Contribute
Register
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
140
Motherboard
Asus TP500LAB (9 series)
CPU
i5-5200U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
What do you mean? You should be generating a serial with CLover and testing at at selfsolve.apple.com.
YES.. check

on-valid serial #, what do you mean?
selfsolve.apple.com replies with:
on valid /legit= The machine data, plus warranty information.
non valid= "this serial number is not valid"
but, not the Hackintosh valid..

No misunderstanding ... Im getting nothing but invailds after say 150+ tries. Serial not valid, or actually legit/ valid, and a couple of login in to validate purchase date.

But never out of 150+ i'm being conservative when i say this tries. Never got the Hackintosh valid "We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again"

I'm asking how many tries did it take for you to get yours?? I feel like I'm looking for a Unicorn that doesn't exist anymore?

I have the same problem when looking for a valid, but unused serial number for the Retina MacBookPro 11,1. I have text file with 33 real Mac serial numbers. I either get the not valid error message or a real Mac. I've tried it like 300 times now. I think this method does not seem to work anymore.

Are we doing something wrong?

I had a working serial number times ago, that was valid but not registered. I tried to get it working using it, but the serial was blacklisted and I'm using the EmuVariables efi file in clover folder to get my NVRAM working. I'm using UUIDGEN to get my SMUUID and simpleMLB.sh to generate the MLB. The only that is stopping me right now is, that I can't find any valid but unregistered serial.

Thank you
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Motherboard or System make and full model names > See Rules!
CPU
> Need full CPU model number > See Rules!
Graphics
> Need model name or number > See Rules!
So here's something I noticed.

A while ago, I reinstalled OS X on my hackintosh. I created a new serial number and checked it on everymac.com and it brought up the mac I was aiming for. I checked it on the apple warranty page, and got

We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again

So I thought, hey, this is working great! Unfortunately, the serial number fails a different check. I tried entering the serial on supportprofile.apple.com/regProd for the heck of it - and it said it was invalid.

"We're sorry, but this serial number is either invalid or it is for Apple software or accessories. If you are trying to add Apple hardware other than an accessory, please check your information and try again."

I'm beginning to think that there's something we're missing. This is really frustrating to me, because the first time I called Apple, the guy became pretty suspicious of me pretty fast. I'm going to have to call them again soon to see if hopefully I get someone a little nicer, but I'm not too thrilled about it.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,975
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So here's something I noticed.

A while ago, I reinstalled OS X on my hackintosh. I created a new serial number and checked it on everymac.com and it brought up the mac I was aiming for. I checked it on the apple warranty page, and got

We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again

So I thought, hey, this is working great! Unfortunately, the serial number fails a different check. I tried entering the serial on supportprofile.apple.com/regProd for the heck of it - and it said it was invalid.

"We're sorry, but this serial number is either invalid or it is for Apple software or accessories. If you are trying to add Apple hardware other than an accessory, please check your information and try again."

I'm beginning to think that there's something we're missing. This is really frustrating to me, because the first time I called Apple, the guy became pretty suspicious of me pretty fast. I'm going to have to call them again soon to see if hopefully I get someone a little nicer, but I'm not too thrilled about it.

When you check on everymac.com it confirms that the serial number is in the correct format.
When you check on Apple self solve it confirms if the serial number has or has not been registered.
When you try and register it for warranty Apple checks its records and knows that they never actually made that item.
You cannot register a fake product, why would you even try ?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Motherboard or System make and full model names > See Rules!
CPU
> Need full CPU model number > See Rules!
Graphics
> Need model name or number > See Rules!
Sh*ts and giggles? Curiosity? I have been unable to get this to work despite following every possible guide I could find to the letter. I have a nice ROM, MLB and Serial number all generated by clover configurator. I'm taking shots in the dark here and playing around with various things to see what happens - without changing the values I have currently.

