[Beta release] NativeDisplayBrightness 0.0.5 testing [updated]

Discussion in 'Customization' started by bensge, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. Mr.Litchy

    Mr.Litchy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-P
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 10, 2017 at 5:46 PM #51
    Mr.Litchy

    Mr.Litchy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-P
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Works great with my LG 34UM88-P! Thank you so much!

    Mr. Litchy
     
  2. Flowww

    Flowww

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Apr 21, 2017 at 7:02 PM #52
    Flowww

    Flowww

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    I7-6700K
    Graphics:
    HD530
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Doesn't work with my Samsung S34E790C ... :cry:

    Edit : No DDC/CI with this monitor ..
     
  3. captain-j

    captain-j

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 28, 2017 at 10:23 AM #53
    captain-j

    captain-j

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This works exactly as described with my LG 27UD68-W, thank you very much for your efforts. I love how it works like it's native! :clap:

    If you ever feel like implementing monitor volume control in a similar manner, that would be awesome. I've been using this menulet to control brightness/volume, and it works like it should - but the keyboard shortcuts don't seem to work for me, and it doesn't use the native UI/HUD:

    https://github.com/Tyilo/MonitorControl.OSX
     
  4. bensge

    bensge

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    GB Z170X Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 9, 2017 at 11:32 AM #54
    bensge

    bensge

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    GB Z170X Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just a quick update on this project:

    I'm planning on some new features for multi-monitor support. Addressing problems with multiple monitors with different brightness levels is not as easy as I'd hoped for and might take some time till it's done.

    I've done some research on the keyboard shortcut situation too. It's kind of complicated, long story short: It wouldn't be very easy to catch the normal brightness shortcut keys on apple keyboards and it would certainly create other problems, so it's probably going to stay the way it is now. You can map your brightness keys to F1/F2 (without pressing Fn) with FunctionFlip (as mentioned earlier in the thread).

    Let me know if you have other suggestions

    Cheers,

    Benno
     
  5. bensge

    bensge

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    GB Z170X Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 9, 2017 at 11:35 AM #55
    bensge

    bensge

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    GB Z170X Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6600
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX980 ACX 2.0
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think that'd be quite simple because it would use all the same APIs to communicate with the monitor and to show the system HUD. Maybe we can do something about it in the future. I don't have a monitor with built-in speakers right now.
     
  6. Killuminati91

    Killuminati91

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170I PRO Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060
    May 9, 2017 at 3:17 PM #56
    Killuminati91

    Killuminati91

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170I PRO Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i5 6600k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060
    Edit/ nvm my bad
     
  7. telepati

    telepati

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-A
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 9, 2017 at 8:09 PM #57
    telepati

    telepati

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z170-A
    CPU:
    i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No your app working without Fn key. I am using original Apple Keyboard and its working without Fn like a real Mac. You must to set your keyboard settings like down below; than you can use F1 and F2 for brightness like a real Mac. If you set your settings like down below you must use Fn for the sound keys, dashboard, mission control and player controls' keys.

    Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 22.06.54.png
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2017
  8. wern

    wern

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    May 13, 2017 at 12:45 PM #58
    wern

    wern

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    If you add the code i've provided here, you must not choose the standard function keys option, it works with or without pressing the Fn key. The code replaces the apple key code with the F1, F2 key code.
     
  9. golosin22

    golosin22

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel 6700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 980 HOF
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 7, 2017 at 9:39 AM #59
    golosin22

    golosin22

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170 Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel 6700K
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 980 HOF
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Same screen here. Have you managed to control the brightness?
     
  10. lilins

    lilins

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Chipset Intel 100 Series, NVIDIA
    CPU:
    Processor Intel Core i5-6400T (quad-core, 2.2 GHz, up to 2.8 GHz)
    Graphics:
    Graphics Engine GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 192-bit
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 5, 2017 at 7:29 AM #60
    lilins

    lilins

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    Chipset Intel 100 Series, NVIDIA
    CPU:
    Processor Intel Core i5-6400T (quad-core, 2.2 GHz, up to 2.8 GHz)
    Graphics:
    Graphics Engine GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 192-bit
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I tested on my ACER CB281HK and it doesn't work. I use Displayport

    usefull info: progress bar work. luminosity don't change .
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017

Share This Page