How to Fix iMessage

Discussion in 'General Help' started by jaymonkey, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Oct 6, 2017 at 9:11 PM #6871
    RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    I've used this guide as well as An idiots guide to imessage. I have reset s/n and smuuid. Then I boot with -f and I try to sign in to iMessage and I get the message that says "Could not sign in to iMessage an error occurred during activation. Try again." I changed my Apple ID password and then it lets me sign in momentarily but I am shut out within 10 seconds and the same error message as mentioned before comes up. I've also done imessagedebug.txt. Please help? No idea what else to try. I know I'm close but I seem to be missing something.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 8, 2017 at 12:15 AM #6872
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    But in the iMessage guide linked to the top of the forum, it says the following:
    "If you see the message "We're sorry, but this serial number is not valid. Please check your information and try again" and the Serial Number has passed verification at everymac.com then it is OK to use this Serial Number for your config.plist."

    This statement on the iMessage guide on the top of the forum is in direct conflict with your statement. So which statement is true? What is the proper response we need to get from the apple coverage lookup page when entering a serial number? @jaymonkey @RehabMan @P1LGRIM
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  3. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 8, 2017 at 1:27 AM #6873
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am getting the "You cannot sign in to iMessage on this Mac at this time." message and a customer code. During this process, I also noticed something weird! According to I cloud, my mackintosh is supposed to have a phone number. But instead its a null value in iCloud. Could this be happening due to some misconfiguration in my settings? WHY DOES MY HACK HAVE A PHONE NUMBER WITH A NULL VALUE? Please check the screenshots below. View attachment 284004 iMac Phone number null 2.png iMac Phone number null 2.png imac phone number null 1.png

    @rehab @P1LGRIM @jaymonkey
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
  4. bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 8, 2017 at 9:59 AM #6874
    bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    guys I'm getting this message:

    You can not sign in to iMessage with this Mac at this time.

    To use iMessage with this Mac, contact Apple Technical Support and provide the following code.
     

    Attached Files:

    • fullsizeoutput_6d.jpeg  (65.6 KB, 66 views)
  5. RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:02 AM #6875
    RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Any thoughts on this one? Please help!!
     
  6. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:36 PM #6876
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the exact same problem. However, if I try signing with my old apple ID, or even my brothers apple ID, both of those work with iMessage. I have called apple over a dozen times at this point and they have thrown me through 3 or 4 different processes each time. Then they bumped my issue up to a senior advisor, then to engineering in which i had to wait a couple days for them to get back to me. After they heard back from engineering, they called me back and asked me to screen share with them, in which I hung up. The I waited a couple days and called them back, speaking with a new person and opening a new case. That person said that he unblacklisted my ID from being tagged as a "Suspected commercial spammer", and that once I got home to my mac, it should now work. I got home, and it still didn't work. A couple days later, I called again. The person I talked to this time put me on hold to speak to a senior advisor. However, this time, when they asked, I gave them the serial number from my real mac, and the error code from my Hackintosh. (The previous time I gave them the fake serial from my hack, and both times, they told me that my serial wasn't showing up in their system and I could be using a non-apple computer or clone). After giving them the serial from my real mac (and telling them that iMessage wasn't working on my real mac) they told me that they are going to re-register all of my devices for me so that everything works. They said it should take 24 hours for it to kick in. It has now been 36 hours and still no success. Over the last couple phonecalls, the apple agent did say that he couldn't find anything specifically wrong or flagged with my apple ID. This was after the first phonemail in which they said i was a "Suspected commercial spammer". So at this point, I am at a bit of a loss. I don't know how many more times I can call apple before I'm having them dig so deep that they will figure out I'm using non-apple hardware. Its just weird that every other apple ID I use works! Have you tried using a different apple ID? If a different one works, then you know your configuration settings are most likely legit, and its most likely something to do with apple back-end on your apple ID. If anyone has any suggestions for me, please let me know. I figured I would share my experience though just in case it helps you.
     
  7. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2017 at 2:54 PM #6877
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm right there in that squad with you. It SUUUUUUCKS! I HATE THIS SQUAD!
     
  8. d70

    d70

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z270-AR
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 SC
    Oct 9, 2017 at 5:26 PM #6878
    d70

    d70

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Motherboard:
    Asus Prime Z270-AR
    CPU:
    i7-7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 SC
    I just built a new rig. Can I use SN, Board SN, SmUUID, ROM from my previous build with working iMessage?
     
  9. RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    Oct 9, 2017 at 6:34 PM #6879
    RTek

    RTek

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270N - WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-7320
    I don't get it though. Why does iTunes sign in and function no problem but iMessage, facetime doesn't work? I've never received the message where it says from Apple to contact them so I'm not sure what to do next?
     
  10. anmool

    anmool

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Ideapad 320-14ikb
    CPU:
    i5-7200U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD graphics 620 (13,9 1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Oct 9, 2017 at 7:40 PM #6880
    anmool

    anmool

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Ideapad 320-14ikb
    CPU:
    i5-7200U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD graphics 620 (13,9 1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    can I put wifi Mac address in config.plis under rom section for iMessage to work because I have no ethernet cable please ans me
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice