Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,621
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
124
Motherboard
HP 8300 - 3.08
CPU
i5-3470, i5-3570, i5-3570K
Graphics
RX 560, RX 570, GT730
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
that dart=0 flag has no effect on boot times.
Ivan,

your boot log shows you are using both HFSplus.efi and VBoxHFS.efi drivers. I think you want to
use one or the other but not both. I'm not sure why Sniki indicated both, but one was disabled
in Sniki's config.plist.

Secondly, your boot log shows that it is trying to play a sound.wav file from your clover
installation. The sound.wav file may be in your selected theme folder. In boot, it first converts
the 8000 Hz file to 48000 Hz, and tries to play it but fails. You may see improved boot time if
you remove the sound.wav file or invoke the "play async" option. Otherwise, it tries to complete
playing the file before it goes on to the rest of the boot process.

Hope this helps.
Lisa
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
158
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
"PCIe Lane Width: x4" was checked because I was worried.
Surprisingly, my GPU is displayed in the same way, so when I checked what the other GPUs were, the rest was displayed according to the specifications.

I am using "Palit GT 640 1 GB", but used it from HP6300 with BIOS 2.90 from EL.Captain to Mojave without any problem.
After that, I replaced the CPU with i3-2120 and updated to BIOS 3.08 to use @Sniki's guide.
No longer recognized only by HP6300(The cause may be Secure Boot: Enable).
The HP8300SFF still uses it, but it is not clear whether it originally supports UEFI.

The legitimate BIOS doesn't support UEFI.
So I decided to download a BIOS that supports UEFI from "BIOS Coleection" and write the BIOS, but it was already written.

The current display is as follows.
GT640System.png

I don't know if the cause of the failure is CPU replacement or BIOS.
However, I think it would be wiser to use it if it can be used.

I welcome any suggestions.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,621
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I welcome any suggestions.
What is installed into your two PCIe x1 slots ? What BIOS version were you using that wasn't UEFI capable ? Didn't think there were any for the 6300. Your GT 640 is designed to use 8 PCIe lanes. Bus Interface - PCIe 2.0 x8 but I don't think it would make any difference in performance if it is using x4. You may be right that it is due to using the older Sandy Bridge i3-2120 instead of one of the newer Ivy Bridge CPUs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
158
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
What is installed into your two PCIe x1 slots ? What BIOS version were you using that wasn't UEFI capable ?
The Palit GT640 was purchased second-hand, but the BIOS was not changed.
So we only use UEFI compatible versions.

Didn't think there were any for the 6300. Your GT 640 is designed to use 8 PCIe lanes. Bus Interface - PCIe 2.0 x8 but I don't think it would make any difference in performance if it is using x4.
Yes, compared to RX460, if it is not FullHD, GT640 feels more beautiful.

You may be right that it is due to using the older Sandy Bridge i3-2120 instead of one of the newer Ivy Bridge CPUs.
I am currently looking for and replacing the i7-3770, but I think this is a good test environment.

What I mean is, "Is the MSI RX550 real?"
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,621
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Is the MSI RX550 real?
Some are and some are not really RX 560s it's not really clear unless you research in great detail what the cards specs are. I just avoid them altogether.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
158
Motherboard
HP 8300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, Quadra, SE/30
Some are and some are not really RX 560s it's not really clear unless you research in great detail what the cards specs are. I just avoid them altogether.
For the original question, if you install it according to the guide of @Sniki, I think that RX550 (id = 0x67ff) works now.

It has been confirmed that USB installers other than Sierra can be created from the OS currently available from Apple.
(The downloaded file could not be created USB with UniBeast)

It can be installed from USB with the guide of @Sniki.
can Sierra upgraded directly from ELCaptain once installed, as pointed out by @trs96.

I think it's a great guide, but I'd like to ask for updates.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,796
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok guys so the guide update is almost done.

USBPorts.kext from Headkaze does have problems with generating correctly USB2 Ports (EH01 and EH02 Controllers).
Yesterday we finally found out the solution and i modified the USBPorts.kext and now all ports do work correctly.
Fixes should be out for others as soon as headkaze updates the hackintool with changes, but for us, i already configured the USBPorts.kext and will upload it soon with the new changes.
So no more USBInjectAll.kext, no more SSDT-USB
SSDT-LPC removed as it has been injected on config.plist /Devices/Properties now.

Setup is getting super clean at this point, 0 ACPI>DSDT Patches/Renames now.
As for SSDTs with Clover:
SSDT-EC (fake EC Device)
SSDT.aml (CPU Power Management)

(even those two might be eliminated as a lilu plugin kext to inject fake ec device is on it's way and CPU PM can be done with config.plist as well).

So multiboot at this point is perfect and won't be affected by Clover or OpenCore configuration at all whether you boot Linux or Windows or any other operating system.

Last step is to get rid of CodecCommander and SSDT-ALC221 and port the changes to AppleALC.

Happy New year ! :thumbup:
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
15,621
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks for all the great work you've put in on this HP 8300 guide. When I first wrote the Sierra guide for these machines 2.5 years ago, I had some doubts about even getting ALC221 audio working at all. Now with all the new techniques available and the work done by the Acidanthera team this is about as close as you can get to installing Catalina on a Mac that Apple sells.

So again, I must say that HP 6300 and 8300 owners are the luckiest hackintosh owners in the world as they have all this work done for them already. They just have to apply some changes as shown in the new guide and have a system as close to perfection as you can get. Even if they will be dual booting with Windows or Linux.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,796
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's weird how the development of this machine support have gone.

First of all it was your idea that pumped me to get one of these machines so i can give it a try thanks to your wonderful guide that you had created.

Then i took the project and improved on what has been left to be fixed and guess what:
I fixed what was left that could've been fixed but complicated the EFI with many more SSDTs and stuff.
AND NOW:
Back to almost your same route, pretty much 75% of the configuration is on config.plist, 18% kexts, 2% SSDTs so this setup has become very clean again but with all current existing fixes.

Just fixed ALC221 to work without codeccommander.kext and SSDT-ALC221 :headbang:
Both input sources are working , front mic port, back mic port without codec Commander.
Complete Automatic Audio output implemented, no longer need to select Line Out if you plug something on the back, audio will start playing automatically on Line Out if you plug something on the back jack BUT:
Someone might not like this if they have jacks both on front and back connected so i will ask you guys what you want:

Option 1:
If i leave the function as it is current (the one you are using): everything will work:
  • If you are playing on PC speaker and connect headphones on front headphone jack, audio goes automatically to headphones, you unplug headphones audio returns automatically to PC Speaker.
  • But if you connect Headphones or Desktop Speakers on the back Jack (LineOut) you will have to right click Line Out on volume icon menubar to switch audio to that source and whenever you decide to PC Speaker & Front Jack auto switch, you will have to switch to that (this is what you are using right now) the only fix i did is patch it to not use codeccommander.kext and SSDT-ALC221.

Option 2:
If i fix everything with automatic switch function but lose dual jack pluggedin manual switch (first jack connected wins the output)
  • You are on PC Speaker, you plug headphones on front jack, audio goes on headphones, you unplug goes back to PC Speaker, you decide to plug Headphones on Rear Jack, audio goes to rear Jack automatically. (complete auto switch).
  • BUT you lose the function to have two audio outputs plugged in and select between which one you want. So you have Desktop speakers/Headphones on back jack plugged in, and you decide to plug headphones on front, audio will stay on back (or first connected jack) so you will have to unplug one of them that you are not using for audio to return on the one you are using.
I hope i was clear with the explanation

Please let me know which option you want.
 
Top