Contribute
Register

macOS 10.15 Catalina is Now Available on the Mac App Store

Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
282
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I first updated Lilu, WeG, AppleALC and FakeSMC with the latest. I then rebooted and started Catalina installation on my 'FractalMonolith' (ASUS TUF Z390) build and, went to work while it did its thing.

Came back from work to a Clover Boot Screen with all the proper options on it... Selected "Boot from MonolithSSD" and voila! Catalina.

The Relocated folder on the Desktop included ALL of my EFI backups and nothing else. So, I relocated them and deleted the folder.

I cannot find anything that doesn't work properly. I did have to update my SoftRAID drivers. But, I knew that was coming.

Thinking about doing the same with my 'MasterZee' (GA Z370 Aorus Gaming 7) build tonight.

Screen Shot 2019-10-12 at 17.10.14.png
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
921
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can we delete “relocated items” from Desktop! After upgrade?
It is just a shortcut of some backup and modified files of the system after upgrade. Removing either the shortcut or the files does nothing to your system.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
154
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Z10PE-D16 WS
tried updating to Catalina from latest Mojave using Clover 5070, but started boot loops thereafter on clover boot menu and getting restarted again & again, again & again heeelp!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX1060, RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Hi

I have to drop a note. I had this issues updating on my Mac Mini. I come to know that download macOS Catalina tend to get corrupted via Apple Apps Store. I'm stuck with this error "UpdateSystemLanguages is trying to modify your system settings." I got it together with the login prompt asking for your username and password which I cannot key in anything on my keyboard. And it got my iCloud totally messed up.

I have to re-download the MacOS Catalina again from Apple Apps Store and reinstall the macOS Catalina back again after install it from my Mac Mini. I have to sign out and sign in again to check my iCloud is working again.

So, if you are doing your Hackintoshes' update to Catalina. Please take note of this issue.

As it might wind up to your Hackintoshes' upgrades problems.

If you so happen to get such an issues. I recommend to re-download the macOS Catalina again. And make an image of the OS to backup on your thumb drive. Just in case. Who know you might need it.

You have to do a lot of thinking to get the work arounds.

Another thing is that at this time if you are using Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Lightroom.
Adobe recommends to stick with High Sierra. Or Mojave. They have known issues with macOS Catalina.



So take note guys before doing any updates on your hackintosh with macOS Catalina.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
asus z170i pro gaming
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
I have problem too... RX 580
DP - primary monitor (working), and DP + hdmi - slave .. but working only DP (monitor) and 1 HDMI - 2 devices only ...

How to connect 2-3 or more DP devices + 1 HDMI at the same time?

PEASE HELP... any ideas?

SOLVED! update WhateverGreen.kext - and ALL RIGHT! WORK!
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
154
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Z10PE-D16 WS
Clover still restarted again & again. It looks like root Volume is read-only. Is there any solution?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus B350
CPU
Ryzen 2400g
Graphics
> Need model/version # > See Rules!
FYI:

Update: According to Apple's release notes, ‌macOS Catalina‌ 10.15.1 introduces support for the AMD Navi RDNA eGPU architecture and brings some changes to ‌Photos‌. You can now filter by Favorites, Edited, ‌Photos‌, Videos, or Keywords in the All ‌Photos‌ view, and you can choose View > Metadata > Titles to enable titles and filenames in the All ‌Photos‌ View.


 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
AsRock h270M Pro4
CPU
i3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My installed NP.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 1398-07-20 at 05.10.31.png
    Screen Shot 1398-07-20 at 05.10.31.png
    372.9 KB · Views: 80
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
AsRock h270M Pro4
CPU
i3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I can never quite get iMessage to work even after removing all settings and setting it to en0. I am however using a USB 5GHz WiFi due to my setup. I think that's why I also switched to Android phone. I use textnow and get basically same results as if iMessage was working. I can call and text from Mac with that as substitute. It's worth the add removing. It's less than 3 bucks a month. At least I like it. I can't say anyone else will.
 
Top