Contribute
Register

P9X79 Pro Guide (still a work in progress)

Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
22
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A, 3701 BIOS
CPU
Intel Core i7-5930k w Corsair H110
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti HYBRID GAMING
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I don't know if this matters or not, but the usb stick was plugged in a usb2.0 port, the port above the white one (dedicated bios flash port)

It's strange o_O
In my case it showed a white background for a couple of minutes, then the cursor appears.
 

Attachments

  • 104784-x79-asus-p9x79-deluxe.jpg
    104784-x79-asus-p9x79-deluxe.jpg
    186.1 KB · Views: 227
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel Core i7-4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yes I know about that and I am using the usb 2.0 on my case. I did some reading up and found a guy who was having my problem. Someone said to delete nvidia drivers from the usb drive because cards that end in 70 have issues, and then try it. That fixed it for him so I'm trying that now. Ill let you know what happens.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,698
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's the 780 and higher nVidia graphics cards that are not yet support in Mavericks.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4
CPU
E5-1650
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a GA- X79 UP4 + i7 4820K + gtx 560, and i get the same black screen. after read all thread, i think it would have native support at 10.9.2. the best option is to wait, i think, in less than two months ,it will arrive.

Sorry for my English i am Spanish
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel Core i7-4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I've posted my exact bios settings.
* Fast boot => disabled
* XMP => profile 2
* Intel VT => disabled
* legacy usb 3 => disabled
* marvel => disabled
* bluetooth => disabled
* secure boot -> os type => other os

As I said it boots using those bios settings and the files from files.zip (match_kernel and /Extra/ folder)

You only need to delete:
[usb_drive] / match_kernel
[usb_drive] / Extra / Extensions / IONetworkingFamily.kext
[usb_drive] / Extra / Extensions / NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

Add:
[usb_drive] / Extra / Extensions / VoodooTSCSync.kext
[usb_drive] / match_kernel
[usb_drive] / Extra / Extensions / IONetworkingFamily.kext
[usb_drive] / Extra / Extensions / NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

FROM the archive.

When the Installer GUI appears it gets nasty, choppy and so on, BUT it does work :)

Changing the cpu, IMO, It's not the way to do it.
You can also try cpus=1 but that doesn't change anything regarding the installer's performance.

Guys! I got it to boot! I followed the above instructions but with one added detail.

Delete all files with NV* in front which are these files:

[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDAGF100Hal.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDAGK100Hal.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDANV50HalTesla.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDAResman.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDAResmanTesla.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVDAStartup.kext
[usb_drive] / System / Library / Extensions NVSMU.kext

With these modifications I was able to load the installer and install Mavericks, but during the install process it has to restart, and when it restarted it booted up and then when blank black screen, again!
My question is how do I install the modded files onto the final SSD drive.

Many thanks
-Leumas






 
Joined
Oct 10, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
GA-X79S-UP5-WIFI
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
MSI GTX 760 Hawk
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Leumas, have you tried booting with GraphicsEnabler=No ? I don't think you need to remove those Nvidia kexts..

I've got an GTX 760 and I HAVE to use that option during install, otherwise you get a hang when the GUI of the installer starts. It's logical since Mavericks has support for the Kepler architecture.

If you want to boot using the new kernel, just make a folder called something like 'bla' on the USB stick with the installer and copy the proper mach_kernel in there.. Do this on another mac!

When you are in the installer, open up terminal and type the command:

cp /bla/mach_kernel /Volumes/NAME OF HARDDRIVE WHERE YOU INSTALLED MAVERICKS/

For example (in my case):
cp /bla/mach_kernel /Volumes/HD/

Et voila!

So please give your installed drive a simple name without spaces.. otherwise you have to use escape codes in terminal and blah bah blah.. difficulty all around. You can change it after you have copied the kernel and it boots into mavericks :)
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus P9X79 Pro-2104
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
2x GTX 680
A bit of an off-topic, but I tried installing the latest P9X79 Pro BIOS 4607 (released 01/03/14: https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P9X79_PRO/#support) and restored the changes I made for my build on the BIOS (because it apparently reset everything to defaults) after BIOS update... So far, my P9X79 Pro Hackintosh remains usable :)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel Core i7-4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Leumas, have you tried booting with GraphicsEnabler=No ? I don't think you need to remove those Nvidia kexts..

I've got an GTX 760 and I HAVE to use that option during install, otherwise you get a hang when the GUI of the installer starts. It's logical since Mavericks has support for the Kepler architecture.

If you want to boot using the new kernel, just make a folder called something like 'bla' on the USB stick with the installer and copy the proper mach_kernel in there.. Do this on another mac!

When you are in the installer, open up terminal and type the command:

cp /bla/mach_kernel /Volumes/NAME OF HARDDRIVE WHERE YOU INSTALLED MAVERICKS/

For example (in my case):
cp /bla/mach_kernel /Volumes/HD/

Et voila!

So please give your installed drive a simple name without spaces.. otherwise you have to use escape codes in terminal and blah bah blah.. difficulty all around. You can change it after you have copied the kernel and it boots into mavericks :)
Thanks for the input! I will be trying this in the morning. One question, do I have to copy all the modded files or just the mach_kernal?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel Core i7-4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Success! I have installed Mavericks! But it is unusable :-X:banghead: After attempting to install the multibeast settings it still takes 30+ mins to boot and once it does it's slow and glitchy. So will someone help me out in finding the correct drivers for my system? My specs are in my profile. Thanks. I will continue to do research and will post a guid for my system once it is working. I think it has the potential to be very good with the right tweaking.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2013
Messages
90
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel Core i7-4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 OC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hay so I tried reinstalling mavericks this time with the nvidia drivers and when it comes time to copy the mach_kernel I get the 'no such file or directory' message. I am typing the command EXACTLY the way you showed in your post and it's not working. I have tried formatting the drives, I've tried using different drives, and still nothing. Please help I'm turning into hulk!

P.S. I was following meukers post.

edit* idk what it was but after I formatted my drive in windows and then again in the installer I was able to copy the modded kernel onto my system. Unfortunately when booting into the drive I installed mavericks to, using the SAME boot flags I get black screen after the code.
 
Top