Contribute
Register
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Lenovo Thinkpad T440p
CPU
i7-4710MQ
Graphics
HD 4600
@Sniki I would like to know what configuration you used for your X240 with the original x40 series trackpad (aka. clunkpad). I'm currently struggling with some glitches on this trackpad that I use with the t440p such as, buggy 2 finger click/tap for menu, buggy gestures and very weird palm protection behavior. I've tried using multiple kexts but it seems that for every thinkpad it either defaults to t420 trackpad or t460 clickpad. I don't care for trackpoint usage since it's really useless with the clunkpad. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
T440p
CPU
i5-4300m
Graphics
HD 4600
When I upgraded the stock i5 to the i7 4910MQ, the laptop would reboot black screen and warn AC is not sufficient. It needed a 135w charger instead of 65w to run.

Things you could try:

- Booting in safe mode from Clover and see if the reboots still occur.
- A different lenovo charger that matches the power requirements of your CPU.
- Check your BIOS settings to see the behaviour of your laptop is correctly specified under AC power.
- Update your drivers and BIOS with Lenovo Vantage.

I would expect the issue is with your charger if your laptop is stable with battery.
Hi,

I am facing the same situation here but with a i7-4810. Did you manage to fix this?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2019
Messages
193
Motherboard
Eglobal S200
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,

I am facing the same situation here but with a i7-4810. Did you manage to fix this?

Put the stock CPU back in to debug.

If the laptop now boots, the issue will likely be that your charger does now have enough power for the 4810.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
T440p
CPU
i5-4300m
Graphics
HD 4600
Put the stock CPU back in to debug.

If the laptop now boots, the issue will likely be that your charger does now have enough power for the 4810.

Hi,

Thanks for your quick reply! I put the old one back on and it boots fine. I have a 90W charger so that should not be the problem right?
Is this how you fixed yours?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2019
Messages
193
Motherboard
Eglobal S200
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The 4810 is a 47W CPU, 4300/4600 is 37W.

You'll need a 135W charger, as your CPU consumes more power.

Does the 4810 boot on battery?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
T440p
CPU
i5-4300m
Graphics
HD 4600
The 4810 is a 47W CPU, 4300/4600 is 37W.

You'll need a 135W charger, as your CPU consumes more power.

Does the 4810 boot on battery?

The laptop does not boot at all, Battery or not. I have the integrated graphics T440p. In the manual it specifies that the AC for quad-core CPUs (the 4810mq is one of them) with integrated graphics is the 90W one. I am very confused. I just want to be as sure as possible that the CPU is faulty... Thanks for your help!

Attached are screenshots of the T440p specs.
 

Attachments

  • Selection_017.jpg
    Selection_017.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 23
  • Selection_018.jpg
    Selection_018.jpg
    68.8 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Jul 7, 2019
Messages
193
Motherboard
Eglobal S200
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The laptop does not boot at all, Battery or not. I have the integrated graphics T440p. In the manual it specifies that the AC for quad-core CPUs (the 4810mq is one of them) with integrated graphics is the 90W one. I am very confused. I just want to be as sure as possible that the CPU is faulty... Thanks for your help!

Attached are screenshots of the T440p specs.

Do you have a message on boot that says there is not enough AC power or just black screen?

Can you access BIOS with the 4810?
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
T440p
CPU
i5-4300m
Graphics
HD 4600
Do you have a message on boot that says there is not enough AC power or just black screen?

Can you access BIOS with the 4810?

Totally black screen. No bios, no message nothing...
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
T440p
CPU
i5-4300m
Graphics
HD 4600
Sounds like a faulty CPU.

Take it out, check if any pins are bent.
Yeah, I did that a few times and all looks good... I don't know what else to check to be honest... I've contacted the seller. Let's see what they say.
 
Top