Final Cut Pro X FCPX Graphic Card performance

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by hughjaas, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. joloroid

    joloroid Guest

    Oct 27, 2016 at 9:10 AM #161
    joloroid

    joloroid Guest

    I just got two MSI R9 280X 3GB. I'll put these to test on my next build but I'm curios why is that so @aunaste.

    btw, what processor you were using for the test? i7 3770K?
     
  2. aunaste

    aunaste

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC 8 GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 1, 2016 at 6:53 AM #162
    aunaste

    aunaste

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC 8 GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    yes
     
  3. kaiyes

    kaiyes

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Asus B150i Gaming Aura
    CPU:
    Core i5 6400
    Graphics:
    Gtx 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 7, 2016 at 6:06 AM #163
    kaiyes

    kaiyes

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Asus B150i Gaming Aura
    CPU:
    Core i5 6400
    Graphics:
    Gtx 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    So can anyone post dual 480 vs dual 280x ?
     
  4. HackintoshNoobie

    HackintoshNoobie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Nov 11, 2016 at 8:23 PM #164
    HackintoshNoobie

    HackintoshNoobie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 5
    I7 6700K stock as it came optimized BIOS Settings
    32gb RAM DDR4-3000 (not sure if this is running at this speed yet)
    Samsung 850 EVO 500gb
    used Sapphire R9-280x, but one fan doesn't work and the other ones bearings are failing. Think i need to return this POS. Who knows how abused it is.
    OSX Sierra 10.12

    Bruce X to ProRes422 avg of 3: 18.4sec

    Wish a modern AMD Card would work as well, really annoying having to spend Euro 300 for a new in box card thats 2 years old... if you can find one.
     
  5. dafar

    dafar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    CPU:
    6700k
    Nov 15, 2016 at 12:50 PM #165
    dafar

    dafar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    CPU:
    6700k
    Hi, Rudyo!
    I'm planning to buy (today) almost the same configuration, except for the GPUs.
    Do you have the Brucex results without the GPUs (using internal graphics)? Or... anyone? :)

    Don't know if I can ask here, was the hackintoshing process too hard or things worked out easily with less workarounds?
    I'm new into the hackintosh world and I work a lot with fcpx with videos from 5 to 50min with few transitions (for youtube).
    I'm wondering if the AMD will be absolutely needed right now or not.

    Thanks!
     
  6. rhys216

    rhys216

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Nov 18, 2016 at 4:32 PM #166
    rhys216

    rhys216

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    RX480 works. I now use it with colorfinale.
    With same setup except overclocked CPU (4.7ghz), I get 13-14 seconds in bruce x.
     
  7. buyjoey

    buyjoey

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Titan Xp
    Nov 23, 2016 at 5:49 AM #167
    buyjoey

    buyjoey

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Titan Xp
    Wow, R9 390, in El-cap 8.3sec,

    I ordered 980ti, so I will compare this in Same OSX and I will go to Sierra for testing again.

    I heard Sierra will slower than El Cap, but I will see.

    Thanks!!
     
  8. Ed Ding

    Ed Ding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Nov 23, 2016 at 6:45 AM #168
    Ed Ding

    Ed Ding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    So I just updated to Sierra and my DUal 280x perform a lot slower now in FCPX....damn! Any way to solve this?
    14 seconds in BruceX but other render tasks are slower.
     
  9. benjackson

    benjackson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UP4
    CPU:
    3930K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 5:54 AM #169
    benjackson

    benjackson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X79-UP4
    CPU:
    3930K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So what score did you get with the 980ti? I am thinking of buying one as it'll be fast in davinci resolve and hope it'll still be fairly fast in FCPX.
     
  10. macguy54

    macguy54

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Jan 11, 2017 at 1:02 PM #170
    macguy54

    macguy54

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Are people here mostly on El Capitan? I'm about to start the build and wondering if I will get better performance on it. It will primary be a fcpx editing rig.
     

Share This Page