What if the guy who ends up with the valid S/N gets around to registering it?
     
  8. hoeman

    hoeman

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Motherboard:
    Rampage V Extreme
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
    Oct 18, 2017 at 11:40 PM #6898
    hoeman

    hoeman

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Motherboard:
    Rampage V Extreme
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
    Hi guys, I'm back after another clean install. It didn't work. Still giving me the customer code to contact Apple. It appears there's no way out of this and I have to get Apple support to whitelist my MLB and ROM. How are other people able to bypass this issue and get their iMessage working on their rigs?
     
  9. TheTrollCaptain

    TheTrollCaptain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Motherboard:
    Asus H97M-Plus LGA 1150
    CPU:
    Haswell Intel Core i3 4160 @ 3.6 GHz Dual-Core (4 Thread)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 Integrated Graphics
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 19, 2017 at 8:24 PM #6899
    TheTrollCaptain

    TheTrollCaptain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Motherboard:
    Asus H97M-Plus LGA 1150
    CPU:
    Haswell Intel Core i3 4160 @ 3.6 GHz Dual-Core (4 Thread)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 Integrated Graphics
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Okay believe it or not, I actually got this working. I learned that really old Apple ID's do not need a valid MLB / ROM to work, but the newer accounts do. So I took a valid MLB and ROM from my real iMac and now it works. Bottom line, if you have created your Apple ID in the last few years, there is a good chance you can't generate fake values and get it working.
     
    Pac-Mac and esafeddie like this.
  10. esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 20, 2017 at 1:24 AM #6900
    esafeddie

    esafeddie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-OC Force, GA-EX58-UD3R
    CPU:
    Processor 3.50 Ghz Intel Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    'I learned that really old Apple ID's do not need a valid MLB / ROM to work'

    Man Ive been saying that for a long time because I have seen that pattern since apple introduced the two step verification security check which is a PITA at times. No matter how many times I've clean installed which I prefer to do, logging into iMsg/F-Time never throws a code to call apple, my ID is as old as the hills. New IDs' has a greater chance of failure specially on new or first time builds.
     
    TheTrollCaptain likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice