Final Cut Pro X FCPX Graphic Card performance

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by hughjaas, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. joloroid

    joloroid Guest

    Oct 27, 2016 at 9:10 AM #161
    joloroid

    joloroid Guest

    I just got two MSI R9 280X 3GB. I'll put these to test on my next build but I'm curios why is that so @aunaste.

    btw, what processor you were using for the test? i7 3770K?
     
  2. aunaste

    aunaste

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC 8 GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 1, 2016 at 6:53 AM #162
    aunaste

    aunaste

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC 8 GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    yes
     
  3. kaiyes

    kaiyes

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus B150i Gaming Aura
    CPU:
    Core i5 6400
    Graphics:
    Gtx 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 7, 2016 at 6:06 AM #163
    kaiyes

    kaiyes

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus B150i Gaming Aura
    CPU:
    Core i5 6400
    Graphics:
    Gtx 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    So can anyone post dual 480 vs dual 280x ?
     
  4. HackintoshNoobie

    HackintoshNoobie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Nov 11, 2016 at 8:23 PM #164
    HackintoshNoobie

    HackintoshNoobie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 5
    I7 6700K stock as it came optimized BIOS Settings
    32gb RAM DDR4-3000 (not sure if this is running at this speed yet)
    Samsung 850 EVO 500gb
    used Sapphire R9-280x, but one fan doesn't work and the other ones bearings are failing. Think i need to return this POS. Who knows how abused it is.
    OSX Sierra 10.12

    Bruce X to ProRes422 avg of 3: 18.4sec

    Wish a modern AMD Card would work as well, really annoying having to spend Euro 300 for a new in box card thats 2 years old... if you can find one.
     
  5. dafar

    dafar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    CPU:
    6700k
    Nov 15, 2016 at 12:50 PM #165
    dafar

    dafar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    CPU:
    6700k
    Hi, Rudyo!
    I'm planning to buy (today) almost the same configuration, except for the GPUs.
    Do you have the Brucex results without the GPUs (using internal graphics)? Or... anyone? :)

    Don't know if I can ask here, was the hackintoshing process too hard or things worked out easily with less workarounds?
    I'm new into the hackintosh world and I work a lot with fcpx with videos from 5 to 50min with few transitions (for youtube).
    I'm wondering if the AMD will be absolutely needed right now or not.

    Thanks!
     
  6. rhys216

    rhys216

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Nov 18, 2016 at 4:32 PM #166
    rhys216

    rhys216

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    RX480 works. I now use it with colorfinale.
    With same setup except overclocked CPU (4.7ghz), I get 13-14 seconds in bruce x.
     
  7. buyjoey

    buyjoey

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 Liquid cool
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 23, 2016 at 5:49 AM #167
    buyjoey

    buyjoey

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    i7 8700k
    Graphics:
    Vega 64 Liquid cool
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Wow, R9 390, in El-cap 8.3sec,

    I ordered 980ti, so I will compare this in Same OSX and I will go to Sierra for testing again.

    I heard Sierra will slower than El Cap, but I will see.

    Thanks!!
     
  8. Ed Ding

    Ed Ding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Nov 23, 2016 at 6:45 AM #168
    Ed Ding

    Ed Ding

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    So I just updated to Sierra and my DUal 280x perform a lot slower now in FCPX....damn! Any way to solve this?
    14 seconds in BruceX but other render tasks are slower.
     
  9. benjackson

    benjackson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UP4
    CPU:
    3930K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 5:54 AM #169
    benjackson

    benjackson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte X79-UP4
    CPU:
    3930K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So what score did you get with the 980ti? I am thinking of buying one as it'll be fast in davinci resolve and hope it'll still be fairly fast in FCPX.
     
  10. macguy54

    macguy54

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Jan 11, 2017 at 1:02 PM #170
    macguy54

    macguy54

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Are people here mostly on El Capitan? I'm about to start the build and wondering if I will get better performance on it. It will primary be a fcpx editing rig.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice