Contribute
Register

[Success] - Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming + i9 10900K + OpenCore

Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I wanted to post my config if it helps anyone else. (full EFI folder attached)

Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming
CPU: Intel 10900K
RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200
GPU: ASRock Phantom Gaming Radeon RX 560 + EVGA RTX 2080 Ti (disabled in config.plist)
Wi-Fi/BT: Broadcom BCM94360CD 802.11ac 1750Mbps Desktop PCi-E WiFi Adapter. (Handoff / Continuity working)
Ethernet: I225-V
Storage: 2x Samsung 970 EVO 1TB NVMe
Case: CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 500D RGB SE Mid-Tower Case
OpenCore: 0.5.9

About the only thing not working is Apple TV+ DRM content (fixed), but Netflix / Prime / Apple trailers work fine. The DisplayPort output on the motherboard works with acceleration via the IGPU, but as of yet the HDMI does not. This is why I added the Radeon RX 560 as I have two monitors. If you have a single monitor you can probably just use the iGPU without the Radeon GPU. The same EFI will work with either iGPU DisplayPort or an RX 560 (or similar)

Screenshot at Aug 03 15-22-01.png


Screenshot at Jun 04 19-51-14.png


1592665487129.png

1592929889587.png


Video of case:

What's left to fix: iGPU HDMI, this is a bigger problem than just Z490 from what I've been reading, Wake from sleep via keyboard or Wake on Lan (I have to press the power button, at least it STAYS asleep which is nice). A better driver for the Ethernet I-225V (for me it seems to drop packets although internet tests don't confirm, others say it's fine)
Slow Wi-Fi after sleep: Resolved by unchecking "Wake for network access" in System Preferences > Energy Saver

Other than that everything works and it's ROCK solid!

Note: Use OpenCore Configurator to generate UUID, MLB and Serial number for iMac 19,1. I enter my real MAC address in the ROM field, these are all important to get iMessage / FaceTime working.

EDIT 06.14.2020 - Cleaned up ACPI, added front USB C port (only working at 2.0 speeds, not sure why yet)

EDIT 06.20.2020 - Clean up kexts, fix on-board audio (thanks hemon!), fix intel hdmi audio, included better USBInjectAll kext, not enabled by default, but can be should you want to do your own USB map.

EDIT 07.01.2020 - Removed ALCID from boot-args now that audio is fixed, remove CPU mask spoof as no longer needed as of 10.5.5

EDIT 07.18.2020 - Fixed HDMI black screen, both monitors now working with iGPU. For now I have removed the Radeon card so my RTX 2080 Ti can run at PCIE x16 in Windows.

1595085148288.png


EDIT 08.03.2020 - Added EFI-0.6.0.zip containing OpenCore 0.6.0 that was released today, along with all of the updated kexts that the same team also put out today. I added all of the new 0.6.0 keys and ran it through the online validator. Going to keep the original EFI.zip (version 0.5.9) attached here for now incase 0.6.0 introduces any problems that I'm not aware of.


Special thanks to @xiaoviejiang who gave me a lot of pointers early on and helped get me up and running.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus Z490i
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi,

I have the Asus z490i and I tried your EFI. Sadly its not working as is. Installation (initial progress bar) stops almost halfway thru.

I guess I'd have to do more investigation.

Thanks btw. This is a good place to start for me
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
235
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Hi,

here with Asus ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming and it doesn't work: stop signal while loading. Is this a BIOS setting problem? How it can be possible that it doesn't work if we have the same config?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can you guys turn on verbose logging so we can see where it's getting stuck? It's under the NVRAM section of config.plist on your boot USB: (add the -v flag)

Code:
<key>7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82</key>
            <dict>
                <key>SystemAudioVolume</key>
                <data>Rg==</data>
                <key>boot-args</key>
                <string>alcid=1 -v</string>
                <key>csr-active-config</key>
                <data>5wMAAA==</data>
                <key>prev-lang:kbd</key>
                <string>en-US:0</string>
            </dict>
I would also check the BIOS settings and make sure all the "standard" Hackintosh settings are set correctly. Things like fast boot off, XHCI hand off enabled, etc. Any of the guides on here for a Z390 should have the settings.


