Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm thinking of setting up a 2nd SSD with Sierra (well maybe I'll try Mojave first)

These Premiere Pro crashes are getting ridiculous. I got 4 system freezes lockups.

Two types of system freezes, which can easily be replicated.

1) Scrub timeline with MP4 or ProRes or RED footage.
2) Export to any codec and move the mouse continuously.

If you have a YT video playing in Chrome and exporting/scrubbing in Premiere you will have a guaranteed system lock up.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
861
Motherboard
X299 Designare EX
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's absolutely true.. and that's why I am eagerly looking forward to the release of a LG 38 inch with the same properties as the LG 34 inch currently under discussion.. ;)

Just added a 38 inch LG (3840x1600) to my portable hack. Love it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900x
Graphics
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
I'm thinking of setting up a 2nd SSD with Sierra (well maybe I'll try Mojave first)

These Premiere Pro crashes are getting ridiculous. I got 4 system freezes lockups.

Two types of system freezes, which can easily be replicated.

1) Scrub timeline with MP4 or ProRes or RED footage.
2) Export to any codec and move the mouse continuously.

If you have a YT video playing in Chrome and exporting/scrubbing in Premiere you will have a guaranteed system lock up.
I was feeling lucky, I hadn't had one for awhile. I haven't been using Premiere to heavily lately (I export from a different machine). Then tonight, I had just finished using Premiere and was watching a YouTube video in Sarari and it locked up. The irony was that I had just thought, "Hmmm...things are going well, no lockups!"
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been following the ultra-wide LG monitor discussion with interest. One question, since I'm unfamiliar with monitors attached to multiple ports. – Does the monitor appear as one single display, or as two distinct (e.g. left half/right half) displays in System Preferences?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
99
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I never faced any issues with the GBE1->ETH0 replacement within the SSDT.. Cannot reproduce your concerns, master Nico.. ;)

That does not have to have any obvious effects. I just wanted to emphasize that the cited code then has no function. And the developers of the ACPI certainly had a reason for that. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,783
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've been following the ultra-wide LG monitor discussion with interest. One question, since I'm unfamiliar with monitors attached to multiple ports. – Does the monitor appear as one single display, or as two distinct (e.g. left half/right half) displays in System Preferences?

I you refer to the LG38U99-W, it of course appears as one single display in System Preferences as it is one single display.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
113
Motherboard
Asrock X299 TAICHI XE
CPU
i9 7940x
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1080 TI FE
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, @kgp and other experienced users,
Basic hard disk questions.
I got 2x6TB WD Gold Enterprise Class (7200 RPM) for my build. Upon installing them (no raid)HFS+ Journaled, I tested with BM speed test. Both were showing good speed (above 220 MB/ps RW. Working on a project one drive was filled up about 5TB, other one around 2TB. The project was completed but I felt my drives become slower.
Tested again and the first drive speed decreased to about 110-120 MB/ps, the other one about 160-180 MB/ps.
I deleted most data on first drive, only 300 GB left, tested again, same result only 120 MB/ps. Formatted the drive
and tested and it is back to 220 MB/ps. I know these spinning drives are not TRIM supported. Is this normal?.
If so do we need to format drives frequently?.

Also I like to put them in RAID 0 configuration, may be add one more disk, 3x6 TB.
Do I need a Raid Card for Raid 0 or simply make them Raid 0 in Mac OS Disk utility?
Please give your advise.

Mcity
 

RuleBreaker01

Banned
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
1,198
I've been following the ultra-wide LG monitor discussion with interest. One question, since I'm unfamiliar with monitors attached to multiple ports. – Does the monitor appear as one single display, or as two distinct (e.g. left half/right half) displays in System Preferences?

Which LG? the 5K2K 34" or the 38"

My guess is that for the 5K2K it will be a single display when using DP1.4 cable, and 2 screens when using TB3 (as TB3 is DP 1.2 only at this stage)
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was feeling lucky, I hadn't had one for awhile. I haven't been using Premiere to heavily lately (I export from a different machine). Then tonight, I had just finished using Premiere and was watching a YouTube video in Sarari and it locked up. The irony was that I had just thought, "Hmmm...things are going well, no lockups!"


Yup, this is definitely related to the iMac Pro SMBIOS. I'm actually in direct contact with @pple, I will be speaking to them.

I'll have access to a real iMac Pro soon to do further testing for them.

I've been following the ultra-wide LG monitor discussion with interest. One question, since I'm unfamiliar with monitors attached to multiple ports. – Does the monitor appear as one single display, or as two distinct (e.g. left half/right half) displays in System Preferences?

As KGP said, it is a single monitor running at 3840x1600 (for the 38")....however it does allow dual inputs, so you can run one HDMI cable and one DisplayPort (or Dual HDMI) and you can split the monitor in half and have it show up as 2 monitors.

I don't see a need for that feature, but it's good to have, especially if you have maybe a Windows machine and a Mac next to each other to run at the same time.

But the 38" is not even a real UHD monitor, it's very close though....and a 38" Ultrawide has 20% less horizontal workspace than dual 27" 1440p monitors.

did you try with a real imac pro?

I don't have access to one yet, but there are a lot of reports of it being a problem with a real iMac Pro on Adobe forums and around other forums as well.

It's definitely related to High Sierra + iMac Pro SMBIOS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top