Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is the original firmware and your SSDT, USB-C still does not work :crazy:

View attachment 502280View attachment 502281View attachment 502282View attachment 502283
Thanks for flashing the original firmware back. To check if the USB-C ports are working, please do the following:
  • Remove or disable the Thunderbolt SSDT. This forces macOS to probe the PCI bus and auto-detect Thunderbolt and USB-C devices on the GC-Titan Ridge card.
  • Shutdown the system and flip power switch to OFF for 10 seconds.
  • Then power the system up and login to macOS.
  • Post screenshot of IORegistryExplorer (Thunderbolt section).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • SSDT-TbtOnPch-Gigabyte-Z390-GAMING-M.aml
    4.9 KB · Views: 30
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @NoiseCoalition!

Fun fact -- you were the first to build a Z390 Designare Hackintosh based on my earliest guide (if you could call it a 'guide' back then). Numero uno. :)

If you could do that back then, you can definitely make the jump to Catalina or even Big Sur today.

Ha yes! I remember that. I believe that you were experimenting with your build in another thread and I asked you to document your journey. So glad you did!

I'm definitely going to hold off on Big Sur because of software compatibility issues. I may upgrade to Catalina but also might just stay on Mojave. The current OpenCore set up works with Mojave, correct?

We must make a full bootable backup first, and test the backup before switching from Clover to OpenCore. In fact, I would even go so far as to recommend the following:
  • Obtain a new (low cost) SATA SSD and mount it inside an external USB 3.0 enclosure. These enclosures are about US$10.
  • Clone the Mojave system to this new SATA SSD (and also copy the EFI folder to it).
  • Confirm that the system boots through the SATA SSD (press F12 at BIOS Splash Screen and select the external SSD).

Yeah I have two SSD's in USB3.0 enclosures for Hackintosh backups. I may have to take the plunge into OpenCore!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
The current OpenCore set up works with Mojave, correct?
...
Yes it does, but we must still use BIOS F9g or F9i with CFG-Lock set to Disabled because the OpenCore EFI is using native NVRAM and will not boot without this.

It's definitely a good idea to get acquainted with OpenCore and its companion, OpenCore Configurator.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS BIOS 5802
CPU
2x E5-2650v2
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for flashing the original firmware back. To check if the USB-C ports are working, please do the following:
  • Remove or disable the Thunderbolt SSDT. This forces macOS to probe the PCI bus and auto-detect Thunderbolt and USB-C devices on the GC-Titan Ridge card.
  • Shutdown the system and flip power switch to OFF for 10 seconds.
  • Then power the system up and login to macOS.
  • Post screenshot of IORegistryExplorer (Thunderbolt section).
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 19.58.25.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 19.57.03.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 19.55.15.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 19.55.41.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 19.55.04.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately macOS is not detecting any USB ports. It is detecting the USB hub, but no USB 2 or USB 3 ports. This is very odd and may indicate:
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be compatible with your motherboard/CPU
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be plugged into a X4 or larger PCIe slot
  • GC-Titan Ridge might be defective
Because GC-Titan Ridge has two flash ROM chips -- one with blue dot and one with green dot -- please let me know if any changes were made to the 'green dot' chip? All changes should be made only to blue dot chip.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS BIOS 5802
CPU
2x E5-2650v2
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately macOS is not detecting any USB ports. It is detecting the USB hub, but no USB 2 or USB 3 ports. This is very odd and may indicate:
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be compatible with your motherboard/CPU
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be plugged into a X4 or larger PCIe slot
  • GC-Titan Ridge might be defective
Because GC-Titan Ridge has two flash ROM chips -- one with blue dot and one with green dot -- please let me know if any changes were made to the 'green dot' chip? All changes should be made only to blue dot chip.

It's strange in MacPro5.1 it works, but not in Hackintosh, I didn't touch the green chip, now I'll check it in MacPro 5.1 with a non-flashed rom
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes it does, but we must still use BIOS F9g or F9i with CFG-Lock set to Disabled because the OpenCore EFI is using native NVRAM and will not boot without this.

It's definitely a good idea to get acquainted with OpenCore and its companion, OpenCore Configurator.

Great, I'm thinking that I'll just try to switch to OpenCore for now and skip step 2 below! Thinking ahead, is it better to update OS's incrementally (Mojave to Catalina to Big Sur) or in the future would it be okay to go from Mojave straight to Big Sur?

457184-d9288092e40d2938091dfc1ae424399a.png
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS BIOS 5802
CPU
2x E5-2650v2
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately macOS is not detecting any USB ports. It is detecting the USB hub, but no USB 2 or USB 3 ports. This is very odd and may indicate:
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be compatible with your motherboard/CPU
  • GC-Titan Ridge might not be plugged into a X4 or larger PCIe slot
  • GC-Titan Ridge might be defective
Because GC-Titan Ridge has two flash ROM chips -- one with blue dot and one with green dot -- please let me know if any changes were made to the 'green dot' chip? All changes should be made only to blue dot chip.
Screenshots from MacPro 5.1 no firmware and SSDT, USB-C works. Know the problem in the Motherboard / CPU. Hackintosh Thunderbolt 3 works but USB-C doesn't work
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 20.31.09.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 20.34.15.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 20.35.08.png
Screenshot 2020-12-24 at 20.37.51.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Great, I'm thinking that I'll just try to switch to OpenCore for now and skip step 2 below! Thinking ahead, is it better to update OS's incrementally (Mojave to Catalina to Big Sur) or in the future would it be okay to go from Mojave straight to Big Sur?

View attachment 502295
We can certainly go directly to Big Sur from Mojave, but we need to disable CFG-Lock and switch to OpenCore. Hopefully all of the software and plugins you use are or will be compatible with Big Sur soon because Big Sur is just a delightful environment...
 
Top