Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> P61-USB3-B3 Intel 6 Series - MSI RX 580 No SATA drives and black screen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 & RX 470
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello!

I had a working Sierra 10.12.6 Setup.
Mobo: GIGABYTE P61-USB3-B3 (H61 Intel 6 series Chipset, Cougar point, No IGPU, only discrete, Legacy BIOS)
CPU: i5-2300 2.8 GHz (Sandy Bridge)
GPU: MSI Radeon RX 580 8GB

1.:GPU
Yesterday I tried to install Mojave but I can't get to the installation screen, I getting black screen after booting. I have 2 HDMI monitor, they have signal, just black.
- I think this problem is related to AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy, so I used iMac14,2 smbios instead of iMac12,2 -> nothing changed, same black screen.
- Used several AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy patch, nothing changed. And if I understand correctly I have to change the value to "none" in Info.plist, but I can't even get to the install screen, so I can't modify the Info.plist.
- Some users can get signal when using DP ports, but my monitors don't have DP connectors, just HDMI.
- Tried WhateverGreen + Lilu (same happens without them) and Inect ATI = true, RadeonDeInit = true (same without deinit)
- My motherboard doesn't have IGPU, so I can't enable that, i'm just on the discrete.
- Some users got to the installation screen by enabling CSM: my motherboard has Legacy BIOS (with Hybrid EFI technology) I don't have CSM option
- At Sierra it's good, my 2 monitor recognized correctly.
So maybe if I will able to edit that Info.plist I can finally have signal, I don't know. Appreciate any help.

UPDATE: I have signal with DP port (DP to HDMI), but no signal on HDMI ports...looking for solutions.

2.:AHCI
2nd problem is that my SATA drive doesn't appear in Disk Utility.
- At Sierra no problem
- High Sierra, no drives -> fixed by restoring AppleAHCIPort.kext v328 to S/L/E
- This problem maybe related to my chipset, because maybe that is not supported anymore (Intel 6 Series chipset, H61)
- At Mojave I tried to modify the BaseSystem.dmg in the Mojave Installer.app to restore AppleAHCIPort.kext v328 -> My drives got recognized but not initialized, also broke the partition and I have to reformat.
- Tried another AHCIInjectors, nothing changed.
- AHCI-SATA: Enabled in BIOS.
-> Fix in #2 post

Attached my whole clover folder.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER_legacy_p61.zip
    7.3 MB · Views: 255
Last edited:
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 & RX 470
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You're right, this fixed the SATA problem.

UPDATE:
Finally I have signal on my monitor on DP port (DP to HDMI). HDMI ports are not working. Looking for solutions.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Optiplex 990
CPU
i5-2400
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You're right, this fixed the SATA problem.

UPDATE:
Finally I have signal on my monitor on DP port (DP to HDMI). HDMI ports are not working. Looking for solutions.

So I’m having a similar issue, I also have an msi rx 580 and I have an i5 2400. For the install screen I have to boot it in verbose and it’ll go blank after showing some text, and I leave it there until it stops sending an image to the tv and my power button is flashing(if your power button doesn’t have an led just wait a few minutes after it stops sending an image) and I get to the install screen. My next problem is it reboots at 2 minutes remaining and if I try to boot Mojave, it stays blank then auto reboots after a bit. I decided to make my drive from a time capsule backup and it worked and rebooted but when I booted it, it went blank and I left it overnight and it’s still blank(hard drive led was on and not flashing so it wasn’t writing anything)
 
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 & RX 470
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
So I’m having a similar issue, I also have an msi rx 580 and I have an i5 2400. For the install screen I have to boot it in verbose and it’ll go blank after showing some text, and I leave it there until it stops sending an image to the tv and my power button is flashing(if your power button doesn’t have an led just wait a few minutes after it stops sending an image) and I get to the install screen. My next problem is it reboots at 2 minutes remaining and if I try to boot Mojave, it stays blank then auto reboots after a bit. I decided to make my drive from a time capsule backup and it worked and rebooted but when I booted it, it went blank and I left it overnight and it’s still blank(hard drive led was on and not flashing so it wasn’t writing anything)
Use DisplayPorts. They're working. Unfortunately HDMI ports are not working for me, I have a solution in my mind, but I can't test at the moment because I'm too busy.
1st: If you finally have signal on DisplayPorts, you can try different FBNames like "Orinoco" and see if the HDMI is working or not.
2nd: My 2nd opinion is that the AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext is denying the monitors, try to patch, or disable it.
3rd: figure out your monitors EDID number then add them to the "database" I think this allows them to use (but again, I can't test now, maybe next month)

Also i can confirm that on Sierra 10.12.6 DP, HDMI ports are working without problem or without any modification.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Optiplex 990
CPU
i5-2400
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Use DisplayPorts. They're working. Unfortunately HDMI ports are not working for me, I have a solution in my mind, but I can't test at the moment because I'm too busy.
1st: If you finally have signal on DisplayPorts, you can try different FBNames like "Orinoco" and see if the HDMI is working or not.
2nd: My 2nd opinion is that the AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext is denying the monitors, try to patch, or disable it.
3rd: figure out your monitors EDID number then add them to the "database" I think this allows them to use (but again, I can't test now, maybe next month)

Also i can confirm that on Sierra 10.12.6 DP, HDMI ports are working without problem or without any modification.

Alright I’ll test it out when I get time today
 
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon 6th
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 & RX 470
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Alright I’ll test it out when I get time today
If you have CSM option in BIOS, then disable it.
Also delete
"CsmVideoDxe-64.efi"
that fixed my problem. Have signals on 2 HDMI ports and 2 DisplayPorts and 1 DVI (DVI is pink, you need to force RGB for that)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Optiplex 990
CPU
i5-2400
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you have CSM option in BIOS, then disable it.
Also delete
"CsmVideoDxe-64.efi"
that fixed my problem. Have signals on 2 HDMI ports and 2 DisplayPorts and 1 DVI (DVI is pink, you need to force RGB for that)
I don’t have csmvideodxe.efi in my efi or csm in my bios.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
Optiplex 990
CPU
i5-2400
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you have CSM option in BIOS, then disable it.
Also delete
"CsmVideoDxe-64.efi"
that fixed my problem. Have signals on 2 HDMI ports and 2 DisplayPorts and 1 DVI (DVI is pink, you need to force RGB for that)
I got a DisplayPort to hdmi cable and it works! Thanks so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top