Contribute
Register

Installing Clover from Multibeast Destroys My System

Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
40
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310M
Graphics
HD 3000
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I don't know if this is a problem posed by MultiBeast or Clover--but I install Clover with the EXACT SAME SETTINGS as my USB drive, and it completely prevents my system from booting, and I'm forced to go into the recovery HD to delete the EFI partition. From there I can boot using Clover on my USB drive.

Even if I boot Clover on my USB drive WITH Clover already installed on my HDD, it doesn't boot. I get a circle with a cross icon. In other words, Clover CANNOT be on my system if I want to boot--ONLY on my USB.

Please let me know if this is a problem posed by MultiBeast or Clover and what I could do to fix this.

Thanks in advance.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
5,904
Motherboard
ASRock B560M itx/ac - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know if this is a problem posed by MultiBeast or Clover--but I install Clover with the EXACT SAME SETTINGS as my USB drive, and it completely prevents my system from booting, and I'm forced to go into the recovery HD to delete the EFI partition. From there I can boot using Clover on my USB drive.

Even if I boot Clover on my USB drive WITH Clover already installed on my HDD, it doesn't boot. I get a circle with a cross icon. In other words, Clover CANNOT be on my system if I want to boot--ONLY on my USB.

Please let me know if this is a problem posed by MultiBeast or Clover and what I could do to fix this.

Thanks in advance.

Hi there.

It's neither that are to blame. The circle with a line through is means there is a problem with your boot drive. More than likely the EFI partition is not in MS-DOS format. The main partition has to be HFS etc.

:)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
40
Motherboard
Dell Vostro 3350
CPU
i3-2310M
Graphics
HD 3000
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,

Thanks for your quick response! Unfortunately when I check my EFI partition, it looks like it is already in MS-DOS (Fat32) format. All the settings are the same as my USB drive in Clover--but I'm forced to remove it from the recovery HD using terminal because I get locked out of my system after trying to reboot. Any other ideas?
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
5,904
Motherboard
ASRock B560M itx/ac - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i3-10320
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

Thanks for your quick response! Unfortunately when I check my EFI partition, it looks like it is already in MS-DOS (Fat32) format. All the settings are the same as my USB drive in Clover--but I'm forced to remove it from the recovery HD using terminal because I get locked out of my system after trying to reboot. Any other ideas?

It's difficult with so little information. Dell PCs usually convert quite easily.

Okay, here's what I would do to narrow-down the problem:

1) Check BIOS settings. They are listed at Step 3 in the Installation Guide above.

2) Check your HDD using Disk Utility. Just boot to your UniBeast USB and at the menu select "External". Once the installer loads again, don't install, go to the Tools menu above and run Disk Utility from there on your HD.

3) You don't say what version of macOS you are using. If it's 10.12.6 you need a very recent version of Clover or it won't work. Download the latest. If your UniBeast stick's version of Clover was created with an earlier version, for example, it wouldn't boot 10.12.6. (I had to install 10.12.2 and upgrade upwards to get to 10.12.6, changing the HD Clover on the way because I'd created UniBeast with an earlier version).

4) Sounds like you've checked the EFI, which is good. One way you can double-check, if you are confident with Terminal, is to copy the UniBeast stick's EFI partition over to your HD. The EFI partition on the stick needs mounting, obviously. As you say the stick boots ok this should also make the HD bootable too. HOWEVER this still will not work with a too early version of Clover, as per above.

:)
 
Top