You guys should start here to make sure you're creating the OpenCore boot USB correctly:


Comet Lake specific guide:



EDIT: Found the BIOS settings also in that guide (recently added)


Disable:

  • Fast Boot
  • VT-d (can be enabled if you set DisableIoMapper to YES)
  • CSM
  • Thunderbolt(For initial install, as Thunderbolt can cause issues if not setup correctly)
  • Intel SGX
  • Intel Platform Trust
  • CFG Lock (MSR 0xE2 write protection)(Apparently this is already off on our Asus boards)
Enable:

  • VT-x
  • Above 4G decoding
  • Hyper-Threading
  • Execute Disable Bit
  • EHCI/XHCI Hand-off
  • OS type: Windows 8.1/10 UEFI Mode
  • DVMT Pre-Allocated(iGPU Memory): 64MB
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
- Not all of my USB ports work as intended
@scope666 is it possible for you to show how you created your USB port mapping files?
Hi,

I have the Broadcom combo Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card for Handoff / Continuity support, so I needed the internal USB header working. These are my notes on how I did the map: (remember there's a 15 port limit, and each USB 3 port essentially counts as 2, one for HS and one for SS)

Code:
SS10   -   HS10  -  BOT BLUE      -  C920

SS09   -   HS09  -  TOP BLUE      -  VALVE INDEX - DISABLED VIA MAP

SS02   -   HS02  -  BOT RED       -  G502

SS01   -   HS01  -  TOP RED       -  MR18

SS03   -   HS03  -  LONE RED PORT

SS07   -   HS07  -  FRONT LEFT PORT

SS08   -   HS08  -  FRONT RIGHT PORT

       -   HS12  -  BOTTOM BLACK  -  K70

       -   HS06  -  INTERNAL USB  -  BLUETOOTH/WIFI CARD   

           HS04  -  REAR USB C    -  DISABLED VIA MAP

           HS05  -  FRONT USB C   -  RUNNING AT 2.0 SPEEDS ONLY
1592667360696.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can you post a Geekbench 4.x of your i9-10900K ? I'm very curious about the performance...
I don't have a 4.0 handy at the moment, but here's my 5.1.1 score, you can use the browser to compare to other builds:



Example comparison to a randomly picked 9900K using the search function:

 
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
235
Motherboard
ASUS Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
GTX 1070
I gave up and I changed for now to Windows. I already wanted to give Windows a chance after about 15 years of osx - and for now I'm satisfied; Office is on another level and Edge is much faster than Safari. Thank you very much for the effort!
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus Z490i
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi @scope666 - I’ve managed to install and boot up my hackintosh thanks to your EFI. Thought I must say that its a mix of my config and yours. Had to build tje SSDT thru SSDTTime. Then used your config.plist as well as some of your ACPI and Kext.

Its not 100% but its a start. For one thing my Ethernet isn’t working.This is looking like a really good Hobby now.

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z490-E
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti (Win) / RX 560 (Mac)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @scope666 - I’ve managed to install and boot up my hackintosh thanks to your EFI. Thought I must say that its a mix of my config and yours. Had to build tje SSDT thru SSDTTime. Then used your config.plist as well as some of your ACPI and Kext.

Its not 100% but its a start. For one thing my Ethernet isn’t working.This is looking like a really good Hobby now.

thanks agan

Hi Dieselmat, glad you got it up and running. I'm betting your board has the Ethernet at a different address than mine, you should be able to fix by adjusting the address inside the FakePCIID_Intel_I225-V.kext. (show package contents --> Info.plist )

IOExplorer should be able to show you where yours is living.

IIRC I got the Ethernet working by looking here:

 
Top