Contribute
Register

[Beta release] NativeDisplayBrightness 0.0.5 testing [updated]

Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
ASUS X99 II Deluxe
CPU
i7 5820k @ 4200MHz
Graphics
GTX 980ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Works for me :=) Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I used it for a couple of days and noticed something strange, when you start MonitorControl the cpu load is 25% and it stays that high. (is it a mining app?) -> back to the NativeDisplayBrightness: cpu load 0 % :)
are you using HS or Mojave?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
works for me :wave: thanks. also, I did not see An option to start at login. so I went to preferences- user- login items and uncheck native display brightness
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
201
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android
Has anyone gotten this to work with Logitech Craft keyboard? This app works awesome and I can increase/decrease brightness on my U3415W, but I have to use FN + F1/F2 to get it to work. All other F# keys work OOB with macOS controls (volume, launchpad, media, etc.) w/out having to use FN key. I tried a few things in keyboard settings and Logitech software, but nothing seems to work. Anyone with a similar set up?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2018
Messages
164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K OC 5GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti & UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Has anyone gotten this to work with Logitech Craft keyboard? This app works awesome and I can increase/decrease brightness on my U3415W, but I have to use FN + F1/F2 to get it to work. All other F# keys work OOB with macOS controls (volume, launchpad, media, etc.) w/out having to use FN key. I tried a few things in keyboard settings and Logitech software, but nothing seems to work. Anyone with a similar set up?
I don't have a Logitech craft but it works perfect with Logitech g810
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
64
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
i9 - 7960X
Graphics
1080Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@bensge Hi man and thansk for this amazing script.

Just a question, i am using apples wireless keyboard and now when using softwares that needs F1 and F2 buttons, the keys are just mapped to the brightness control.

Even when i press FN + F1 it still changes brightness.

Is there anyway to disable it in certain applications? Maybe use BetterTouchTool instead for the bindings?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
36
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
GTX980 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@bensge Hi man and thansk for this amazing script.

Just a question, i am using apples wireless keyboard and now when using softwares that needs F1 and F2 buttons, the keys are just mapped to the brightness control.

Even when i press FN + F1 it still changes brightness.

Is there anyway to disable it in certain applications? Maybe use BetterTouchTool instead for the bindings?

Thanks again.
Look at my older reply to

v1.1
  • set any key from F1 to F20 to any action.
  • UI fixes, minor bug fixes


https://github.com/KAMIKAZEUA/NativeDisplayBrightness/releases/tag/v1.1

For now, that like most big changes I've done for this app. I don't have other monitor to improve multi monitor features, also monitor with speakers. So I can't work on these features. Any bugs if found - will be fixed. Thanks everybody.

p.s. I'm thinking - should I maybe create a new topic here? Well, it's whatever for me, but it's a really like different app now with my changes.. any admins reads this? Can you clarify me pls.
Thanks a lot for your update. Now I am able to use the brightness keys as they should.

Use for the decrease key f19 and for the increase key f20. Then use karabiner elements; under the preferences in tab Function Keys use instead the brightness keys the keys f19 and f20. It works as it should be.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
201
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS MASTER
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android
v1.1
  • set any key from F1 to F20 to any action.
  • UI fixes, minor bug fixes


https://github.com/KAMIKAZEUA/NativeDisplayBrightness/releases/tag/v1.1

For now, that like most big changes I've done for this app. I don't have other monitor to improve multi monitor features, also monitor with speakers. So I can't work on these features. Any bugs if found - will be fixed. Thanks everybody.

p.s. I'm thinking - should I maybe create a new topic here? Well, it's whatever for me, but it's a really like different app now with my changes.. any admins reads this? Can you clarify me pls.
How do I get this Settings window to show up?

Nevermind. Duh, found it in the menu bar.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
75
Motherboard
Asus X299 TUF Mark 1
CPU
i7 7800X
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
hey guys I have a dual screen setup, but when I have an active window on the second display and try to change brightness there, is still changes the brightness of the first screen, despite the brightness ui being displayed on the second one. Any ideas why? I use https://github.com/KAMIKAZEUA/NativeDisplayBrightness
 
Top