Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Kaby Lake NUC7 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7BNH, NUC7i5BNK, NUC7i3BNH, etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi. Apologies if this has been answered before, but I am having an issue that when my monitor goes to sleep it will not turn back on. I am running OX X 10.13.6 on a NUC7i3BNH. I've tried pressing the spacebar or moving the mouse along with unplugging and plugging in the HDMI and it won't come on. The only way to get video back is to force a power off and power back on again.

I double checked the bios settings and they match the instructions per post #1.
So far the only work around for me is to completely disable turning off the display in energy saver settings.

Attached are the support files.
I have a similar issue here, but the problem is intermittent and can be fixed by using the power button on the monitor...

Did you try turning the monitor off, then back on?

I think there may be a way to make it more reliable by trimming unused ports from the framebuffer, but have not had time to look into it.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Asus Prime z390
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Asus Strix Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello Rehab,

As always, an excellent job on your part. Thank you.

I know that this is a tutorial for the NUC, but I have tested it on the BRIX and it worked perfectly. Even the sleep. I have created the USB with HS 10.13.6.
The only problem here is the monitor that does not wake up, but I turn it off~on and it works (that is, I have this problem in other machines with windows, I think it's a problem with HDMI, I'm not sure, but it's not serious ).

But... (there is always a but):

1) The audio on the ALC255 does not work, the device does not appear, is there a way to fix it? By HDMI it works very well.
2) on the CLOVER screen and on the LOGIN screen, red dots appear blinking. (as when the monitor points fail), but these disappear after login. Is it possible that it is a configuration?

Just in case, I put the files created with gen_debug

Thanks
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello Rehab,

As always, an excellent job on your part. Thank you.

I know that this is a tutorial for the NUC, but I have tested it on the BRIX and it worked perfectly. Even the sleep. I have created the USB with HS 10.13.6.
The only problem here is the monitor that does not wake up, but I turn it off~on and it works (that is, I have this problem in other machines with windows, I think it's a problem with HDMI, I'm not sure, but it's not serious ).

But... (there is always a but):

1) The audio on the ALC255 does not work, the device does not appear, is there a way to fix it? By HDMI it works very well.
2) on the CLOVER screen and on the LOGIN screen, red dots appear blinking. (as when the monitor points fail), but these disappear after login. Is it possible that it is a configuration?

Just in case, I put the files created with gen_debug

Thanks
This guide is only for the Intel NUC.
I have no plans to add BRIX support to this guide/repo.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
NUC7i7bnh
CPU
i7-7567U
Graphics
Iris Plus 650
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi there,
I have recently upgraded my NUC 7i7BNH to High Sierra 10.13.6. Everything is working as expected except for the audio. I have followed all the instructions to the best of my ability and can not seem to get the audio to work. I have attached the problem reporting data to this post. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there,
I have recently upgraded my NUC 7i7BNH to High Sierra 10.13.6. Everything is working as expected except for the audio. I have followed all the instructions to the best of my ability and can not seem to get the audio to work. I have attached the problem reporting data to this post. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete/wrong (ioreg is corrupt, collected with wrong version of IORegistryExplorer, must use v2.1).
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Your "Terminal Outputs" file proves you forgot to run ./install_downloads.sh.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
17
Motherboard
NUC7i7
CPU
i7-7567U
Graphics
Iris Plus 650
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Worked perfectly on my NUC7i7. Documented nonworking features are definitely not working (multiple displays) but I'm working through all the posts to see if anyone has tried to address this. I'll try what I can and let anyone know if there's progress as dual monitors are a very nice thing.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
17
Motherboard
NUC7i7
CPU
i7-7567U
Graphics
Iris Plus 650
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Aaaaand it works! Around page 8, (I can't find the specific post again) someone posted that 2 monitors works if you boot with one and connect the second later, but you may have to do it in a specific order. Here's what works for me:

Boot to desktop with only one monitor connected to HDMI output (using an HDMI to DVI cable into a Dell 2001). Then connect the second monitor to the USB-C output (using a USB-C to Displayport cable into a Dell 2408). Boom! 2 screens.

When I tried the reverse a few times (booting with only the USB-C to DP connected), the second display never showed anything after being connected, and on occasion would freeze the first display, necessitating a reboot.

Starting with both monitors connected defaulted to the USB-C connection being prioritized, thus preventing the HDMI from being available.

This machine will be on constantly with no sleep/hibernation so the annoyance of connecting the second display (OK, and remembering to disconnect it first) should be minimal, probably restricted to OS updates requiring a reboot.

Mega Kudos to ReHabMan for his efforts here and next up for me is a NUC D54250WYK!
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
64
Motherboard
NUC8i7BNH
CPU
i7 8559U
Graphics
UHD 655
Mac
MacBook Pro
As I read in the first post, I bought finally a BCM94352Z for a NUC7i5DNKE. Installed it, booted, and Wifi/Bluetooth working flawlessly without doing anything. The only thing it doesn't work is Handoff. I bought this for this reason :(. Tried changing the country code to ES in clover's config.plist but doesn't work. Finally I have done it using the perl commands I found in the forum. Now the country code is changed correctly, but handoff doesn't work neither. Is there something wrong with my config? Thank you.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,259
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
As I read in the first post, I bought finally a BCM94352Z for a NUC7i5DNKE. Installed it, booted, and Wifi/Bluetooth working flawlessly without doing anything. The only thing it doesn't work is Handoff. I bought this for this reason :(. Tried changing the country code to ES in clover's config.plist but doesn't work. Finally I have done it using the perl commands I found in the forum. Now the country code is changed correctly, but handoff doesn't work neither. Is there something wrong with my config? Thank you.
You should not be patching the kext directly for country code changing.

Restore all system kexts to vanilla (you can run the macOS installer).
Use KextsToPatch in config.plist to implement the country code patch, or switch to the beta branch (will be needed for Mojave anyway) and change the country code with the appropriate AirportBrcmFixup kernel flag (read AirportBrcmFixup documentation on github).

Note: Handoff and especially instant hotspot has not been reliable on hacks for quite some time. Some are reporting better handoff results with Mojave.

And...
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Top