Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried re-flashing with both versions of BIOS, no change.
It would be a good idea to run Linux. Most Linux distributions, including Ubuntu, can be run directly from a USB flash disk. We simply download the .iso file and use Balena Etcher to write it to a USB flash disk. Then we boot from USB and run Linux without installing it.

If Linux also fails to shutdown the system properly, then you can file a support ticket with Gigabyte on their website.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Since upgrading to Monterrey I seem to be having some issues with MacOS thinking it has run out of memory or behaving as if it has but from what I am seeing there is plenty of overhead. Most of the times it is just happening in the background but I did get the error message below and it looks like one application is using way more memory than is installed. Most of the time finder and applications are just generally kind of slow, lots of beach balls. I have plenty of free space on my system disk and the drive is healthy, any suggestions?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 10.07.58 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 10.07.58 AM.png
    60.2 KB · Views: 14

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since upgrading to Monterrey I seem to be having some issues with MacOS thinking it has run out of memory or behaving as if it has but from what I am seeing there is plenty of overhead. Most of the times it is just happening in the background but I did get the error message below and it looks like one application is using way more memory than is installed. Most of the time finder and applications are just generally kind of slow, lots of beach balls. I have plenty of free space on my system disk and the drive is healthy, any suggestions?
There seems to be a horrible memory leak in the Amazon Music app (272GB is beyond insane). Are you using the latest version? If you quit and restart the application, does it once again consume horrendous amounts of memory?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
There seems to be a horrible memory leak in the Amazon Music app (272GB is beyond insane). Are you using the latest version? If you quit and restart the application, does it once again consume horrendous amounts of memory?
Up to date and no that's been the only visible sign of anything not working correctly, any ideas on diagnostics or logs to look at?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
It would be a good idea to run Linux. Most Linux distributions, including Ubuntu, can be run directly from a USB flash disk. We simply download the .iso file and use Balena Etcher to write it to a USB flash disk. Then we boot from USB and run Linux without installing it.

If Linux also fails to shutdown the system properly, then you can file a support ticket with Gigabyte on their website.
Ran Linux, same thing. Then I took out the WiFi/Bluetooth card and the computer now shuts down without issues. So the question now is- can I get the internal Wifi module to work or do I need a replacement card?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ran Linux, same thing. Then I took out the WiFi/Bluetooth card and the computer now shuts down without issues. So the question now is- can I get the internal Wifi module to work or do I need a replacement card?
Okay, now we're on to something...
  • What is the make/model of the WiFi/BT card that you removed?
  • The Z390 Designare has an on-board Intel WiFi/BT module that can be used with a third-party driver. Please see this post for details.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Okay, now we're on to something...
  • What is the make/model of the WiFi/BT card that you removed?
  • The Z390 Designare has an on-board Intel WiFi/BT module that can be used with a third-party driver. Please see this post for details.
I am/was using the Broadcom ZA653-0023 card with the ZYX-360CD PCI adapter.
Have tried with the third party driver, but I am running into an issue. I copied the 0.8.3 EFI folder with the third party kexts and settings as suggested in the post to an external Flash drive to boot from there. But if the security is set to Default, I get a security violation at the boot loader level and it does not allow me to load. If it is set to Disabled, it starts loading, but it never finishes. I activated verbose mode in the config file, but it does not work. Also, now, the hack started freezing, which it did not do before I removed the WiFi card - I have to reset it or power it down with the power button.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am/was using the Broadcom ZA653-0023 card with the ZYX-360CD PCI adapter.
Have tried with the third party driver, but I am running into an issue. I copied the 0.8.3 EFI folder with the third party kexts and settings as suggested in the post to an external Flash drive to boot from there. But if the security is set to Default, I get a security violation at the boot loader level and it does not allow me to load. If it is set to Disabled, it starts loading, but it never finishes. I activated verbose mode in the config file, but it does not work. Also, now, the hack started freezing, which it did not do before I removed the WiFi card - I have to reset it or power it down with the power button.
Some questions/comments:
  • Which version of macOS are you running?
  • Have you tried the Fenvi FV-T919? Or the Fenvi FV-HB1200?
  • Feel free to compress and post the entire EFI folder that was configured for on-board Intel WiFi/BT, but redact serial numbers from PlatformInfo --> DataHub prior to posting
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Some questions/comments:
  • Which version of macOS are you running?
  • Have you tried the Fenvi FV-T919? Or the Fenvi FV-HB1200?
  • Feel free to compress and post the entire EFI folder that was configured for on-board Intel WiFi/BT, but redact serial numbers from PlatformInfo --> DataHub prior to posting
I am running Mojave 10.14.6.
No, have not tried any other card, just figured out that the old one was the issue today. Looking to buy the Fenvi T919 - would you recommend that one?
I upgraded to the 0.8.3 EFI folder from this build and just changed the config.plist. The previous card was plug and play, no additional tweaks were made from the original build onwards.
 
Top