Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello@CaseySj Please help me the Guide Page Link as the number is huge on this thread and can't find the link any where just getting the screenshots for the guide and all as I am looking forward to install open core and wanted to ditch clover and and wanted to upgrade to Big sur without any issue please help
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F6
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well known problem in Mojave since a couple of months. See here: https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...-the-mas.2237461/?post=29313835#post-29313835

Post#14 has a solution that works sometimes... and sometimes not...
In my case sometimes not.. Thanks for suggestion though.. I did follow the philosophy of it all and cleared caches and /var folders.. rebooted.. currently the App Store does not list any updates available.. I had 3 waiting.. I deleted Blackmagic speed test (as a test) went to re download and it will now not download from store.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,942
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ , in this guide you are suggesting to use a tool to "transfer PlatformInfo from existing OpenCore config.plist to new version" . Since this is my first OC build, I do not have existing OC config.plist. The only plist I have is the one which is build by Clover. Can HackinDrom process Clover plist?

Also, what if I do not have PlatformInfo - say it is my new build. E.g. I'm moving off my current build (High Sierra) which has plist with iMac14,2 and my understanding is we need to use 19,1 for Catalina, but then how to populate the rest of the values which I believe clover was doing it for us?

Whether you currently have Clover or OpenCore, you can copy-and-paste the following fields by running Hackintool:
Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 7.22.29 AM.png

For a new installation, we use OpenCore Configuator's pop-up menu to generate entirely new credentials:
Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 7.26.55 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,942
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
CaseySJ, I've tryed install with Mini Guide on Z490 Aorus Master. Can't pass Apple logo. Freeze on it. The Bios version is F7 with I can disable CFG lock but can't disable onboard Wi-Fi cause don't have this option in Bios.

Hardware:
- i9 10850K
- Aorus Z490 Master
- 64Go (4x8Go) Corsaire Dominator Platinum.
- Samsung Nvme Evo Plus 500Go
- Corsair AX1000
This guide will absolutely not work on Z490. Please see the Z490 Vision D thread instead.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,942
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello@CaseySj Please help me the Guide Page Link as the number is huge on this thread and can't find the link any where just getting the screenshots for the guide and all as I am looking forward to install open core and wanted to ditch clover and and wanted to upgrade to Big sur without any issue please help
All key guides in this thread are actively maintained in the Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1. Please refer to Section 1: Replace Clover with OpenCore inside that spoiler.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,942
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In my case sometimes not.. Thanks for suggestion though.. I did follow the philosophy of it all and cleared caches and /var folders.. rebooted.. currently the App Store does not list any updates available.. I had 3 waiting.. I deleted Blackmagic speed test (as a test) went to re download and it will now not download from store.
Have you already tried logging out of the App Store, rebooting, and then logging back in to the App Store?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX-580
  • First, connect the bootable backup disk and boot from that disk by pressing F12 at BIOS Splash Screen and selecting the backup disk from that menu.
  • When OpenCore appears, boot the internalmacOS SSD to see if it works.
    • If the internal disk boots up, then copy the EFI folder from the backup disk to EFI Partition of the internal macOS SSD. This should get you back to OpenCore 0.6.0 (not 6.0). Then copy the same EFI folder to the EFI Partition of your USB flash disk and perform the in-place upgrade to OpenCore 0.6.3 by following the highlighted guide in the screenshot below. Then boot from the USB flash disk (again, press F12 at BIOS Splash Screen and select the USB flash disk from the menu) and select the internal macOS SSD once again to confirm that it works.
    • If the internal disk does not boot, stop and let us know.

View attachment 498658
I think I am just going to have to start from scratch... my OC 0.6.3 USB thumb drive will startup and let me see the install drive. if selected, it starts to load then just reboots after only a short try. If I select the macOS-data, it gives a security error and says it will not boot from that drive. If I start the recovery partition, I can get back to the re-install Big Sur utility which just takes me through installing again but never get past the 3rd reboot and just loops. My backup disk that was booting was a Clover installation of Catalina, and it just booted to a security slash/circle. IF I install from a USB thumb drive from scratch over the top of the original internal NVMe drive, will it keep the applications etc? Is there a from scratch Big Sur installation mini guide? If I mount the drive in an external case, my other hackintosh sees everything OK and will check the disks with no errors. Including mounting the EFI so I hate to wipe it at this point but don't see many options as my backups are dwindling.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F6
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you already tried logging out of the App Store, rebooting, and then logging back in to the App Store?
Yes.. logged out of iCloud, signed out & closed App Store, cleared caches/prefs, rebooted. Since clearing caches and prefs it no longer sees updates that should be available - and attempts to download anything new have same result: either a spinning wheel that hangs and goes no where or and error message that then says
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 11.05.30 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 11.05.30 AM.png
    60.5 KB · Views: 26
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Whether you currently have Clover or OpenCore, you can copy-and-paste the following fields by running Hackintool:
View attachment 498811
For a new installation, we use OpenCore Configuator's pop-up menu to generate entirely new credentials:
View attachment 498812

Thanks a lot @CaseySJ , I went to HackingDROM URL and I noticed there is an option of generation a new SMBIOS, is it the same option as in the OC Configurator? I went ahead and created a brand new plist with a new numbers in it and downloaded. I was able to boot into OC, but have not proceed yet further with either boot or install. Just wanted to confirm if it matters at all where the new credentials are being generated in OC Configurator or in HackinDROM, would you recommend one over the other?

Also in either of the tools, do you know where do I put '-v' argument to make the boot verbose?

Thanks again for great guides and help!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,942
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot @CaseySJ , I went to HackingDROM URL and I noticed there is an option of generation a new SMBIOS, is it the same option as in the OC Configurator? I went ahead and created a brand new plist with a new numbers in it and downloaded. I was able to boot into OC, but have not proceed yet further with either boot or install. Just wanted to confirm if it matters at all where the new credentials are being generated in OC Configurator or in HackinDROM, would you recommend one over the other?
Either approach is fine. HackinDROM simplifies the task because it modifies the config.plist for you.
Also in either of the tools, do you know where do I put '-v' argument to make the boot verbose?
In both Clover and OpenCore configurators, this is added to Boot Arguments. In OpenCore it's called boot-args. You'll find it if you run OpenCore Configurator and familiarize yourself with all the screens.
 
Top