Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Kaby Lake NUC7 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7BNH, NUC7i5BNK, NUC7i3BNH, etc)

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
Intel NUC7
CPU
i5-7260U
Graphics
Iris Plus 640
This worked a treat on my i5 NUC7. Thanks!

As a bonus, the first Bluetooth USB dongle I tried worked straight out of the box too: Targus ACB75EU
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2011
Messages
4
CPU
i5
Graphics
GT 430
i had no luck on my nuc7 i5. after booting from the usb stick and selecting install_osx i just get a blank screen and everything hangs.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
MacBook Pro '15 2016 w/Touch Bar
CPU
i7-6700HQ @ 2,6
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 530 | Radeon Pro 450
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
I have High Sierra working on a NUC7i5BNH. It's plugged to a LG 4K TV using a HDMI 2.0 cable, but I can only get 4K@30Hz. There is any way to get 4K@60Hz?, maybe spoofing Skylake graphics or using a Thunderbolt 3 to HDMI cable. Also I would like to know if there is any way to have HDR support.

Thanks.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have High Sierra working on a NUC7i5BNH. It's plugged to a LG 4K TV using a HDMI 2.0 cable, but I can only get 4K@30Hz. There is any way to get 4K@60Hz?, maybe spoofing Skylake graphics or using a Thunderbolt 3 to HDMI cable. Also I would like to know if there is any way to have HDR support.

Thanks.
Your question is answered in post #1.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
6
Motherboard
Intel NUC
CPU
Intel Core i5-7260U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus 640
Hi guys,

First post so go easy on me! I’m confused and hoping someone can help. I want to install High Sierra on my NUC 7i5 (specs in signature).

Under the “Preparing USB and initial installation” section, this guide links to here

On that page it states:

Note: The FakeSMC package includes FakeSMC "plugins" (FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext, FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext, FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext, FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext). You do not need these kexts for installation, although you may wish to try them for getting sensor data to HWMonitor.app after you install. Note: FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext may have issues on Kaby Lake hardware.

So I’ve highlighted two points 1) FakeSMC is optional and 2) part of it is not compatible with Kaby Lake.

Later in the “DVMT-prealloc on Broadwell/Skylake/Kaby Lake” section, that guide links to here which then links to here

On that page it states:

Q. Is Kaby Lake supported?

Initial reports and experimentation seem to indicate that Kaby Lake can be supported by spoofing the hardware as Skylake.

You can use FakeCPUID to patch the kernel such that the Kaby Lake CPU is assumed to be Skylake. This setting is already present in the Kaby Lake plists that are linked from the Clover guide (eg. config_HD620.plist).

Using FakeCPUID with Skylake CPUID first suggested/confirmed here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...g-battery-status.116102/page-343#post-1389087

Question 1 - sounds like i need to patch the framebuffer in order to get the system working, is that correct?

Question 2 - The guide here starts with an ig-platform-id for broad well. How do i find the one for my system?

Question 3 - Is there a step by step I can follow to patch the frame buffer?

Question 4 - in the guide here under “is kaby lake supported” it refers to the config_HD620.plist assuming kaby lake to be skylake. Do i need to use this plist during my install?

Question 5 - following on from above, what other plists are modified in that way? How can i tell? What happens if i use an unmodified plist?

Question 6 - following on from above, how do i use FakeCPUID? Is there a guide somewhere? The laptop FAQ link here but what as DSDT patching got to do with FakeCPUID and how does it relate to installing MacOs on my NUC?

Question 7 - what files do i need in the EFI/CLOVER/kexts folder? so far i have:

> HFSPlus.efi

> apfs.efi

> OsxAptioFixDrv-64

> Lilu.kext

> IntelGraphicsFixup.kext

> IntelMausiEthernet.kext


Thanks for all you help!
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
Intel NUC7
CPU
i5-7260U
Graphics
Iris Plus 640
FakeSMC.kext is *not* optional, it's required... its variations for the sensors are optional.

Answer to Q1,2,3,4,5,6 - No, just follow the bare minimum to get the USB sorted. You don't need to do anything complicated at all.

Q7 - Mine works fine with the following kexts, in the EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other folder: FakeSMC.kext, IntelGraphicsFixup.kext, IntelMausiEthernet.kext, Lilu.kext, VoodooPS2Controller.kext

The .efi's go in the EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI folder
I didn't need OsxAptioFixDrv-64

Seriously: don't overthink it, just follow the guide.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,719
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Note: The FakeSMC package includes FakeSMC "plugins" (FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext, FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext, FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext, FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext). You do not need these kexts for installation, although you may wish to try them for getting sensor data to HWMonitor.app after you install. Note: FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext may have issues on Kaby Lake hardware.

So I’ve highlighted two points 1) FakeSMC is optional and 2) part of it is not compatible with Kaby Lake.
"FakeSMC" and "FakeSMC plugins" are not the same thing.
Always read carefully.

Later in the “DVMT-prealloc on Broadwell/Skylake/Kaby Lake” section, that guide links to here which then links to here
DVMT-prealloc should be set in BIOS as required already as per post #1, "BIOS settings".
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
6
Motherboard
Intel NUC
CPU
Intel Core i5-7260U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus 640
Ok, thanks guys. Just really confusing - the more i read the more i don't understand...also doesn't help i'm new to all this!

What about my NVMe SSD, anything special i have to do for that to get it working?
 
Top