Contribute
Register

How to Fix iMessage

Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,960
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
dravon i had this issue and ever since that happened in Yosemite i could never get iMessage working or FaceTime so I've given up with it tbh
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
624
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
i have got a iPhone i got the iPhone 6 plus 128GB but thats not the point! i like to use continuity which will only work if u have iMessage and FaceTime also my family and friends have macs and iPhones etc i don't like using FaceTime on my iPhone i prefer to use it on mac also like to have iMessage saves me picking up my phone when I'm on my mac basically
But Jay, they are going to sort it out. It's only temporary. If you want to get a Mac so you can be problem free then I understand. Remember that it will be much slower than what you have now. Unless you get the new Mac Pro
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,960
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
demonknight9 i think apples tightening up on this now tbh! my iMessage will no longer work it works fine on my macbook tho so
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,960
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm getting the mac mini for now until i can afford a iMac or a mac pro but all i need it for is music and movies and browsing really i don't think i need a i7 lol and for the iMessage it will just work with no issues
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
624
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm getting the mac mini for now until i can afford a iMac or a mac pro but all i need it for is music and movies and browsing really i don't think i need a i7 lol and for the iMessage it will just work with no issues
Oh, I see. If it's like that then you're ok. They make security tighter overtime and the hackers still manage to bypass or satisfy the prompts. It's much harder in Jailbreaking, you will have a lot more control over a PC
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
614
Motherboard
Wolfies BeQuiet
CPU
6700k + Gigabyte Z170X Designare
Graphics
EVGA 1080ti FTW3
Mac
iMac
Im pretty concerned this is the end of the road for iMessage. I still have it activated (not signing out at all) but its a matter of time before I get logged out.

Could it be worth exploring NVRAM file again for anyone that understands computers which may fool the system into getting it to work again. Then we get back onto chimera?

Maybe there is something in NVRAM that makes it compatible with yosemite and bypass Apples security implementations on MLB and ROM.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
42
Motherboard
GA-Z87MX-D3H
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
After being locked out of iMessage, I got it working again by re-using the ROM and MLB values from my older 'Lion' MacBook Air. All it took was setting the values in Clover RtVariables and calling Apple support to unlock. I didn't change any other values like smbios.

If you happened to have an older original Mac, here's how to reuse the ROM/MLB values:

From terminal, type the following:

nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM
nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB

The MLB value can be used 'as-is' in RtVariables.
The ROM value needs to be hex coded. For example, a code of "%03%1e[%8foH" would be "031e5b8f6f48"

I used this online string to hex decoder: http://www.string-functions.com/string-hex.aspx
1) copy/paste the ROM -> %03%1e[%8foH
2) replace each sequence of %xx with a # -> ##[#oH
3) convert to hex -> 23235b236f48
4) replace the "23" sequences with the original "%xx" codes -> 031e5b8f6f48

Put both values as STRING (!) in the clover config.plist:

<key>RtVariables</key>
<dict>
<key>MLB</key>
<string>xxxxxxxxxxxxx</string>
<key>ROM</key>
<string>yyyyyyyyyyyy</string>
</dict>

Reboot and make the call to Apple support to unlock.

Note: as outlined multiple times by jaymonkey, cloning mlb/rom values might cause Apple to blacklist the values so don't do this unless you 1) own the mac (!!!) and 2) are willing to take the risk of blacklisting. Since my old MacBook Air does not support iMessage, cloning seems save and, for now, a working solution.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2013
Messages
185
Motherboard
Aorus Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac
I too was signed out of iMessage this morning, but only on my new iPad Air 2. I signed back in, and my Hackintosh seemed to still be working. I suspect sometime today I'll lose the ability to sign in though.

I then need to make a choice.

Do do I wait and see if this can be solved?
Do I use the values my now retired 2009 MBP to log in (not recommended)?
Do I accept this is not worth the trouble and these features are no longer a part of my workflow?

I am curious as to whether there is any progress, and whether these legit values people are posting are showing a pattern?
 

jaymonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
3,296
Motherboard
ASRock-Z97 EX6
CPU
i7-4790K OC @ 4.8GHz
Graphics
Vega 64LC + HD4600
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@All,

Thanks to everyone who has supplied info on real Mac MLB syntax ... I firmly believe that this is now the key to resolving the latest iMessage issue. I think I have enough MLB examples for now. I need some time to research and look into the format of the MLB further. I have some very useful information from anther source but it's going to take a bit of low level disassembly to figure everything out ...

It's possible that i may need further info from some real Mac's but i'll send a PM to those i thank maybe able to help out further ... thanks again to everyone who submitted info.

I'm going away on vacation tomorrow so please be patient, i'll be taking my iPad with me to keep an eye on the forum ... etc but i wont be working actively on the issue until i get back. There are a few other knowledgeable folks looking into this approach and i'm communicating with some of them so i'm sure between us and the community i'm hopeful we'll have some good news soon.

For the time being please heed the warnings that seem to have been the main subject of the thread over the last few pages .... by now all of you should know the general consensus of using a real Mac's ID's .... It'snot a good idea and will only **** Apple Off. If you absolutely have to and you own a real Mac then it is possible to use just the MLB & ROM values to enable iMessage but don't do it more than once or twice and don't what ever you don't leach the ID's to anyone else.

I'm not suggesting by any means that you should do it, but i cant stop those that are determined to try it ... so please use common sense, think about what your doing and the possible long term impact on the rest of the community.

Cheers
Jay
 
Top