Contribute
Register

Upgraded to RX580, screen goes black during startup

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
I've seen a ton of posts around this and I've tried everything I could, so I figured I would post my specific setup and see if anyone might be able to help.

I was using an old Nvidia GT220 and it wasn't working very well with Catalina so I upgraded to a pulse RX580. I have an X58 chipset old Dell Studio XPS 435t/9000 which has been great running El Capitan, but unfortunately I need a newer OS for some of my software. This machine has a legacy BIOS, so a lot of the fixes based around UEFI settings are lost on me.
I am currently using only the whatevergreen kernel extension with a dart=0 boot argument.

I am able to boot into Clover (revision 5119, build 2020-06-06 16:18:56) without any trouble.
When I go to Boot OS, I get an apple and the loading bar gets to about 2/3 the way and then the screen goes black.

I have tried all of the ports with no luck though the disc usage light continues to blink after the screen goes dark so I assume that this isn't exactly a freeze, just a video drop.

When I use the -v flag for verbose mode, the characters move so fast that I can't read what its doing when the screen goes black...
It has the same behavior in safe mode.

I have tried these boot arguments:

nv_disable=1
RadeonDeinit = true

and injecting ATI from the graphics injector menu,
Selecting Deinit from the graphics injector menu, changing Ports to 05 instead of 06. It does appear to recognize the AMD Radeon RX 480/570/580.
I've tried selecting "Load Video Bios"

None of these have worked.

My current SMBIOS settings are iMac14,2 if that matters
My Binaries Patching settings include Kernel PM, AppleIntelCPUPM Patch, AppleRTC Patch

I am not very fluent with Hackintosh yet though I've been dabbling for a while so any help at all is greatly appreciated.
Thank you!
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When using an RX580 dGPU and iMac14,2 SMBIOS you need to do the following:

Enable the Intel iGPU in the bios!

As your X5690 CPU doesn't have an IGPU the iMac 14,2 is a bad SMBIOS for your system. You would probably be better served using a Mac Pro6,1 or iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS. The iMacPro1,1 being the more likely to work well with your system.

You need to have recent versions of Lilu.kext and WhateverGreen.kext in your /CLOVER/kexts/Other folder. Copies of the latest kexts are attached.

You need to remove any and all settings related to Intel iGPU and Nvidia dGPU, that may be present in your config.plist, e.g. nv_disable=1 boot argument, or any others.

You need to remove Inject ATI=true from the Graphics section of the config.plist. The RX580 doesn't need this option.

You need to include the RadeonDeInit=true in the Graphics section of the config.plist. This is essential if you are to get around the Black Screen issue.

If you want DRM to work correctly you should add 'shikigva=128' to your boot arguments.

This boot argument will help the RX580 play DRM protected videos, in conjunction with the iMac Pro1,1 SMBIOS. See this chart over at Acidanthera's WhateverGreen.kext Github page - https://github.com/acidanthera/WhateverGreen/blob/master/Manual/FAQ.Chart.md

Hope this helps.
 

Attachments

  • Lilu.kext.zip
    62.1 KB · Views: 63
  • WhateverGreen.kext.zip
    208 KB · Views: 67
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Hi Ed. Thanks so much for your response!
Unfortunately, I don't think I have an option in my bios for the Intel iGPU. It's that super old American Megatrends Blue CMOS Setup utility so I will try using an older SMBIOS as you recommended with the noted config adjustments and boot arguments and report back. Thanks again!
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Ok Ed,
I tried your suggestions and I still am unable to get past the black screen (though I am learning a lot from this). My new SMBIOS is iMacPro1,1 (used clover configurator to take care of all the values in that menu)
boot arguments are: dart=0 shikivga=128 per the chart in the whatevergreen github. Going to try to film the verbose mode load screen so I can see a still of where the system gets stuck.

