Contribute
Register

Thunderbolt Driver ?

Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
207
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I finally got my new Hackintosh up and running smoothly for the most part. I use it for audio production. I needed to upgrade to a Thunderbolt setup to reduce latency etc. I know there's a lot of similar builds so I am hoping someone is able to help.
I am running a Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 with Alpine Ridge card. I have the newest Bios and I am running Mac os 10.13.6

For post install I just used multibeast for bare minimum to get my machine working. I only installed clover, ethernet, system definition etc. I didn't add any extra kexts or drivers besides my Nvidia web driver. Audio seems to work natively, but I don't know if it's at it's full potential.

The most important thing on my entire computer is the thunderbolt. I got it hooked up to my Apogee Element interface and it seems to work. I haven't got the chance to open any huge songs with it yet. My question is, shouldn't Mac os have something listed for thunderbolt? It says no drivers are loaded. I am worried I might not be getting the performance I'll need. Any suggestions?

I would also greatly appreciate any other suggestions for kexts or hacks etc I should do for maximum performance. Thank you!
 

Attachments

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,368
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
I finally got my new Hackintosh up and running smoothly for the most part. I use it for audio production. I needed to upgrade to a Thunderbolt setup to reduce latency etc. I know there's a lot of similar builds so I am hoping someone is able to help.
I am running a Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7 with Alpine Ridge card. I have the newest Bios and I am running Mac os 10.13.6

For post install I just used multibeast for bare minimum to get my machine working. I only installed clover, ethernet, system definition etc. I didn't add any extra kexts or drivers besides my Nvidia web driver. Audio seems to work natively, but I don't know if it's at it's full potential.

The most important thing on my entire computer is the thunderbolt. I got it hooked up to my Apogee Element interface and it seems to work. I haven't got the chance to open any huge songs with it yet. My question is, shouldn't Mac os have something listed for thunderbolt? It says no drivers are loaded. I am worried I might not be getting the performance I'll need. Any suggestions?

I would also greatly appreciate any other suggestions for kexts or hacks etc I should do for maximum performance. Thank you!
Don’t know if this will help?
  • Thunderbolt: boot into Windows and connect a Thunderbolt device; I used an OWC TB 2 dock. When recognized, reboot into Mac OS X; I used a G-Drive TB 2 drive for that, as the OWC didn’t show up. Once the G-Drive showed up, I was able to hot-add the dock. No issues since (aside from using the internal USB 3.1 Gen 2 header, which led to a big mess; see next item). Note that if you disconnect the computer from power, you will have to boot into Windows again and connect a Thunderbolt device again prior to booting into Mac OS X.
  • Chenyang USB 3.1 Front Panel Header to USB 3.0 20Pin Header Extension Cable 20cm for ASUSMotherboard,
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
207
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
I don't have windows and I think that's for the Asus card and or the Gigabyte Rev 1. I got the Rev 2. The thunderbolt card is working, it just says no driver loaded. Not sure if it's cosmetic or something needs to be installed etc. I definitely appreciate the response. Hopefully someone with the same setup has an answer lol.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
207
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Here is a screen shot of my macbook pro's thunderbolt port under system information. As you can see, it lists it and my hackintosh does not.
Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 3.34.03 PM.png
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
813
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
TB is (a bit of) a mess on Hacks. If your device is usable, great. I have lots of devices that work, and some that don't. None of them shows in the TB tab of About this Mac...
TB networking(so using TB to TB connection) is not working at all. But most TB audio interfaces can be made to work well.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
207
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
TB is (a bit of) a mess on Hacks. If your device is usable, great. I have lots of devices that work, and some that don't. None of them shows in the TB tab of About this Mac...
TB networking(so using TB to TB connection) is not working at all. But most TB audio interfaces can be made to work well.
So this is normal and I'm not alone? I guess I'll find out how my interface performs once I try some recording.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
None
So this is normal and I'm not alone? I guess I'll find out how my interface performs once I try some recording.
Is it working properly?
Mine is working but with to much latency, even with 32 sample of buffer.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
207
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Is it working properly?
Mine is working but with to much latency, even with 32 sample of buffer.
That's a good question. I haven't done any recording with mine yet. Only done some mixing. I'm gonna have to test it out asap. I will report back. I'll be very disappointed if there is latency. The whole point of thunderbolt is to eliminate it!!!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
Z170X Ultra Gaming
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
None
The whole point of thunderbolt is to eliminate it!!!
Thank you, yes that was to point :p
Going from 32 to 128, I don't really ear a big difference, which is kind of strange.
 
Top