Contribute
Register

[Beta release] NativeDisplayBrightness 0.0.5 testing [updated]

Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z170N-WIFI
CPU
I3 6100
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
Android
Well, after a couple of day of testing, I can confirm this build works perfectly with ACER G246HL.
You can add this model to the list, great work!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
261
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Download the attached application and execute it. Go to the keyboards tab and then press the brightness up and down keys. "Key Up" and "Key Down" events should appear in the app. Please take a screenshot of it and post it here, thanks.

Cheers,
Benno
Hello, cool idea bensge, after a quick test the latest release works well on my Dell P2415Q. Would like to use this app also with an Apple keyboard. So here are the key codes, hope it helps.
HIDDeviceTest-Apple Keyboard.png
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
GB Z170X Gaming 3
CPU
i5 6600
Graphics
EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can't get this to work. Nothing happens when I click the buttons to increase/decrease the brightness.

Do all the displays connected need to support DDC/CI for this to work?
I only have one monitor right now, but I have heard from a user that it works with multiple monitors too (only some support DDC/CI). Also, you should at least see the brightness HUD, even if your monitor doesn't support DDC/CI. Do you use an Apple keyboard? Try Fn+F1 / Fn+F2 or use the tool linked on page 2 to swap your key function from system brightness feature to F1/F2.

Hello, cool idea bensge, after a quick test the latest release works well on my Dell P2415Q. Would like to use this app also with an Apple keyboard. So here are the key codes, hope it helps.
View attachment 239654
Thank you! Well, turns out, it's exactly the same output as I get from a non-Apple keyboard . Can you try Fn+F1/Fn+F2 and see if that works?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
261
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Thank you! Well, turns out, it's exactly the same output as I get from a non-Apple keyboard . Can you try Fn+F1/Fn+F2 and see if that works?
Yes, it works with the Fn key, strange that it outputs me the same scan code no matter with or without fn key.
I've edited the usage-map in the keyboard kext and it works, i know not the best solution but i'll do some more research.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
77
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X Ultra Gaming
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
970 GTX
I only have one monitor right now, but I have heard from a user that it works with multiple monitors too (only some support DDC/CI). Also, you should at least see the brightness HUD, even if your monitor doesn't support DDC/CI. Do you use an Apple keyboard? Try Fn+F1 / Fn+F2 or use the tool linked on page 2 to swap your key function from system brightness feature to F1/F2.
Thanks, I got it working :D

Per-display settings would be really cool to add to the application in the future. Right now I can't really use it since the same brightness percentage is synced on all displays, which is a problem since I have one new and one old display. On the new one (Dell Ultrasharp U2515H) 100% brightness is really too bright, but not on the old one.

For me it would be better if it used percentages. For example - if I pressed F1 the old display would go from 100% to 90%, while the new one would go from 60% to 50%
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
1,053
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z390 Plus Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Amazing. Mine HP 2711x working to. If you don't want to use Fn key select the 'standard function key' at Keyboard setting in the System Preferences.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 15.35.01.png
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2015
Messages
261
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello Benno, it seems that there is a bug with the login item at Sierra!?. On the first start of the app, it adds a login item entry, but something goes wrong, and it repeats itself every time when restarting, see picture.
loginitems.png
It works at El Capitan, but no matter i've rebuild the app without the login item part, now it's perfect for me. Thank you so much Benno!


If you are a Clover user and want to use an Apple keyboard with media keys, add the code below under KextsToPatch to your config.plist
Code:
<dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>by Wern</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYSwweGZmMDEwMDIx
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.AppleHIDKeyboard</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYSwweDAwMDcwMDNh
                </data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>by Wern</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYiwweGZmMDEwMDIw
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <true/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.AppleHIDKeyboard</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                MHgwMDA3MDAzYiwweDAwMDcwMDNi
                </data>
            </dict>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1
Hi! Thanks for the nice app! I modified the code just so the backlight is changed from 50 to 0 on my Dell U2713Hb, since after 50 - there is no change. Or at least at the profile i set. However, are you considering to move the HUD on the display it controls? it will be way nicer.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
ASUS Strix GTX980Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Works fine on an ASUS VG278HV :)

Haven't noticed anything out of the ordinary with the latest version so thank you very much :D
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS X99A
CPU
I7 5820
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@Dashy If you're up for some testing, I'm sure we could get the brightness keys to work. I just need someone with an apple keyboard to record the key codes with a special application.

About the lag you're experiencing, this does indeed depend on your monitor. I have an idea that could reduce the lag a bit, but I would need you to test it first

Bensge
Good morning!

Here I am !


Try to figure out my brightness working ... I have an apple USB keyboard with key pad. I have 2 displays SAMSUNG U28D590 connected to the desktop.Thanks again for your great job for the community!
Your last version tried out today works on 1 of my screen only with the Fn key. Very very impressive! I guess an easy fix exists to make it work on both screens....



Nick
 
Last edited:
Top