Contribute
Register

The 4K Dell OptiMac - 9020 MT - Core i7-4790 - Radeon RX 570 - LG 4K IPS Monitor

Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
954
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
R580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
I recently got my 9020 MT set up - I have the i7-4790 with 32GB of RAM, Radeon RX 580 Sapphire Pulse. Thanks for the guide, it was easy to follow.

Still waiting on my power supply cable to swap it out. I am running power from another old workstations power supply to run my RX 580.

Couple things.

I noted that there were some updates for Lilu, Whatevergreen and appleALC - the whatevergreen one being the more important one as one of the release notes was fixing AMD wake from sleep issues. I updated those kexts with no issue.

My machine will wake from sleep on the RX 580 as long as it is on the display port - it was failing to do so on the HDMI port but I have not tried after i patched Whatevergreen.

Also had a couple problems with my contacts not working, but got that sorted out as well. iMessage works, as does almost everything else.

I had two issues when getting set up - one, I had some random clone issues on my windows drive. I set it up on an old spinner HD and got a SSD. The clone must have been bad even though it started up properly once. Who knows.

The other issue was using the front USB3 port to transfer settings from my SanDisk portable SSD - I was running off the iGPU, and the screen would flicker in the migration assistant. Was super weird.


Mike
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
R580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Had a question though - since I am new to this

Hackintool reports that Clover 5115 is available, and that I have 4934. It asks if I want to download a newer version. It seems to work fine, is there a reason to update this, and if I do it is there a good upgrade clover guide to follow?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,913
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hackintool reports that Clover 5115 is available, and that I have 4934. It asks if I want to download a newer version. It seems to work fine, is there a reason to update this, and if I do it is there a good upgrade clover guide to follow?
If Clover 4934 is working for your Mojave install there's no real reason you have to upgrade it. 5115 won't give you any advantages on Mojave. There is much you would have to do first to prepare to use the newer 5115 Clover version. Stay with what you have now until you want to upgrade to Catalina.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,913
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
is there a good upgrade clover guide to follow?
There are other things you'd do first like moving all the kexts out of /L/E and rebuilding caches when you want to install Catalina.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
R580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If Clover 4934 is working for your ( Mojave install ? ) there's no real reason you have to upgrade it. There is much you would have to do first to prepare to use the newer 5115 Clover version. Stay with what you have now until you want to upgrade to Catalina.


Yes, Mojave install - It does what I want it to. It is working for me, thanks!

Just for my own edification, I'm assuming that the newer version of clover would still work with Mojave?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,913
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
the newer version of clover would still work with Mojave?
See post #1655 If you just update your Clover version and do nothing else you'd have a non-bootable system.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
R580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wanted to do a quick post - I found a90 degree PCIE cable that fits under the RX 580. So I was able to install the Fenvi network adapter, and a PCIE to NVME adapter without cutting the case. I did modify the brackets - I have the 1200 series card.

Here is the adapter I bought https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07ZKQNL1S/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

To install was easy - obviously the adapter plugs into the 1x PCIE slot. After that, what I ended up doing was slightly modifying the two brackets that came with the card.

There is a low profile bracket - I straightened out the part the would attach to the PC with a screw and attached it to the card.

I then took the normal card backplate, the full sized one, and ground away the lip on the back side, and cut off the two screw tabs that would mount to the card.

plan is to mount the two together. The low profile bracket servers two purposes here - It spaces out the LED since the hole will not line up, and will server to let me drill some holes later

Next thing was to just mate the two together - my plan is to add some screws to hold them together, but right now the antenna's are holding the card to the backplate in the PC.

Should be more obvious from some pictures.

1588719318051.png


1588719352673.png


1588719390428.png
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
R580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've done a little searching (Cannot just search this thread unless I am missing something ) but I am having trouble with the sensors not shwing up for the optimac. There are a couple guides off this site that advise to install other SMC files, but wanted to double check if it was addressed in this thread (I've read about half of it, but I was lookin for install info, not the sensor stuff at the time)

I've tried installing RehabMan builds of the FAKE smc stuff - The install instructions are not obvious and seem wrong, as kext wizard tried to instal so S/L/E which I thought was reserved for the official Apple Kexts.

I basically dumped all of the kexts into my clover/kexts/other. I also used Kextbeast to install them to library/extenstion and ran kext utility.

I can see the sensors in HW monitor, but not iStats manu and I am not sure why. Google would leave me to believe I need to create sensors myself?

Sorry for all the questions, and thanks in advance for the help :)

Mike
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,913
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
There are a couple guides off this site that advise to install other SMC files, but wanted to double check if it was addressed in this thread
I don't include the install of the sensor kexts in post #1 because they sometimes prevent booting normally and cause KPs. If you're on Mojave and keeping kexts in /L/E just select this in Multibeast, build/install and reboot.

Screen Shot 5.jpg
 
Top