Contribute
Register

System works but boot screen (verbose or normal) doesn't

Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Lenovo T430 (2349IP5)
CPU
2.6 GHz Intel Core i5-3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Got a rather unusual problem over here - installed El Capitan on my Lenovo T430 (2349IP5, IB Core i5-3320M, 4GB RAM, HD4000 Graphics, 1600x900 screen) and after some patches almost everything is working as it should (SpeedStep, FireWire via ExpressCard, Mini DisplayPort, internal sound - no problems) but there's one issue I'd like to resolve:

I'm not getting any boot screen at all. No Apple progress bar on normal boot and no text on verbose boot.

Don't get me wrong - the system is working as it should. For now. But what if something goes awry and the system won't boot anymore? I can't use verbose mode to troubleshoot the system in that case. Already noticed this problem when booting the installer but I was hoping it might go away. I'm gonna give as many details on this as possible (the ones I think might be of interest - it most probably doesn't have anything to do with post-installation .kexts or patches because, as I mentioned, the problem already occurred when booting the installation USB drive):
  • UEFI BIOS Version G1ET91WW (2.51)
  • Embedded Controller Version G1HT30WW (1.08)
  • Machine Type Model 2349IP5
  • Boot Mode UEFI only
  • config.plist RehabMan's plist for 1600x900 HD4000 laptops
  • drivers64UEFI contents FSInject-64, HFSPlus, OsxAptioFixDrv-64 (not OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 since it wouldn't even boot then), OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Got a rather unusual problem over here - installed El Capitan on my Lenovo T430 (2349IP5, IB Core i5-3320M, 4GB RAM, HD4000 Graphics, 1600x900 screen) and after some patches almost everything is working as it should (SpeedStep, FireWire via ExpressCard, Mini DisplayPort, internal sound - no problems) but there's one issue I'd like to resolve:

I'm not getting any boot screen at all. No Apple progress bar on normal boot and no text on verbose boot.

Don't get me wrong - the system is working as it should. For now. But what if something goes awry and the system won't boot anymore? I can't use verbose mode to troubleshoot the system in that case. Already noticed this problem when booting the installer but I was hoping it might go away. I'm gonna give as many details on this as possible (the ones I think might be of interest - it most probably doesn't have anything to do with post-installation .kexts or patches because, as I mentioned, the problem already occurred when booting the installation USB drive):
  • UEFI BIOS Version G1ET91WW (2.51)
  • Embedded Controller Version G1HT30WW (1.08)
  • Machine Type Model 2349IP5
  • Boot Mode UEFI only
  • config.plist RehabMan's plist for 1600x900 HD4000 laptops
  • drivers64UEFI contents FSInject-64, HFSPlus, OsxAptioFixDrv-64 (not OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 since it wouldn't even boot then), OsxFatBinaryDrv-64
Enable CSM/legacy boot in BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Lenovo T430 (2349IP5)
CPU
2.6 GHz Intel Core i5-3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
CSM is enabled. Another idea?

PS: I forgot - the Clover version is 2.3k build 2015-11-01 14:01.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
CSM is enabled. Another idea?

PS: I forgot - the Clover version is 2.3k build 2015-11-01 14:01.
Download patchmatic: https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-maciasl-patchmatic/downloads/RehabMan-patchmatic-2015-0107.zip
Extract the 'patchmatic' binary from the ZIP. Copy it to /usr/bin, such that you have the binary at /usr/bin/patchmatic.

In terminal,
Code:
if [ -d ~/Downloads/RehabMan ]; then rm -R ~/Downloads/RehabMan; fi
mkdir ~/Downloads/RehabMan
cd ~/Downloads/RehabMan
patchmatic -extract
Note: It is easier if you use copy/paste instead of typing the commands manually.

Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).

Also, post ioreg: http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/58368-guide-how-make-copy-ioreg.html. Please, use the IORegistryExplorer v2.1 attached to the post! DO NOT reply with an ioreg from any other version of IORegistryExplorer.app.

And output from:
Code:
kextstat|grep -y acpiplat
kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu
kextstat|grep -y applelpc
Also, post EFI/Clover folder (press F4 at main Clover screen before collecting). Please eliminate 'themes' directory, especially if you have an overabundance of themes installed.

Also post output of:
Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Lenovo T430 (2349IP5)
CPU
2.6 GHz Intel Core i5-3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Download patchmatic: https://bitbucket.org/RehabMan/os-x-maciasl-patchmatic/downloads/RehabMan-patchmatic-2015-0107.zip
Extract the 'patchmatic' binary from the ZIP. Copy it to /usr/bin, such that you have the binary at /usr/bin/patchmatic.

In terminal,
Code:
if [ -d ~/Downloads/RehabMan ]; then rm -R ~/Downloads/RehabMan; fi
mkdir ~/Downloads/RehabMan
cd ~/Downloads/RehabMan
patchmatic -extract
Note: It is easier if you use copy/paste instead of typing the commands manually.

Post contents of Downloads/RehabMan directory (as ZIP).
OK, I'm gonna do that, but one question first - I'm already using a patched DSDT and SSDT; do you want me to boot OS X from a Clover installation with or without the patched files before running patchmatic or does it make no difference?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK, I'm gonna do that, but one question first - I'm already using a patched DSDT and SSDT; do you want me to boot OS X from a Clover installation with or without the patched files before running patchmatic or does it make no difference?
patchmatic output should represent the conditions/configuration which demonstrates the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
Lenovo T430 (2349IP5)
CPU
2.6 GHz Intel Core i5-3320M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
patchmatic output should represent the conditions/configuration which demonstrates the problem.
The problem was present with all configurations so far - even when running the installer before patching any tables or installing any kexts, just using your HiRes HD4000 config.plist without modifications. In fact, the only thing I changed about the Unibeast-created flash drive was replacing OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi by OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi since with the former file my system wouldn't boot (error allocating [...] pages at [...]). I'm just gonna post the patchmatic output from the current configuration along with the IOReg output and the EFI folder, just give me ~5 minutes.

EDIT: to better describe the problem - upon normal boot, the screen remains black until the password prompt appears and on verbose boot the screen is stuck at the Clover screen with the row of "+" signs until the password prompt appears.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
The problem was present with all configurations so far - even when running the installer before patching any tables or installing any kexts, just using your HiRes HD4000 config.plist without modifications. In fact, the only thing I changed about the Unibeast-created flash drive was replacing OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi by OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi since with the former file my system wouldn't boot (error allocating [...] pages at [...]). I'm just gonna post the patchmatic output from the current configuration along with the IOReg output and the EFI folder, just give me ~5 minutes.

EDIT: to better describe the problem - upon normal boot, the screen remains black until the password prompt appears and on verbose boot the screen is stuck at the Clover screen with the row of "+" signs until the password prompt appears.
Boot normally using your intended configuration. Then provide the files as requested.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK, there you are.
Backlight control not implemented properly...

http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/152659-guide-patching-dsdt-ssdt-laptop-backlight-control.html

Do yourself a favor and keep the same names for SSDTs in ACPI/patched as for ACPI/origin. I didn't do a compare because the names a mismatched.

No kextcache output provided, contrary to request.

Boot glitch patch might help if enabled... You could also experiment with different config.plist/GUI/ScreenResolution settings.

Also clean system of unneeded software...
 
Top