Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
136
Motherboard
HP 8300 - 3.08
CPU
i5-3470, i5-3570, i5-3570K
Graphics
RX 560, RX 570, GT730
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Yes, there you go. Thanks for the effort!
I don't see anything certain, but you seem to have a lot of
fake-SMC keys in your nvram. Start up Clover, and when
you get to the Clover selection screen, hit F11 to clear your
nvram. It may reboot afterwards.

Also could you please check your /Library/Extensions and
/System/Library/Extensions to ensure that you don't have
any of the kexts that we install there? Did you rebuild your
boot cache with Hackintool? You might try adding a key to
your config.plist in Root -> SystemParameters called
NoCaches with Type Boolean and Value YES.

Is your graphics card an RX480 or an RX580? I see both
indicated in your startup.

Finally, can you unplug the Bluetooth from your interior
media port and see if that makes any difference?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
see if that makes any difference?
I cleared my nvram and it didn't make a difference. I haven't installed any of the needed kexts on /Library/Extensions/ nor /System/Library/Extensions, they are in EFI/Clover/kexts/Other as they should. But I double checked and there weren't any of those. I haven't rebuild my cache using Hackintool. I added NoCaches with Yes and it didn't also make a difference. Same with unplugging the Bluetooth.

My graphics card is RX580. Is there way to remove RX480 indication or is it necessary?

It's interesting that on High Sierrra this SSDT worked flawlessly. Only "clear" difference was that SMBIOS was iMac 13,2 instead of Macmini 6,1.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,992
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
It's interesting that on High Sierrra this SSDT worked flawlessly. Only "clear" difference was that SMBIOS was iMac 13,2 instead of Macmini 6,1.
When you switched to this guide for Mojave you stated that you did perform a clean install.

Since you did perform a clean install, I would start by flashing the BIOS again, loading optimized defaults and setting it up as directed. Then go through the guide by Sniki exactly as it's posted here to make sure you're doing everything the same. That way you can remove all the variables that can lead to failure. It would probably be good to use the exact same BIOS version that @Sniki is using on his HP8300 so you can flash to that version. You do have the 8300 with i5-3470 correct ? All this info should at least be posted into your signature if not in your hardware profile.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
762
Motherboard
GA-Z77N-WIFI-F3-Clover
CPU
E3-1225 v2
Graphics
GT 640 | P4000
Mac
Mac mini
I have i5-3470 and tried also with your attached i5-3470 ssdt and the same problem still exists. I waited 5 min longer on the loading screen and verbose gave further this information (if this information has any value):
View attachment 445643
gIOScreenLockState 3, this shows that it is graphics issues

you may check the ig-platform-id, SMBIOS, BIOS settings

the SMBIOS for ivy bridge system
IGPU only : Macmini6,x, iMac13,3 (IGPU, no dGPU)
dGPU + IGPU : iMac13,x

you only have one class=030000 (graphics) device, no IGPU ?
Code:
...
0:100  0:000  PCI (00|01:00.00) : 1002 67DF class=030000
0:100  0:000   - GOP: Provided by device
0:100  0:000   - GFX: Model=AMD Radeon RX 480 (ATI/AMD)
...
in the bootlog [ GetDevices ] section, the Intel IGPU HD2500 was not detected, maybe you have disabled the IGPU in the BIOS or wrong settings

in the config.plist, the headless AAPL,ig-platform-id (06006201) was used, since the IGPU was disabled, I don't know whether it will trigger the gIOScreenLockState 3 warning or not

Sniki set both of the config_HD2500.plist, config_HD4000.plist SMBIOS to Macmini6,1
the config_HD2500.plist should be set to iMac13,2 (dGPU + IGPU)
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
174
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
The conclusion is that this guide will not work with Mojave.
If anyone is working, I would like to say congratulations.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
66
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT v2.99
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The conclusion is that this guide will not work with Mojave.
If anyone is working, I would like to say congratulations.
Do you mean the current version of the guide or the previous version? I used the previous version for my 8300 for a High Sierra install and then a Mojave install, and it has been running pretty solid for quite some time now.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
174
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
Do you mean the current version of the guide or the previous version? I used the previous version for my 8300 for a High Sierra install and then a Mojave install, and it has been running pretty solid for quite some time now.
It is about the current version.
In previous versions, i3-2120 also ran from 10.11.6 to 10.15.2 with a little modification.

I am currently working on Mojave by modifying UniBeast 9.3.0.
18G3020.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
HP 6300 Pro
CPU
i3 3220
Graphics
GT 220
Mac
Mac mini
Thanks Sniki for this guide , I tried many guides to setup many versions of macOS on my HP 6300 pro i3-3220 to find a most stable & suitable performance for my pC specs (12GB Ram, Samsung Geforce 220 GT 1GB) but your guide was the easiest way and granted a stable OS (High Sierra) . the process was so easy and the audio works from the first boot but I have some questions and need some help :

1- After finishing the OS setup & install clover in my EFI I found my graphics working good with full CI/QE support & "without installing Nvidia web driver" . should I install the web driver or no need for that ?
2- my GPU has 2 ports (HDMI & DVI) & I have 2 monitors
A. FHD Dell 24'' connected to the Samsung Geforce 220 GT HDMI port.
B. LCD HP 19'' has only VGA input & I have DVI to VGA convert cable .
is it possible to get the second monitor working through the DVI port & how ? and in case it is not possible with this graphic card can I use the second monitor with the bulit in HD 2500 dispalyport at least even without full acceleration support.

Thanks,
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
87
Motherboard
HP 8300 MT
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
When you switched to this guide for Mojave you stated that you did perform a clean install.

Since you did perform a clean install, I would start by flashing the BIOS again, loading optimized defaults and setting it up as directed. Then go through the guide by Sniki exactly as it's posted here to make sure you're doing everything the same. That way you can remove all the variables that can lead to failure. It would probably be good to use the exact same BIOS version that @Sniki is using on his HP8300 so you can flash to that version. You do have the 8300 with i5-3470 correct ? All this info should at least be posted into your signature if not in your hardware profile.
Can you update to high Sierra or Mojave without doing a clean install? Can you upgrade without doing a clean install I don't want to lose my programs. I'd like to install Mojave, but not if there are bugs(have HP 8300 i5)Is Mojave ok with a Asus Geforce 210 1GB?
thanks in advance
 
Top