Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't think anyone's doing x2160 with ultrawides yet...maybe one of these days.
Well the LG 34 inch WUHD display we discussed along our last posts does natively support a 5120 × 2160 pix screen resolution via TB 3 and DisplayPort 1.4, isn't it?

Also squeezing 5120 × 2160 pix within 34 inch will provide a much better pixel size when compared with 5120 × 1440 pix extending to 49 inch, which will reveal huge optical performance differences..
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,391
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well the LG 34 inch WUHD display we discussed along our last posts does natively support a 5120 × 2160 pix screen resolution via TB 3 and DisplayPort 1.4, isn't it?

Also squeezing 5120 × 2160 pix within 34 inch will provide a much better dot or pixel size when compared with 5120 × 1440 pix extending to 49 inch, which will reveal huge optical performance differences..
yeah that is correct, the 34" does do x2160. However I was thinking about a 38" and above that does do x2160 but I don't see any.

That Phillips I posted is basically a dual 27" 1440p monitor without a bezel :thumbup:
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
yeah that is correct, the 34" does do x2160. However I was thinking about a 38" and above that does do x2160 but I don't see any.

That Phillips I posted is basically a dual 27" 1440p monitor without a bezel :thumbup:
That's absolutely true.. and that's why I am eagerly looking forward to the release of a LG 38 inch with the same properties as the LG 34 inch currently under discussion.. ;)
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,391
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
That's absolutely true.. and that's why I am eagerly looking forward to the release of a LG 38 inch with the same properties as the LG 34 inch currently under discussion.. ;)
I think I made a mistake with dual ultrawide 38s, but I guess I will see in 1 month haha.

I always saw ultrawides as a gimmick. Dual 27" or 32" 4k would be much nicer.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I think I made a mistake with dual ultrawide 38s, but I guess I will see in 1 month haha.

I always saw ultrawides as a gimmick. Dual 27" or 32" 4k would be much nicer.
Well I would not say that a 34 inch 5120 × 2160 WUHD is a gimmick.. I personally love WUHD displays.. but of course taste is different and also always depends on the kind of application. ;)
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,221
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370
CPU
i9-9980
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,221
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370
CPU
i9-9980
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
AOC is, C4008VU8,......https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1317281-REG/aoc_40_c4008vu8_4k_ultra.html

As an Editor, I was quite tempted, BUT, it is a VA panel, and I want IPS at a minimum or OLED (that would be just fantastic - but pricey...)
Here's my requirement for my next Monitor, from someone who works in Premiere, Resolve, and After Effects every day....
  • 5120 x 2160 (I would consider a 3840x2160)....
  • Multiple Refresh rates, equal to 60 hz and some above that level
  • 10 bit color
  • HDR
  • Curved screen
  • Greater than or equal to 35 inches
  • IPS screen OR Oled
  • Speakers (10 watt or greater)
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel i9-7900X
Graphics
AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X Waterforce WB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp I am running into an issue updating the SSDT with your latest updates for PCI implementation.

ORIGINAL | Implementing the SSDT device header like this works:
Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0.ETH0)
    {
      ...
NEW | While implementing with the expanded header as seen in the new SSDT from you, does not work:
Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (GBE1)
        {
            Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
        }

        Device (ETH0)
        {
          ...
Any thoughts of why the newer expanded headers are not working?
Is there something different that needs to be applied before the new device headers can function?

I have attached the "Original" and "New" SSDT of a single device being implemented to see if you spot anything. The "original" works, showing ethernet in PCI, while the "new" ssdt shows no ethernet devices in PCI.

Would love to implement newer PCI items found in your latest SSDT (such as HDMI audio and thermal control) which use this new header system.

NOTE: as per your most recent example, the DTPG is found in a seperate .aml file

Thanks for this great build and your help in troubleshooting!
 

Attachments

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,786
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@kgp I am running into an issue updating the SSDT with your latest updates for PCI implementation.

ORIGINAL | Implementing the SSDT device header like this works:
Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0.ETH0)
    {
      ...
NEW | While implementing with the expanded header as seen in the new SSDT from you, does not work:
Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (GBE1)
        {
            Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
        }

        Device (ETH0)
        {
          ...
Any thoughts of why the newer expanded headers are not working?
Is there something different that needs to be applied before the new device headers can function?

I have attached the "Original" and "New" SSDT of a single device being implemented to see if you spot anything. The "original" works, showing ethernet in PCI, while the "new" ssdt shows no ethernet devices in PCI.

Would love to implement newer PCI items found in your latest SSDT (such as HDMI audio and thermal control) which use this new header system.

NOTE: as per your most recent example, the DTPG is found in a seperate .aml file

Thanks for this great build and your help in troubleshooting!
Pleas note the following:

1.) For editing, please use the MaciASL.app recently attached to my guide.

2.) Further note, that quite some time ago, most ACPI replacements have been part of the config.plist, e.g. also the GBE1 -> ETH0 replacement, while within my latest system SSDT distributions, the ACPI replacements are mostly directly performed within the system SSDT, e.g.

Code:
    Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (GBE1)
        {
            Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
        }

        Device (ETH0)
You therefore have to remove the respective ACPI replacements, e.g. GBE1 -> ETH0 from the config.plist! I encourage to simply use my most recent EFI-Folder distribution, which already accounts for the necessary respective changes in the config.plist.

I hope this helps, man.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
Intel i9-7900X
Graphics
AORUS GTX 1080 TI-X Waterforce WB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Pleas note the following:

1.) For editing, please use the MaciASL.app recently attached to my guide.

2.) Further note, that quite some time ago, most ACPI replacements have been part of the config.plist, e.g. also the GBE1 -> ETH0 replacement, while within my latest system SSDT distributions, the ACPI replacements are mostly directly performed within the system SSDT, e.g.

Code:
    Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (GBE1)
        {
            Name (_STA, Zero)  // _STA: Status
        }

        Device (ETH0)
You therefore have to remove the respective ACPI replacements, e.g. GBE1 -> ETH0 from the config.plist! I encourage to simply use my most recent EFI-Folder distribution, which already accounts for the necessary respective changes in the config.plist.

I hope this helps, man.

Good luck!
Thank you for the quick response @kgp . Copying the entire EFI folder anew worked. The issue was in the ACPI still being implemented within the config.plist and conflicting with the SSDT implementations.

All is working!
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top