Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Kaby Lake NUC7 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7BNH, NUC7i5BNK, NUC7i3BNH, etc)

Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
You should not be patching the kext directly for country code changing.

Restore all system kexts to vanilla (you can run the macOS installer).
Use KextsToPatch in config.plist to implement the country code patch, or switch to the beta branch (will be needed for Mojave anyway) and change the country code with the appropriate AirportBrcmFixup kernel flag (read AirportBrcmFixup documentation on github).

Note: Handoff and especially instant hotspot has not been reliable on hacks for quite some time. Some are reporting better handoff results with Mojave.

And...
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
Thank you RehabMan, as I said I tried first with KextToPatch in config.plist ( You have it already in the default file, only had to change the replace string). I am going to restore the kexts from my MacBook and switch git branch to test the beta versions. Do I need to clean install High Sierra again to use the beta branch or it is possible to change it cleanly with my current installation? Thank you for your help.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,714
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you RehabMan, as I said I tried first with KextToPatch in config.plist ( You have it already in the default file, only had to change the replace string). I am going to restore the kexts from my MacBook and switch git branch to test the beta versions. Do I need to clean install High Sierra again to use the beta branch or it is possible to change it cleanly with my current installation? Thank you for your help.
As long as you follow all post install instructions after switching to beta (just as with any major update), no need to re-install.
The 'beta' branch will be merged into 'master' near Mojave release (maybe day of).
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
As long as you follow all post install instructions after switching to beta (just as with any major update), no need to re-install.
The 'beta' branch will be merged into 'master' near Mojave release (maybe day of).
Hi again RehabMan, I have migrated to the beta branch and it is correctly showing ES country code, but handoff still doesn't work. Here you have the output of gen_debug. Thank you!
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,714
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi again RehabMan, I have migrated to the beta branch and it is correctly showing ES country code, but handoff still doesn't work. Here you have the output of gen_debug. Thank you!
You might need to log out of iCloud on all your devices, then log back in.

And... You didn't update to the beta branch properly... your config.plist is not from the beta branch.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Mounting EFI is covered in post #1. Please read it.
Hi,

Thank you for your response. I mounted EFI with "diskutil mount EFI" but at start up (in clover) I still cannot see the recovery partition. Also, EFI doesn't remain mounted after reboot.
Could you tell me how I can make that recovery partition visible again in clover?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,714
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you for your response. I mounted EFI with "diskutil mount EFI"
The guide suggests use of mount_efi.sh.

but at start up (in clover) I still cannot see the recovery partition.
Perhaps you didn't press F3.

Also, EFI doesn't remain mounted after reboot.
Not expected.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
You might need to log out of iCloud on all your devices, then log back in.

And... You didn't update to the beta branch properly... your config.plist is not from the beta branch.
RehabMan, thank you really much, I have handoff working!! I have updated config.plist to beta branch also. With this I can update to Mojave on Monday, right? Only install_downloads.sh after installation?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,714
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
RehabMan, thank you really much, I have handoff working!!
Great.

I have updated config.plist to beta branch also. With this I can update to Mojave on Monday, right? Only install_downloads.sh after installation?
May not even need that... unless the update wipes out the changes install_downloads.sh makes to AppleHDA Resources.

Note: Please fix your profile so it contains your hardware details.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
Great.



May not even need that... unless the update wipes out the changes install_downloads.sh makes to AppleHDA Resources.

Note: Please fix your profile so it contains your hardware details.
Awesome news, so I am ready for tomorrow release :)

One more question, I use iStat Menus for monitoring, but on the temperature section I only have SSD Temperature. Is it possible to have CPU temp?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,714
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
One more question, I use iStat Menus for monitoring, but on the temperature section I only have SSD Temperature. Is it possible to have CPU temp?
You would need to install the FakeSMC sensor kexts. They are not installed by default. You will find them already downloaded (matching FakeSMC.kext) in your ~/Projects/nuc.git/downloads/kexts folder. Install to /Library/Extensions (kext installation instructions in laptop FAQ).
 
Top