The fact of the matter is I have the stupid "contact apple support" thing, and one huge forum thread (aka here) says "it's okay to contact them just be tactful" and another huge forum somewhere else says "don't contact them you could get your account banned." Yadda Yadda ya. All I want is for my iMessage to work, and I've been looking all over at various things toward that end - with no avail yet.

Plus I was not entirely sure what would happen there. Or, rather, what error it would give me.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Dell 7347
CPU
Haswell I5 4th Gen
Graphics
Hd 4400 intel
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When you check on everymac.com it confirms that the serial number is in the correct format.
When you check on Apple self solve it confirms if the serial number has or has not been registered.
When you try and register it for warranty Apple checks its records and knows that they never actually made that item.
You cannot register a fake product, why would you even try ?





I agree with not registering a valid/fake serial. P1LGRIM could you please help us ? Could you test out what we are saying? Run a few through clover like you used to. Help us conclude, we are either doing something wrong. Or they've figured out, and blacklisted the serial algorithm of Clover.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,975
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I agree with not registering a valid/fake serial. Could you please help us ? Could you test out what we are saying? Help us conclude, we are either doing something wrong. Or they've figured out, and blacklisted the serial algorithm of Clover.

Everything that you need is already in the guide.
For a walkthrough of the setup process see my Qx-2000 build - Link in sig.
You only need a serial number in a valid format.
You do not need a serial number from a genuine Mac.
You do not need to register a serial number for iMessage to work.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Motherboard or System make and full model names > See Rules!
CPU
> Need full CPU model number > See Rules!
Graphics
> Need model name or number > See Rules!
I agree with not registering a valid/fake serial. P1LGRIM could you please help us ? Could you test out what we are saying? Run a few through clover like you used to. Help us conclude, we are either doing something wrong. Or they've figured out, and blacklisted the serial algorithm of Clover.

Here's another development - Apple recently started requiring you to log in (never mind) to use the serial number checker - and the error now is different. It just flat up says "this is invalid."

Which is awesome because that now seems to suggest they're just going to start logging these attempts and blacklisting serial numbers - then accounts. I suppose my curiosity was poorly timed - but hey, if people weren't stupid now and then, problems would never be discovered.

EDIT: I lied. It forces me to sign in when I go to the page but then lets me sign out. Still not exactly a great feeling
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
32
Motherboard
Dell 7347
CPU
Haswell I5 4th Gen
Graphics
Hd 4400 intel
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Everything that you need is already in the guide.
For a walkthrough of the setup process see my Qx-2000 build - Link in sig.
You only need a serial number in a valid format.
You do not need a serial number from a genuine Mac.
You do not need to register a serial number for iMessage to work.



I've read the guide, and followed several off of youtube. I have no doubt I'm doing it right. I'm just trying to let everyone know. The guides are wrong, and don't work any more. Because they have changed the process atleast from the stand point of IMessage, and new serials. The fake valid response/ We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again, doesn't work.
 
Last edited:

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,975
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've read the guide, and followed several off of youtube. I have no doubt I'm doing it right. I'm just trying to let everyone know. The guides are wrong, and don't work any more. Because they have changed the process atleast from the stand point of IMessage, and new serials. The fake valid response/ We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again, doesn't work.

With Laptops it's often that they don't have a working Ethernet interface set to BuiltIn and en0.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Motherboard or System make and full model names > See Rules!
CPU
> Need full CPU model number > See Rules!
Graphics
> Need model name or number > See Rules!
With Laptops it's often that they don't have a working Ethernet interface set to BuiltIn and en0.

I think you are missing the point.

https://selfsolve.apple.com/redirects to https://checkcoverage.apple.com/

Sometimes it forces you to log in to use it.

It no longer shows the message


We're sorry, the number you have provided cannot be found in our records. Please verify the number and try again

Instead, it just shows:

This Serial Number is not valid

That means something has changed, and it is worth looking in to. If the guide is no longer accurate, it needs to be updated.

Also, now, my serial number (which passed the checks before) no longer works.

In other words, Apple has probably (once again) changed their validation process, and that warrants investigation.
 
Top