Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Sure; at the top of Post 1, in the spoiler labeled Quick Reference to Mini-Guides and Micro-Guides, please have a look at this guide. Although it's for Big Sur, the same procedure applies to Monterey. Because you already have a configured OpenCore 0.8.3 EFI folder, the task is simplified.

View attachment 552927
Thanks @CaseySJ . Waiting on some new SSD's. However, other than follwing the quick-guide, what can I do to migrate my applications and data cleanly?
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Have you also tried:
  • Reset NVRAM
  • CMOS Reset (this requires us to configure BIOS parameters again)
It may also be helpful to look at the startup section of boot log, by typing this in Terminal:
Bash:
log show --last boot | head -1500 > ~/Documents/bootlog.txt
This will create a file in Documents folder called bootlog.txt. Simply post that file.
Hi,
I did reset the CMOS, no change. Having issues with reseting NVRAM- even with Allow NVRAMReset option turned on in config.plist, I do not see the Reset NVRAM option at boot. Not sure how to get around that.
Reset NVRAM as well, no change.
Attaching the boot log as suggested.
 

Attachments

  • bootlog.txt
    245.3 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good morning, is there a way to remove OPENSHELL.EFI from the beginning of the boot (hide) using some command in Hackindron? Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
I did reset the CMOS, no change. Having issues with reseting NVRAM- even with Allow NVRAMReset option turned on in config.plist, I do not see the Reset NVRAM option at boot. Not sure how to get around that.
Reset NVRAM as well, no change.
Attaching the boot log as suggested.
Boot log looks good -- no ACPI table load errors.

At this point it may be a good idea to try the following:
  • Grab the latest 0.8.3 folder from here and follow that guide to transfer serial numbers. Then copy the new EFI folder to EFI partition of a USB flash disk and boot from that disk by pressing F12 at Gigabyte Splash Screen. This will open the BIOS boot menu (not OpenCore boot menu). Select the USB flash disk. The OpenCore 0.8.3 boot picker should then appear (with the version number shown on lower right corner of screen). Then boot macOS and see if shutdown works.
  • If shutdown still fails, consider installing a fresh copy of macOS on a spare SSD using the new 0.8.3 EFI folder (but set SecureBootModel to Disabled). Then see if the fresh copy of macOS is able to shut down properly.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ . Waiting on some new SSD's. However, other than follwing the quick-guide, what can I do to migrate my applications and data cleanly?
If you have a lot of applications to migrate, it might be worth considering Migration Assistant from the Applications --> Utilities folder.

I generally prefer to install applications from scratch. This means having to enter license strings. This might also mean de-licensing the apps on existing system first. If you have quite a few licensed applications, then Migration Assistant might be worth trying.

My main concern with Migration Assistant is that it may migrate various legacy files and folders that can lead to reliability problems.

For data, I just use the Finder to copy my folders.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good morning, is there a way to remove OPENSHELL.EFI from the beginning of the boot (hide) using some command in Hackindron? Thanks
Simple!
Screenshot 2022-08-15 at 8.12.25 AM.png
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,296
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you have a lot of applications to migrate, it might be worth considering Migration Assistant from the Applications --> Utilities folder.

I generally prefer to install applications from scratch. This means having to enter license strings. This might also mean de-licensing the apps on existing system first. If you have quite a few licensed applications, then Migration Assistant might be worth trying.

My main concern with Migration Assistant is that it may migrate various legacy files and folders that can lead to reliability problems.

For data, I just use the Finder to copy my folders.
I have used Migration Assistant from day 1, even from hack to mac and back. I have had my fair share of problems, but nothing I could attest to using MA. Great tool!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Boot log looks good -- no ACPI table load errors.

At this point it may be a good idea to try the following:
  • Grab the latest 0.8.3 folder from here and follow that guide to transfer serial numbers. Then copy the new EFI folder to EFI partition of a USB flash disk and boot from that disk by pressing F12 at Gigabyte Splash Screen. This will open the BIOS boot menu (not OpenCore boot menu). Select the USB flash disk. The OpenCore 0.8.3 boot picker should then appear (with the version number shown on lower right corner of screen). Then boot macOS and see if shutdown works.
  • If shutdown still fails, consider installing a fresh copy of macOS on a spare SSD using the new 0.8.3 EFI folder (but set SecureBootModel to Disabled). Then see if the fresh copy of macOS is able to shut down properly.
Tried the USB Flash disk with the 0.8.3. When the SecureBootModel was on Default, it would not run, so I changed it to Disabled. Then the computer started, but the shutdown still does not work.
Will create a fresh copy of macOS in the next days and see if that helps.
Just so weird that the computer actually shuts down - all lights go out, and after 2 seconds turns back on. Not the same as with restart where the USB lights remain turned on.
Will report back with results.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,800
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried the USB Flash disk with the 0.8.3. When the SecureBootModel was on Default, it would not run, so I changed it to Disabled. Then the computer started, but the shutdown still does not work.
Will create a fresh copy of macOS in the next days and see if that helps.
Just so weird that the computer actually shuts down - all lights go out, and after 2 seconds turns back on. Not the same as with restart where the USB lights remain turned on.
Will report back with results.
Are any Thunderbolt devices connected?

Have you already tried disconnecting all external Thunderbolt and USB devices except keyboard/mouse?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
Giabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9700k
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm having issues with screen recording: I keep getting the error "You screen recording can't be saved (error saving recording)". I didn't hav e this issue with Mojave, only with my recent upgrade to Catalina.
Any ideas where to start trouble shooting?
Thanks in advance
 
Top