Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,197
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello,
Any suggestions for an extension cable for Fenvi?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
950
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,

Maybe you can help me figure out something as I'm scratching my head without solving the problem.

I bought a 4-Port USB 3.0 PCIe Card, it's not showing up on Mac, it works but the connection is unstable, if I plug an Audio capture device the sound is distorted and the webcam flickers.

Have no Idea if I need to change something into the SSDT or Clover?
Show the USB section. Show the PXSX@0 properties.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hope it helps
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.43.14.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.43.14.jpg
    223.5 KB · Views: 39
  • Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.25.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.25.jpg
    165.1 KB · Views: 38
  • Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.17.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.17.jpg
    189.2 KB · Views: 33
  • Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.03.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.42.03.jpg
    204.9 KB · Views: 34
  • Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.41.58.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 13.41.58.jpg
    211.3 KB · Views: 52

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,998
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Repository Link I Got The Firmware From

The file I grabbed was: GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin (I still have the file locally on my end if you need it to confirm, but that was the one I downloaded for my card).

As per the comment on that thread, my card was purchased in November of last year, so obviously "PCIe card V1.0 (before Jul 2020)" is the file I flashed.
If you're using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge, you can simply generate a DROM using HackinDROM and copy-paste it into your SSDT. That's what I've done in the attached file. The DSB3 section has also been removed.

Please give this a try and let's see what issues remain.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-X299-TB3HP-V2.aml
    6.1 KB · Views: 30

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,998
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,

Maybe you can help me figure out something as I'm scratching my head without solving the problem.

I bought a 4-Port USB 3.0 PCIe Card, it's not showing up on Mac, it works but the connection is unstable, if I plug an Audio capture device the sound is distorted and the webcam flickers.

Have no Idea if I need to change something into the SSDT or Clover?

View attachment 491158View attachment 491159
View attachment 491160
Hello @xanderevo,

What is the make/model of your USB card? Have you tried one of the Inateck models such as:
  • KT4004 (4 USB 3.0 ports)
  • KT5001 (5 USB 3.0 ports and an internal USB 3.0 header)
  • KT5002 (5 USB 3.0 ports and two internal USB 3.0 Type A ports)
All of these are Mac compatible.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
340
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge, you can simply generate a DROM using HackinDROM and copy-paste it into your SSDT. That's what I've done in the attached file. The DSB3 section has also been removed.

Please give this a try and let's see what issues remain.

I tried HackinDROM and it didn’t load TB3 at all on my end. I’ll give your AML a try shortly.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
340
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're using a flashed GC-Titan Ridge, you can simply generate a DROM using HackinDROM and copy-paste it into your SSDT. That's what I've done in the attached file. The DSB3 section has also been removed.

Please give this a try and let's see what issues remain.
It boots up, now System Report shows 40GB x1 on each port- so that's an improvement.

Hotplug is still broken. Haven't tried ghost plug yet as I want to solve hot plug first (one thing at a time) lol

Also, I attempted to connect my 2019 Macbook Pro using a TB3 cable (connected it during boot).

Thunderbolt bridge is functioning, but I noticed while transferring a 95 GB file, it bursts for a while, then it stops for a while, then bursts. It's still insanely faster than the peasant level gigabit- but I wonder if the stalls are based on the TB3 issues I'm still experiencing. It's not knocking off my Thunderbolt 3 dock on the other port so that's a good sign. I'm also copying from the Macbook's PCIE drive to a really fast NVME scratch drive I have in my Hackintosh (not the boot drive).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,998
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It boots up, now System Report shows 40GB x1 on each port- so that's an improvement.

Hotplug is still broken. Haven't tried ghost plug yet as I want to solve hot plug first (one thing at a time) lol

Also, I attempted to connect my 2019 Macbook Pro using a TB3 cable (connected it during boot).

Thunderbolt bridge is functioning, but I noticed while transferring a 95 GB file, it bursts for a while, then it stops for a while, then bursts. It's still insanely faster than the peasant level gigabit- but I wonder if the stalls are based on the TB3 issues I'm still experiencing. It's not knocking off my Thunderbolt 3 dock on the other port so that's a good sign. I'm also copying from the Macbook's PCIE drive to a really fast NVME scratch drive I have in my Hackintosh (not the boot drive).
Please try Apple Menu --> Restart, then attempt hot-plug again.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
340
Motherboard
ASUS WS Sage X299 / 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ So boot up with Thunderbolt working, then restart with it still plugged in and then attempt hotplug correct?
 
Top