Contribute
Register

[Guide] Fanless mini Mojave: i5-8600 | Gigabyte Z370N WiFi | Intel HD630

Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
135
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
One example: support the newest series of Intel processors (the 9th Gen).
I'm wondering if you have updated BIOS to F12?

I want back to F12 a couple of days ago, but today I had another failure to wake from deep sleep (meaning system light off) and so I've gone back to F10. I'll sit and see how that performs, but previously it never failed to wake.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
125
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm wondering if you have updated BIOS to F12?

I want back to F12 a couple of days ago, but today I had another failure to wake from deep sleep (meaning system light off) and so I've gone back to F10. I'll sit and see how that performs, but previously it never failed to wake.
No, I have not. My hackintosh is my production machine and I have been working on a big project in the last few months, so I can't afford to have it stop working. But I am definitely following all the developments in this and other threads and will try to catch up with them as soon as I have some free time.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
135
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
You're right not to hurry. Also if you're running B1's build probably the discrete gpu means different sleep/wake behaviour. For me on igpu, I can't bear when it won't wake. We shall see.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
395
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
You're right not to hurry. Also if you're running B1's build probably the discrete gpu means different sleep/wake behaviour. For me on igpu, I can't bear when it won't wake. We shall see.
What is your pmset -g settings?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
115
Motherboard
Z390M-ITX/ac
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Can I ask, are any of the users following this thread using a 4k60 monitor with the intel GPU?

With the 10.14.4 and mark's EFI folder I have some issues.

I am using a single monitor setup (Philips 276E) and get glitches in every configuration except DisplayPort 1.1 which is limited to 30hz.

The following are the issues with other modes:
DP 1.2 (4K60 et al) - monitor cycles on and off, showing desktop for a few seconds ad infinitum

HDMI (4K60) - green glitching a few times per minute

HDMI (4K50) - monitor cycles once every ten minutes

Any advice would be appreciated.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
395
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can I ask, are any of the users following this thread using a 4k60 monitor with the intel GPU?

With the 10.14.4 and mark's EFI folder I have some issues.

I am using a single monitor setup (Philips 276E) and get glitches in every configuration except DisplayPort 1.1 which is limited to 30hz.

The following are the issues with other modes:
DP 1.2 (4K60 et al) - monitor cycles on and off, showing desktop for a few seconds ad infinitum

HDMI (4K60) - green glitching a few times per minute

HDMI (4K50) - monitor cycles once every ten minutes

Any advice would be appreciated.
Check this out.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
135
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I am using a single monitor setup (Philips 276E)
So I had a look at your Essentials and I can't see anything wrong. Your config is the same as mine. You have some more kexts in LE but they don't seem relevant to the problem AFAIK.

My monitor works fine, but after following B1's link ...

I can see that the current framebuffer properties they quote for our m/b are different to what I've been using. I've replaced the ones in my config.plist and there's no difference to my monitor behaviour. It might help you.

Attached is my current config.plist (remember to select model 18.1 from the pick list in Clover Configurator).

If you try it, like to know how it goes. In mine, I expected the Connectors section in Hackintool to look different after I applied the changes but it looks the same.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
135
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N-WiFi-F10-Clover
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Did you try to match my settings? High chance that it will help.
Thanks for this. Seems you have everything turned off, so only your display sleeps ... and the machine stays awake?

I have had a more aggressive sleep setup and it has worked right up to F12. I like the system sleeping and the LED going off. It takes a couple of seconds to wake, but it's fine (well it was fine).

I could try your values but that would lose the sleeping. It would also not explain what has changed from F10 to F12. Everything was good in F10. For now, I've gone back there while I think about it :think:
 
Top