Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for replying back Casey. As you mentioned, to take the screenshot in BIOS through F12 Key, I tried that also, and its giving me an error message cannot create file with some number mentioned below
Quite right. We just need to insert a USB flash disk that has an EFI partition. Screenshots will be saved to the EFI partition of the USB flash disk.

and as you had already seen the multiple EFI Partition on the boot option please suggest what can be done in that regard. Just wanted to know flushing the BIOS will be solution for this or not and as I know which is the correct booting drive for the OC 0.7.0. I am bit curious now how to work with BIOS and remove Unwanted EFI entries from it. I will search more for that in your Threads as you always been a great help. I really want to appreciate that for such a prompt response.

And @Inqnuam he also being a great help always and for replying back asap. You both are great and I hope we will getting such a great response always in coming years also and stay blessed always and stay safe both of you and keep Hackintoshing.
In the BOOT section of BIOS we can rearrange the order in which the various drives are selected for booting.

If you know which drive contains OpenCore 0.7.0, simply select that drive from the Priority 1 pull down list. All other Priority positions can be left alone. Then save and exit.

When the system reboots and OpenCore Picker appears, take a look at the bottom right corner of the screen. Does it say REL-070-…. ?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,
I converted Clover to OpenCore 0.7.0. Things are running ok but in testing benchmarks and apps, I began to notice everytime I launched an app, it asked for permission to my documents folder or the desktop, etc.
Each app should ask for these permissions only one time (if you grant it the permission it asks for). If the same app asks for the same permissions over and over again (even after you have granted the permission) then let us know.

I go to "Get info" on the boot drive and 'admin' is 'read only' and I cannot change it. It says I don't have permission even after unlocking with my password. Do I need to run terminal from a USB start up?
If you are running Catalina or Big Sur, the entire System volume is write-protected, which means it is “read only”. So what you are seeing is normal.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,301
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi @CaseySJ,
I converted Clover to OpenCore 0.7.0. Things are running ok but in testing benchmarks and apps, I began to notice everytime I launched an app, it asked for permission to my documents folder or the desktop, etc.

I go to "Get info" on the boot drive and 'admin' is 'read only' and I cannot change it. It says I don't have permission even after unlocking with my password. Do I need to run terminal from a USB start up?
Could you please create another local admin account
Login into that fresh new created account
and try if you have all your permissions
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMacPro1,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I've tried enabling PTT to check if it says I meet the Win 11 reqs but after reboot it just comes back still disabled. Tried several times. Other bios settings stick just fine. Modified F9i. @CaseySJ are you able to enable it? I haven't touched the bios since flashing with the bios you provided.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
949
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@joevt

Wow :) Thanks for theses informations. Your shell script seems working as well, I have installed it and have tried "dumpallbootvars" command.

Adding Driver### seem to be useless, all drivers are on my custom firmware and already loaded (I mean Apple drivers). I can also adding APFS driver with guid CFFB32F4-C2A8-48BB-A0EB-6C3CCA3FE847. I have already tried it by booting to Openshell and bypassing OpenCore (in order to not use OC included APFS driver), all APFS partitions have been visibles.
I use DriverOrder and Driver#### on my MacPro3,1 to load drivers before Apple Startup Manager boots (so it can see APFS partitions for example). That way I don't need to flash my rom and if the driver has a bug I can zap the pram using Command-Option-P-R.

Other drivers I would like to work on for Driver#### would be to enable GOP GPUs on this old Mac (like RefindPlus and OpenCore can) instead of just UGA, then UGA on GOP because probably Apple Startup Manager on this old Mac requires UGA, A USB 3.x compatible XhciDxe that works in EFI 1.1 (because existing versions only work on UEFI 2.1), then update that driver for USB 3.2 gen 2x2 (if it doesn't support it already?), and a version of the OpenCore screenshot driver (so it can work with UGA), etc.

I'm working on a driver to set PCIe gen 2 speed (because the MacPro3,1 defaults gen 3 and gen 4 devices to gen 1). Then I'll do a EFI driver to enable USB on my GC-ALPINE RIDGE. Then I can replace my EFI Shell startup.nsh script with those two drivers. The EFI driver method will be smarter because startup.nsh uses hardcoded PCIe addresses which might change depending on what is connected. An EFI driver can find the devices that need to be set to gen 2 and it can find the hidden GC-ALPINE RIDGE (you don't need to select a root port for the Thunderbolt controller like you do in a PC's BIOS settings).

"Can it log to a disk that is being shared by Target Disk Mode?" No log, ExitBS to OpenCore, because I haven't modified my Boot### and BootOrder EfiGlobalVariables yet. Will try it soon with previous shell script.
My question wasn't about what you can do now. It was about what can be done by code yet to be created. The issue is that Target Disk Mode usually shares all disks known by UEFI over the Target Disk Mode connection. So maybe you can't write a log to an EFI partition while Target Disk Mode is running. Or maybe Target Disk Mode won't share a partition if you have it opened by a driver.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yep both ports work. The ASUS Sage/10G has a Intel X550-AT2 so I modified the EEPROM to work with SmallTree drivers

View attachment 522901

SMBIOS: MacPro7,1

BIOS changes: None - Can't seem to find VT-D in the ASUS X299 BIOS
config.plist changes: DisableIoMapper (false)
  • AppleVTD Enabled
  • DMAC
  • 4 DIMMS (4 x 16GB @ 3200)
  • Broadcom BCM943602CDP (Wifi + Bluetooth work)
  • Both onboard Ethernet ports work - Intel X550-AT2 with SmallTree8259x.kext
  • No Thunderbolt card (Will be getting a Titan Ridge to flash)
Hmmm, lucky indeed!

I am currently stuck with the error:
OC: Prelinked injection SmallTreeIntel82576.kext () - Invalid Parameter

Not sure what else to try at this point since my config is supposedly setup correctly (every other kext loads) and TB3 works. Last step to getting this x299 build back to what it was using Clover.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
429
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know if what I will say its a stupid thought or no, but if DMAR table (consequence of enabling VTD) in some cases (Z390 and other), is the reason of bad behaviour of WIFI and ethernet, someone smart enough can edit the table in the correct way. After this we block the original. I hope you'll not laugh. I've done this to correct FACP errors in some legacy computers, but DMAR is for dev's.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know if what I will say its a stupid thought or no, but if DMAR table (consequence of enabling VTD) in some cases (Z390 and other), is the reason of bad behaviour of WIFI and ethernet, someone smart enough can edit the table in the correct way. After this we block the original. I hope you'll not laugh. I've done this to correct FACP errors in some legacy computers, but DMAR is for dev's.
Any thoughts or suggestions for dealing with AppleVTD side-effects are welcome. If anyone laughs at those suggestions I will delete their posts. Deal? :)
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,301
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I was able to get all Internet connections working with DisableIoMapper checked (VT-D enabled from BIOS but doesn't appeared in IOReg)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried enabling PTT to check if it says I meet the Win 11 reqs but after reboot it just comes back still disabled. Tried several times. Other bios settings stick just fine. Modified F9i. @CaseySJ are you able to enable it? I haven't touched the bios since flashing with the bios you provided.
I’ll try this shortly. Currently enjoying a lovely latté at a craft coffee shop. My Zen moment.
 
Top