Contribute
Register

[Beta release] NativeDisplayBrightness 0.0.5 testing [updated]

Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,044
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Amazing. Mine HP 2711x working to. If you don't want to use Fn key select the 'standard function key' at Keyboard setting in the System Preferences.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 15.35.01.png
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
267
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello Benno, it seems that there is a bug with the login item at Sierra!?. On the first start of the app, it adds a login item entry, but something goes wrong, and it repeats itself every time when restarting, see picture.
loginitems.png
It works at El Capitan, but no matter i've rebuild the app without the login item part, now it's perfect for me. Thank you so much Benno!


If you are a Clover user and want to use an Apple keyboard with media keys, add the code below under KextsToPatch to your config.plist
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>by Wern</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYSwweGZmMDEwMDIx
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.AppleHIDKeyboard</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYSwweDAwMDcwMDNh
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>by Wern</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYiwweGZmMDEwMDIw
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.AppleHIDKeyboard</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYiwweDAwMDcwMDNi
                </data>
            </dict>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1
Hi! Thanks for the nice app! I modified the code just so the backlight is changed from 50 to 0 on my Dell U2713Hb, since after 50 - there is no change. Or at least at the profile i set. However, are you considering to move the HUD on the display it controls? it will be way nicer.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
ASUS Strix GTX980Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Works fine on an ASUS VG278HV :)

Haven't noticed anything out of the ordinary with the latest version so thank you very much :D
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS X99A
CPU
I7 5820
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@Dashy If you're up for some testing, I'm sure we could get the brightness keys to work. I just need someone with an apple keyboard to record the key codes with a special application.

About the lag you're experiencing, this does indeed depend on your monitor. I have an idea that could reduce the lag a bit, but I would need you to test it first

Bensge
Good morning!

Here I am !


Try to figure out my brightness working ... I have an apple USB keyboard with key pad. I have 2 displays SAMSUNG U28D590 connected to the desktop.Thanks again for your great job for the community!
Your last version tried out today works on 1 of my screen only with the Fn key. Very very impressive! I guess an easy fix exists to make it work on both screens....



Nick
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-P
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Works great with my LG 34UM88-P! Thank you so much!

Mr. Litchy
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
13
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
HD530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Doesn't work with my Samsung S34E790C ... :cry:

Edit : No DDC/CI with this monitor ..
 
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
73
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
This works exactly as described with my LG 27UD68-W, thank you very much for your efforts. I love how it works like it's native! :clap:

If you ever feel like implementing monitor volume control in a similar manner, that would be awesome. I've been using this menulet to control brightness/volume, and it works like it should - but the keyboard shortcuts don't seem to work for me, and it doesn't use the native UI/HUD:

https://github.com/Tyilo/MonitorControl.OSX
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
GB Z170X Gaming 3
CPU
i5 6600
Graphics
EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just a quick update on this project:

I'm planning on some new features for multi-monitor support. Addressing problems with multiple monitors with different brightness levels is not as easy as I'd hoped for and might take some time till it's done.

I've done some research on the keyboard shortcut situation too. It's kind of complicated, long story short: It wouldn't be very easy to catch the normal brightness shortcut keys on apple keyboards and it would certainly create other problems, so it's probably going to stay the way it is now. You can map your brightness keys to F1/F2 (without pressing Fn) with FunctionFlip (as mentioned earlier in the thread).

Let me know if you have other suggestions

Cheers,

Benno
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
GB Z170X Gaming 3
CPU
i5 6600
Graphics
EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you ever feel like implementing monitor volume control in a similar manner, that would be awesome. I've been using this menulet to control brightness/volume, and it works like it should - but the keyboard shortcuts don't seem to work for me, and it doesn't use the native UI/HUD:

https://github.com/Tyilo/MonitorControl.OSX
I think that'd be quite simple because it would use all the same APIs to communicate with the monitor and to show the system HUD. Maybe we can do something about it in the future. I don't have a monitor with built-in speakers right now.
 
Top