Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Theres no mention in Gigabyte website that you can't do that // it is dangerous,
so I think its okay
Thanks a lot, it makes sense, just wanted to confirm.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It’s okay to go straight to F9i. Keep in mind that CFG-Lock needs to be disabled manually in BIOS Setup —> BOOT.
Thanks a lot, makes perfect sense. Just seemed to me a big of a leap initially ...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F6
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am having some minor problems... I am using the exact original build components w/64gb ram and NO wifi card.
I use my machine for my mission critical work (Video/Photographer).. so I am super careful with making changes.
I am mostly a newbie, and as such prefer to "don't fix what ain't broke".
I remained on 14.4 for the longest time for that very reason(zero issues).
I recently upgraded to 14.6 (Adobe need) - I am Operational but

- cannot download/update from App Store
- Fails @CaseySJ NVRAM test - sudo nvram TestVar=HelloWorld, (EmuVarilableUEFI64 is present) -- does not show HelloWorld
- shutdown verbose mode displays garbaged version of log lines as it shuts down.
- Attempts to update to current Lilu was OK, AppleALC no longer would display Built-in Digital output, and Whatevergreen caused a KP on boot.
- I am still on mobo firmware F6 (is this a problem??), and using Clover 5120

I have Cloned my boot drive, Booted on clone, downloaded latest version of Postfiles.zip and and went through install steps from
Spoiler: State of the System BEFORE Post-Installation
Spoiler: Post-Installation with MultiBeast 11.2.0
Spoiler: Final Steps in Post-Installation
Spoiler: State of the System AFTER Post-Installation

(*** BTW some of the screen shots there dont match the latest Clover Configurator)

Rebooted on cloned and updated drive.
- it boots fine, runs fine
- the change from macMini to imac19,1 did not work despite the config.plist having only 19,1
- no change on app store, post verbose or NVRAM test problems

I know I am behind the curve with this build relative to where you all have taken it, But I am hoping you can give me some guidance on what to try next.

Thanks in advance
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,932
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
- cannot download/update from App Store
- Fails @CaseySJ NVRAM test - sudo nvram TestVar=HelloWorld, (EmuVarilableUEFI64 is present) -- does not show HelloWorld
- shutdown verbose mode displays garbaged version of log lines as it shuts down.
- Attempts to update to current Lilu was OK, AppleALC no longer would display Built-in Digital output, and Whatevergreen caused a KP on boot.
- I am still on mobo firmware F6 (is this a problem??), and using Clover 5120
...
Rebooted on cloned and updated drive.
- it boots fine, runs fine
- the change from macMini to imac19,1 did not work despite the config.plist having only 19,1
- no change on app store, post verbose or NVRAM test problems
...
Good to see you have a bootable backup. Some questions:
  1. Just to confirm: Is Mojave 10.14.6 fully installed now on the main SSD?
  2. If the Mac App Store is not working, please post a screenshot of System Information --> Network. We want to see if there's a network device named en0 as shown: Screen Shot 2020-11-27 at 12.47.29 PM.png
  3. If this device does not exist, simply delete the Network Configuration file from Terminal, by typing the following: sudo rm /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist. The file will be regenerated automatically on reboot.
    • So go ahead and reboot.
    • Check Mac App Store again.
  4. When you say that the change from "Mac mini to iMac 19,1 did not work", what exactly do you mean?
  5. No need to worry about NVRAM at this time. If you decide to upgrade to Catalina, then we'll need to worry about a number of things that are spelled out in the Clover-to-Catalina Upgrade guide (link in Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1).
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-11-27 at 22.00.53.png
    Screenshot 2020-11-27 at 22.00.53.png
    131.7 KB · Views: 32
  • Screenshot 2020-11-27 at 22.03.20.png
    Screenshot 2020-11-27 at 22.03.20.png
    129.6 KB · Views: 32
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
When we do an in-place upgrade to Catalina, we must boot Mojave from the same disk that needs to be upgraded. Once the bootable backup is made and verified, the backup disk should be disconnected.
For some reason the USB is not booting correctly for me. I just tried the fresh install instructions and the installer wouldn't boot, so something's wrong in the EFI. The only thing I did differently from the instructions was to use the SSDT's that I'm currently using on Mojave (as i'm on a z370n not the same board as yours). Going to try creating a USB using Unibeast now to see if that will boot on my system.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F6
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good to see you have a bootable backup. Some questions:
Always!!! and I play on the backup, test changes there, then reclone working Main to a tertiary drive then restore tested upgraded backup to Main.

  1. Just to confirm: Is Mojave 10.14.6 fully installed now on the main SSD?
Yes and it works fine with exceptions noted.

  1. If the Mac App Store is not working, please post a screenshot of System Information --> Network. We want to see if there's a network device named en0 as shown: View attachment 498688
No WIFI.. Ethernet is EN0, I can browse with no issues.

Screen Shot 2020-11-27 at 5.41.27 PM.png

  1. If this device does not exist, simply delete the Network Configuration file from Terminal, by typing the following: sudo rm /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/NetworkInterfaces.plist. The file will be regenerated automatically on reboot.
    • So go ahead and reboot.
    • Check Mac App Store again.
Did this for jollies.. no change

  1. When you say that the change from "Mac mini to iMac 19,1 did not work", what exactly do you mean?

I followed the "the post-installation with Multibeast" instructions (using current available d/l)
then used "Final Steps in Post-Installation" instructions using latest D/l of Clover Configurator.

As per Systems Def instructions in MultiBeast -> For 10.14.5 and newer: For System Definition we choose iMac19,1

&&

in Clover Configurator --> for 10.14.5 and newer: We'll choose iMac19,1 to populate all of the empty boxes.

Followed instructions and installed all the latest from a fresh d/l of "POST-INSTALL FILES" removed RX580-V2 as I
am in Slot 1

Rebuilt with KEXT Utility and rebooted off cloned/upgraded drive.. ..

About this Mac still says "Mac Mini" and problems still exist. This was when I ran out of ideas.. :)


Additional: based on others suggestions here, I have cleared caches, deleted prefs, created a new admin user, deleted a free app, so I could download directly (fail) -- all of these also failed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ , in this guide you are suggesting to use a tool to "transfer PlatformInfo from existing OpenCore config.plist to new version" . Since this is my first OC build, I do not have existing OC config.plist. The only plist I have is the one which is build by Clover. Can HackinDrom process Clover plist?

Also, what if I do not have PlatformInfo - say it is my new build. E.g. I'm moving off my current build (High Sierra) which has plist with iMac14,2 and my understanding is we need to use 19,1 for Catalina, but then how to populate the rest of the values which I believe clover was doing it for us?

 
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
192
Motherboard
Asus Rog Z390 Maximus Apex XI
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
CaseySJ, I've tried install with Mini Guide on Z490 Aorus Master. Can't pass Apple logo. Freeze on it. The Bios version is F7 with I can disable CFG lock but can't disable onboard Wi-Fi cause don't have this option in Bios.

Hardware:
- i9 10850K
- Aorus Z490 Master
- 64Go (4x8Go) Corsaire Dominator Platinum.
- Samsung Nvme Evo Plus 500Go
- Corsair AX1000
 
Top