Contribute
Register

[Guide] Fanless mini Mojave: i5-8600 | Gigabyte Z370N WiFi | Intel HD630

Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
631
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WiFi
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So - this is pretty funny (to me anyhow), but I'm trouble getting pref changes to stick when I change them on the HS install in SysPrefs.

So...I boot into my Mojave install, change my Trackpad prefs and then just copy over those two files from the Mojave to HS installs and boom!

Preferences just as I'd like them.

This is so clearly just a dumb bug that Apple hasn't fixed.

How sad really that something like this persists.
I have to imagine it would be a super simple fix but still hasn't been done (and may never be).

One thing that really helps here is if you get the basics dialed in this way and then just use BetterTouchTool for swipe customizations, which I've always done anyhow, you don't really need to ever go back into Trackpad prefs anyhow.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
com.apple.AppleMultitouchTrackpad
com.apple.driver.AppleBluetoothMultitouch.trackpad
Okay, those are the trackpad drivers. When you said bluetooth drivers, I was nervous, but I misunderstood. These are for the MT2. Well done!

The question is ... why did Apple release apparently modified drivers with less functionality to High Sierra? Either 1) they screwed up (in which case surely someone noticed since) or 2) they intentionally deprecated functionality intending for users to migrate to Mojave.

Something odd but good you have the functionality back!
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
One example: support the newest series of Intel processors (the 9th Gen).
I'm wondering if you have updated BIOS to F12?

I want back to F12 a couple of days ago, but today I had another failure to wake from deep sleep (meaning system light off) and so I've gone back to F10. I'll sit and see how that performs, but previously it never failed to wake.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
103
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm wondering if you have updated BIOS to F12?

I want back to F12 a couple of days ago, but today I had another failure to wake from deep sleep (meaning system light off) and so I've gone back to F10. I'll sit and see how that performs, but previously it never failed to wake.
No, I have not. My hackintosh is my production machine and I have been working on a big project in the last few months, so I can't afford to have it stop working. But I am definitely following all the developments in this and other threads and will try to catch up with them as soon as I have some free time.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
You're right not to hurry. Also if you're running B1's build probably the discrete gpu means different sleep/wake behaviour. For me on igpu, I can't bear when it won't wake. We shall see.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
395
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
You're right not to hurry. Also if you're running B1's build probably the discrete gpu means different sleep/wake behaviour. For me on igpu, I can't bear when it won't wake. We shall see.
What is your pmset -g settings?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
85
Motherboard
ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1
CPU
E5-1620-V3
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 960 OC 2GB
Can I ask, are any of the users following this thread using a 4k60 monitor with the intel GPU?

With the 10.14.4 and mark's EFI folder I have some issues.

I am using a single monitor setup (Philips 276E) and get glitches in every configuration except DisplayPort 1.1 which is limited to 30hz.

The following are the issues with other modes:
DP 1.2 (4K60 et al) - monitor cycles on and off, showing desktop for a few seconds ad infinitum

HDMI (4K60) - green glitching a few times per minute

HDMI (4K50) - monitor cycles once every ten minutes

Any advice would be appreciated.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
395
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can I ask, are any of the users following this thread using a 4k60 monitor with the intel GPU?

With the 10.14.4 and mark's EFI folder I have some issues.

I am using a single monitor setup (Philips 276E) and get glitches in every configuration except DisplayPort 1.1 which is limited to 30hz.

The following are the issues with other modes:
DP 1.2 (4K60 et al) - monitor cycles on and off, showing desktop for a few seconds ad infinitum

HDMI (4K60) - green glitching a few times per minute

HDMI (4K50) - monitor cycles once every ten minutes

Any advice would be appreciated.
Check this out.
 
Top