Here is my new config.plist in case I made an obvious error:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>ACPI</key>
<dict>
<key>SSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>DropOem</key>
<false/>
<key>Generate</key>
<dict>
<key>CStates</key>
<false/>
<key>PStates</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>AutoMerge</key>
<true/>
<key>DSDT</key>
<dict>
<key>Fixes</key>
<dict>
<key>FixIDE</key>
<false/>
<key>AddHDMI</key>
<false/>
<key>FixIntelGfx</key>
<false/>
<key>FixACST</key>
<false/>
<key>FakeLPC</key>
<false/>
<key>FixFirewire</key>
<false/>
<key>FixShutdown</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDisplay</key>
<false/>
<key>AddIMEI</key>
<false/>
<key>FixHPET</key>
<true/>
<key>AddMCHC</key>
<false/>
<key>FixAirport</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDarwin7</key>
<false/>
<key>FixRTC</key>
<false/>
<key>AddPNLF</key>
<false/>
<key>FixLAN</key>
<false/>
<key>FixS3D</key>
<false/>
<key>FixRegions</key>
<false/>
<key>DeleteUnused</key>
<false/>
<key>AddDTGP</key>
<true/>
<key>FixSBUS</key>
<false/>
<key>FixSATA</key>
<false/>
<key>FixTMR</key>
<false/>
<key>FixMutex</key>
<false/>
<key>FixUSB</key>
<true/>
<key>FixWAK</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDarwin</key>
<false/>
<key>FixHDA</key>
<true/>
<key>FixADP1</key>
<false/>
<key>FixIPIC</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>Name</key>
<string>DSDT.aml</string>
<key>#DropOEM_DSM</key>
<dict>
<key>USB</key>
<true/>
<key>HDMI</key>
<true/>
<key>ATI</key>
<true/>
<key>SmBUS</key>
<false/>
<key>LAN</key>
<true/>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<true/>
<key>WIFI</key>
<true/>
<key>LPC</key>
<false/>
<key>Firewire</key>
<true/>
<key>IDE</key>
<true/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<true/>
<key>HDA</key>
<true/>
<key>SATA</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>HaltEnabler</key>
<false/>
<key>DropTables</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>Signature</key>
<string>MATS</string>
</dict>
</array>
<key>FixHeaders</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>Boot</key>
<dict>
<key>Secure</key>
<false/>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>PBR</string>
<key>Debug</key>
<true/>
<key>Arguments</key>
<string>dart=0 shikivga=128</string>
<key>XMPDetection</key>
<false/>
<key>Timeout</key>
<integer>3</integer>
<key>DefaultVolume</key>
<string>Hackalina</string>
</dict>
<key>GUI</key>
<dict>
<key>Hide</key>
<array>
<string>Windows</string>
<string>BOOTX64.EFI</string>
</array>
<key>Language</key>
<string>en:0</string>
<key>ScreenResolution</key>
<string>1920x1080</string>
<key>Scan</key>
<dict>
<key>Entries</key>
<true/>
<key>Tool</key>
<true/>
<key>Legacy</key>
<string>First</string>
</dict>
<key>Mouse</key>
<dict>
<key>Speed</key>
<integer>8</integer>
<key>Enabled</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>EmbeddedThemeType</key>
<string>Dark</string>
<key>Theme</key>
<string>embedded</string>
</dict>
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
<key>FakeID</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>NVidia</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IMEI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>LAN</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>SATA</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>IntelGFX</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>XHCI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
<key>WIFI</key>
<string>0x0</string>
</dict>
<key>Audio</key>
<dict>
<key>Inject</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
<key>USB</key>
<dict>
<key>FixOwnership</key>
<true/>
<key>Inject</key>
<true/>
</dict>
<key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>DisableDrivers</key>
<array>
<string>Nothing</string>
</array>
<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>RadeonDeInit</key>
<true/>
<key>Inject</key>
<dict>
<key>ATI</key>
<false/>
<key>Intel</key>
<false/>
<key>NVidia</key>
<false/>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
<dict>
<key>AppleIntelCPUPM</key>
<true/>
<key>AppleRTC</key>
<true/>
<key>KernelPm</key>
<true/>
<key>KernelCpu</key>
<false/>
<key>#FakeCPUID</key>
<string>0x010676</string>
<key>KernelLapic</key>
<false/>
</dict>
<key>RtVariables</key>
<dict>
<key>BooterConfig</key>
<string>0x28</string>
<key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
<string>0x3</string>
</dict>
<key>SMBIOS</key>
<dict>
<key>FirmwareFeatures</key>
<string>0xFD8FF53F</string>
<key>Board-ID</key>
<string>Mac-7BA5B2D9E42DDD94</string>
<key>FirmwareFeaturesMask</key>
<string>0xFF9FFF3F</string>
<key>BoardVersion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>Manufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>ChassisType</key>
<string>0x09</string>
<key>BiosVersion</key>
<string>IMP11.88Z.F000.B00.2005132136</string>
<key>BoardManufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
<string>iMacPro-Aluminum</string>
<key>PlatformFeature</key>
<string>0x20</string>
<key>Family</key>
<string>iMac Pro</string>
<key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
<string>C020284034NJG36A8</string>
<key>BiosVendor</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>ProductName</key>
<string>iMacPro1,1</string>
<key>SmUUID</key>
<string>B17D5D84-ED39-4039-B9D6-E57A6E003621</string>
<key>Mobile</key>
<false/>
<key>BoardType</key>
<integer>10</integer>
<key>EfiVersion</key>
<string>1037.120.87.0.0</string>
<key>SerialNumber</key>
<string>C02D20KFHX87</string>
<key>LocationInChassis</key>
<string>Part Component</string>
<key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
<string>05/13/2020</string>
<key>Version</key>
<string>1.0</string>
</dict>
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>Detect</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

Thanks again for your help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Update:
The last message that verbose mode startup writes is:
"IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0"
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Also, just to be clear, is mounting the EFI partition, deleting the old WEG and Lilu kernel extensions and then replacing them with the ones you provided a correct way to update them? Trying to make sure that I covered all the bases.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Update: I have had no luck with the graphics card although I did boot from it on my MBP and I was able to enable screen sharing. The good news is that the computer boots all the way and I am able to screen share into it with no issues. I just can't use any of the video card outputs....

I saw in another thread that a tool called DPCI manager might be useful so I took two screenshots. It detects my video card as a PCI device but it doesn't display it in the status view as the video graphics card. instead it displays nothing. I feel like I am close to sorting this out. Hoping that I might get another reply. Thank you!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 10.48.26 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 10.48.26 PM.png
    319.6 KB · Views: 47
  • Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 10.48.39 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 10.48.39 PM.png
    140.4 KB · Views: 50
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
I finally figured out how to get a copy of the boot log. Long day.
 

Attachments

  • bootlog.txt
    25.2 KB · Views: 46
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Update into the void
I connected a second monitor - now I have HDMI and DVI-D outputs and the monitors don't go to sleep as though they are disconnected. They stay awake but just show a black screen. When I screen share into the machine, it shows two screens instead of one.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-01-30 at 1.35.30 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-30 at 1.35.30 PM.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 43
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
Dell - RI0707 (XPS Studio 435t/9000)
CPU
X5690
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
It also shows up as the graphics card for the OS so something is working most of the way. Just not all of the way. Since this machine doesn't have an iGPU, I'm hesitant to try to mess with frame buffers...
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-01-30 at 1.41.48 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-01-30 at 1.41.48 PM.png
    314.3 KB · Views: 53
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top