Contribute
Register

How to build your own iMac Pro [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Asus X299 WS Sage
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
So, I just completed (almost) my upgrade to my X299 system. The only thing that is not working is my Broadcom 94360CD card, which is wireless and bluetooth.

The funny thing is Bluetooth works while Wireless does not (this was all working on my X99 system). With my X99, nothing was required.

Does anyone have a kext I can use to activate the Wireless on the card?

@4min .....you did offer to help, so I hate to ask, but might you have any thoughts?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus X299 Mark 2
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
Quadro M6000
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you really think your config.plist is suspect, I would suggest you post your config.plist file (blank out the SMBIOS section) and screenshots of these directories in your EFI folder (sort with dates): Kexts/Other, ACPI/Patched, and Drivers64.efi so others can see if they can find something that might need correcting....

Also, what version of Clover are you using?
mm2margaret here are my details:
upload_2018-8-18_9-15-30.png


upload_2018-8-18_9-16-30.png


I dont have patched ACPI
Clover version 4644
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Asus X299 WS Sage
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
mm2margaret here are my details:
View attachment 346733

View attachment 346734

I dont have patched ACPI
Clover version 4644
So, did you follow the guide? It doesn't seem like you did. I think you should go back to post #1, download EFI-X299-10.13.6-Release-iMacPro1,1-280718, and start from there. Go through section by section building your EFI. Your directories and files in your existing EFI don't like right to me, but I'll leave that up to more senior posters to determine. I mean, you have an X99 file in there, and you don't have an X99 motherboard, right? If you download the file I mentioned from @kgp's starter EFI, you'll be much further along. I'm not a senior poster on this thread. I just got started, and as you can tell from my post above, I have my own set of issues.....
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
Asus Prime x299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7900x
Graphics
Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
Premiere/AME works way better under Windows and a CUDA enabled Quadro (or a 1080Ti/Titan Xp)...it just does.

Also your 8086 (aka better binned 8700k) has an Intel iGPU, which latest editions of Premiere/AME takes advantage of (note the Hardware option now available under AME).

The real iMac Pro or even the x299 Hackintosh does not have an iGPU and a 8700k will beat H264 encoding on any competing machine.

I have a question for you, could you disconnect ALL your monitors and try what you're doing with a single monitor?

I'm going to test this on my end as well.

I have noticed that my system the way it is, if I export straight to another codec and not H264, like ProRes 422 HQ or some other codec that's NOT H264, the machine will never hang. It's definitely macOS/Adobe/Vega related.

I had never had a crash in my previous 6700k Hackintosh during encodes to H264...
Sorry, I haven't had a chance to test this for you yet! I've been too busy with work, and luckily my system has been stable up until today when I tried to check in on this thread and then it locked up. With all three monitors hooked up I tried encoding with AME.
Using OpenCL it locks instantly
Using Metal it made it 6 minutes and then locked
Using Software Only it made it 50 minutes and then locked

The video is an hour long 720p60 DNxHD 100 file that I am encoding to 1080p60 H264 15mbps cbr. It normally takes about 30-35 minutes to encode these using AME and OpenCL.

Later tonight I will disconnect the monitors and try encoding again.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
499
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, I just completed (almost) my upgrade to my X299 system. The only thing that is not working is my Broadcom 94360CD card, which is wireless and bluetooth.

The funny thing is Bluetooth works while Wireless does not (this was all working on my X99 system). With my X99, nothing was required.

Does anyone have a kext I can use to activate the Wireless on the card?

@4min .....you did offer to help, so I hate to ask, but might you have any thoughts?
No kext should be required as it is plug and play. Did you disable the onboard wifi and bluetooth? I wonder if the bluetooth you're seeing is the onboard.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, I just completed (almost) my upgrade to my X299 system. The only thing that is not working is my Broadcom 94360CD card, which is wireless and bluetooth.

The funny thing is Bluetooth works while Wireless does not (this was all working on my X99 system). With my X99, nothing was required.

Does anyone have a kext I can use to activate the Wireless on the card?

@4min .....you did offer to help, so I hate to ask, but might you have any thoughts?
Hi @mm2margaret ,

Did you try to use the card in one of the x1 slots?

This might solve your WIFI issue..

Good luck,

KGP
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Asus X299 WS Sage
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
No kext should be required as it is plug and play. Did you disable the onboard wifi and bluetooth? I wonder if the bluetooth you're seeing is the onboard.
Well, I also thought it was plug and play. No, it's not the bluetooth onboard, because I made sure I disabled it.
My next step is to try some different slots, and after that to swap hardware (meaning swap the bluetooth/wireless card) with my Z370 to see if I've had a hardware failure, although that seems unlikely...
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top