Contribute
Register

How to extend the iMac Pro to X99 [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
220
Motherboard
ASUS X99 AII
CPU
Intel XEON E5-2696 v3
Graphics
AMD RX 560
Mobile Phone
iOS
Guys I have a question my ASUS x99A2 mobo boots up everytime different (BIOS Settings are like in the guide) ,when the boot screen is low resolution (big ASUS logo) it works ok on 10.13.3 ,but when it boots on high resolution (small ASUS logo) i m getting "com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] (com.apple.preference.displays.MirrorDisplays): Service only ran for 0 seconds. Pushing respawn out by 10 seconds" in console and the mac freeze after a while .
Anyone have any thoughts on what can cause the issue?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 11, 2016
Messages
78
Motherboard
ASUS X99 Deluxe
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 980 TI
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
o.k. interesting feedback.. more feedback would be appreciated.. Just to clarify for all, what we are talking about is a X299 ASUS BIOS firmware patch applied on the official ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe BIOS firmware distribution.
Yes, sorry for that. I'm not so good in English, haha. I've done it - patched my ASUS X99 Deluxe/U3.1 BIOS with the patch for X299 ASUS Prime. I'm still testing, but from the first tests still doesn't work. I need VodooTSCSync.kext to wake from sleep corRectly. I will post more if I get to some results, but for now I still need VodooTSCSync. Something is strange, BTW, before this X299 patch and without VodooTSCSync.kext trying to wake from sleep resulted in immediate reboot. Now, without VodooTSCSync and after the X299 patch applied to X99, my system wakes from sleep but I do not have USB and very poor performance. Still trying to figure out if something is wrong with my Clover configuration, kexts and DSDT or the issue is that isn't really yet supported to go without VodooTSCSYNC.kext on X99. I've posted bellow my current EFI folder. Maybe there is something I've missed out or is there a problem someone else can spot with my current configuration. My rig is an ASUS X99 Deluxe U3.1 with Intel 5820K (Haswell E) oc to 4.4 GHz. I use SMBIOS iMac 14.2 because it has frequency vectors for XCPM, and I like to keep macOS vanilla and use SIP. Sorry for my English, and I will keep you posted. If you wondering, with the EFI below, I have a perfect stable system, and all works.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
lion
CPU
i5
Graphics
1gb
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
PLZ HELP!!!
MY CONFIG IS I9 7980XE, ASUS PRIME X299A, ZOTAC 1050P GRAPHICS.
CLOVER BOOT MANAGER IS DISPLAYED ON SCREEN BUT AS I ENTER BOOT OS X, APPLE LOGO IS DISPLAYED & AFTER That display gets off & machine restarts. plz help...
thanks
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2012
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
8700k
Graphics
EVGA GTX 1080
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Trying this with a X99 UD4 and 5960x. GTX 650 as a temp video card. Stuck at Only 128/256 slide values are available for usage! Booting may fail!

EDIT; GraphicsEnabler=Yes gets to PCI Configuration Begin.
 
Last edited:

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
PLZ HELP!!!
MY CONFIG IS I9 7980XE, ASUS PRIME X299A, ZOTAC 1050P GRAPHICS.
CLOVER BOOT MANAGER IS DISPLAYED ON SCREEN BUT AS I ENTER BOOT OS X, APPLE LOGO IS DISPLAYED & AFTER That display gets off & machine restarts. plz help...
thanks
1.) With this system configuration you are definitely in the worn thread. This is a Broadwell-E/EP, Haswell-E/EP, X99 thread..
2.) Add your Skylake-X/X299 system specs (mobo, CPU, GPU) to either your profile or signature and change thread..
3.) Learn to bug report. With the above error description nobody will be able to help you at all..

All the best,

KGP
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Trying this with a X99 UD4 and 5960x. GTX 650 as a temp video card. Stuck at Only 128/256 slide values are available for usage! Booting may fail!

EDIT; GraphicsEnabler=Yes gets to PCI Configuration Begin.
Your BIOS might be totally fragmented. Did you recently update to the latest BIOS version for your mainboard? Still you can also use OsxAptioDrv2Fix..2000.efi if AptioMemoryFix.efi does not work at all for you..
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
199
Motherboard
X299 SAGE 10G
CPU
i9-7940K
Graphics
RADEON VII
How can you say it does not work if you do not even know how to verify it's functionality? ;)
Good point :)
I know it's not working because I can still eject NVMe.
What can I check to look for my mistake ?
Thanks
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Good point :)
I know it's not working because I can still eject NVMe.
What can I check to look for my mistake ?
Thanks
Look, if your NVMe is implemented as external, it is obvious that something fails. I don't know where is your mistake. The only thing I can recommend is to follow again and again my detailed guidelines. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS X99 Deluxe II
CPU
Broadwell 6900k
Graphics
Nvidia 980 TI
Mac
Mac Pro
Thanks for the amazing write-up, I have the same hardware an on boot from the USB it says the following.

Only 128/256 slide values are available for usage! Booting may fail!

I can't get past this section, any idea?
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the amazing write-up, I have the same hardware an on boot from the USB it says the following.

Only 128/256 slide values are available for usage! Booting may fail!

I can't get past this section, any idea?
Please just look three posts in front..:rolleyes: post #1390! ;)

Good luck,

KGP
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top