Contribute
Register

[Success] - Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming + i9 10900K + OpenCore

Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E GAMING
CPU
Intel i9 10900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UPDATE

I did it.

I had to change HideAuxiliary to NO in the config file and then add the NVMeFix kext to make it detect the two NVMe SSDs.

The only thing in MacOS startup (login screen) the resolution seems to be minimized, everything is very clear and bright. Once logged in, the resolution changes automatically, even passing to 240hz.
But I think it depends on a setting of MacOS and not of the config file.

For the rest, everything would seem to really work.
Great job scope666. Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ae
UPDATE

I did it.

I had to change HideAuxiliary to NO in the config file and then add the NVMeFix kext to make it detect the two NVMe SSDs.

The only thing in MacOS startup (login screen) the resolution seems to be minimized, everything is very clear and bright. Once logged in, the resolution changes automatically, even passing to 240hz.
But I think it depends on a setting of MacOS and not of the config file.

For the rest, everything would seem to really work.
Great job scope666. Thanks again.
Aye nice.
Just to point out, NVMeFix didn't made you detect the NVMe in OpenCore. This is a kext, not a UEFI driver, and it fixes power management on macOS . I'm pretty sure that disabling HideAuxiliary as well as configuring APFS MinDate and MinVersion and having HfsPlus.efi did the job.

Regarding the 240Hz as well as the resolution, I have a similar "issue", but never deep investigated onto it.

In any case, thank you so much for testing the EFI ^^
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Messages
27
Motherboard
Asus Z490-e
CPU
i7-10700k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi guys..
Is there anyone here using USB 3.0 hub using rear type C port? Mine doesn't work ... the port is active based on hackintool

1629708154563.png
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UPDATE

I did it.

I had to change HideAuxiliary to NO in the config file and then add the NVMeFix kext to make it detect the two NVMe SSDs.

The only thing in MacOS startup (login screen) the resolution seems to be minimized, everything is very clear and bright. Once logged in, the resolution changes automatically, even passing to 240hz.
But I think it depends on a setting of MacOS and not of the config file.

For the rest, everything would seem to really work.
Great job scope666. Thanks again.

HideAuxiliary is a cosmetic thing to keep your startup screen cleaner. Pressing the spacebar will show all the hidden entries.

HFSPlus.efi has been included all along.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well I tried to update to 0.7.3 TWICE and I'm failing miserably. The new kexts are fine, I have them loaded now, but when I try to fold in the files from the package, it gets stuck in the booting process EARLY.

If someone else is successful, perhaps you can post your full EFI.zip so I can do a diff and see what's different.

PS The RESOURCES folder was updated this month, I did include that but still no dice.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can you attach a screenshot of where the boot process fails?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you attach a screenshot of where the boot process fails?

I've already reverted back to 0.7.2, but it's that very first block of text that's maybe 20-30 lines long, that doesn't fill the screen. Then that usually disappears and you start the full screen scrolling, it never makes it to that part.

Also I should add that OpenCanopy doesn't appear to be working, it's in text mode even though the updated Resources folder is present and it's set to External for the GUI OS picker.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Have you already tried resetting nvram?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
385
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 3080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Maybe it works. Resetting nvram on nowadays boards doesn't make any dangerous operations so you'll be fine
 
Top