Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero Build: ASUS ROG Z170 MAXIMUS VIII HERO - i7-6700K - GTX 980

Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,011
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm having a hell of a time trying to get Quick sync and Final Cut to work together. After enabling Quick Sync I'm unable to open Final Cut Pro X. FCPX will say it quit unexpectedly when I try to open it. I've worked through the guide that headkaze put together and hardware acceleration is enabled according to VideoProc, and I have an AirPlay icon in my menu bar.

I'm attempting to enable faster rendering/encoding for FCPX by using the CPU gpu in addition to the 1050 Ti. Before making any changes my Bruce 5k time is around 37 seconds.

I've attached my config and a screenshot of the kexts I'm using. Has anyone with a similar system to mine (6700k + 1050 ti) had any luck enabling Quick Sync and using FCPX?
Please try this config.plist. Also, make sure you have the latest Lilu and WhateverGreen.

I had to create new Serial for you because your SMBIOS section was devoid of a lot of info.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 11, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus Hero VIII
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you pasterychef! The new config allows me to open FCPX without issue and quick sync appears to be enabled. That said I just ran the Bruce5k benchmark with a result of 40 seconds. I would have thought with Quick sync working I would see an improvement. If everything is setup correctly should both the 530 iGPU and the 1050ti be listed in the Graphics/Displays section?

So I understand what I did wrong, it looks like the following changes were needed:
PEGP to GFX0 was disabled
SSDT -> DropOem -> Generate -> APLF - Set to False
SSDT -> DropOem -> Generate -> APSN - Set to False
-disablegfxfirmware flag was added
Properties -> PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) -> AAPL,ig-platform-id - was changed from <00001219> to <01001219>
SMBIOS - a bunch of data I was apparently missing

It seems like the two major changes were not using the PEGP to GFX0 patch and adding the -disablegfxfirmware argument.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
7,011
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you pasterychef! The new config allows me to open FCPX without issue and quick sync appears to be enabled. That said I just ran the Bruce5k benchmark with a result of 40 seconds. I would have thought with Quick sync working I would see an improvement. If everything is setup correctly should both the 530 iGPU and the 1050ti be listed in the Graphics/Displays section?

So I understand what I did wrong, it looks like the following changes were needed:
PEGP to GFX0 was disabled
SSDT -> DropOem -> Generate -> APLF - Set to False
SSDT -> DropOem -> Generate -> APSN - Set to False
-disablegfxfirmware flag was added
Properties -> PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0) -> AAPL,ig-platform-id - was changed from <00001219> to <01001219>
SMBIOS - a bunch of data I was apparently missing

It seems like the two major changes were not using the PEGP to GFX0 patch and adding the -disablegfxfirmware argument.
No. When set up correctly, you should NOT see the IGPU in System Information > Graphics/Displays.

Yes. Those were the changes I made.
  • WhateverGreen does the PEGP to GFX0 rename for you and it does it in a better way.
  • I don't know why a lot of people have that APLF and APSN stuff enabled. I don't even know what it does.
  • I changed IGPU to be headless/connector-less.
I think that Bruce X is more dependent on dGPU. Approx 40 seconds sounds about right for a GTX 1050 Ti. For better performance, I suggest an AMD card.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
Asus Hero VIII
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
After poking around a bit, it appears the change that made FCPX start to work was changing the AAPL,ig-platform-id to <01001219>. It does seem like 37 to 40 seconds is about right for a 1050 Ti after searching for other scores. I think you're probably right about Bruce X not changing much with quick sync. Thank you for your help!
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2016
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey Stork, I am quite the n00b when it comes to PC's and such, but I was curious if there would be anyway I could talk to you in more of a direct message kinda way because I am looking to make my preexisting PC into a Hackintosh.. I have no idea where to start, but I saw this post which has the same MoBo, Graphics, & CPU as mine, and figured that this would be a great start to getting things going. I'm more of a visual learner and can't seem to find youtube videos on this build specifically. Just looking for someone to help kinda start me on this amazing journey.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,356
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Stork, I am quite the n00b when it comes to PC's and such, but I was curious if there would be anyway I could talk to you in more of a direct message kinda way because I am looking to make my preexisting PC into a Hackintosh.. I have no idea where to start, but I saw this post which has the same MoBo, Graphics, & CPU as mine, and figured that this would be a great start to getting things going. I'm more of a visual learner and can't seem to find youtube videos on this build specifically. Just looking for someone to help kinda start me on this amazing journey.
@jknack3, I moved your post to MyHero build description thread, here.

The Forum does not permit "direct message" discussions for helping members because it deprives others who are needing similar information.

Please provide complete details in your Profile.

Mobo: motherboard manufacturer/model
CPU: detailed CPU model (e.g., i7-4770K)
Graphics: Video card manufacturer/model and/or Intel Integrated Graphics version (e.g., HD4600)

See my Profile items to the left of my post, under my name.

By completing your Profile and signature block, you help us help you better. :thumbup:

That being said. First you need to use a Mac to create an account with Apple's Mac App store to download the latest macOS, Mojave. Do you have access to a Mac? A friend's Mac or hackintosh...school...college/university...library?
 
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
167
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
Dual Vega 64’s
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I hope you guys can chime in and make this as painless as possible. Since my build has pretty much followed this from the early days. Its time to operate on mine. My Vega 64 arrives tomorrow. Since I am working fine with the 1080 Ti, but FCPX as my main use for the Hackintosh, I'm going to a AMD but chose the Vega as my new MacBook Pro has the Vega 20 in it and works great with FCPX. I know to remove Nvidia from system. Also uncheck use Nvidia web in Clover. What else. I know this is more towards the graphics forum but wanna stick with whats so close to my build. Im just looking to make this painless as my system works perfectly. Thanks all. And also I have already change SMBIOS to a iMac pro.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,356
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I hope you guys can chime in and make this as painless as possible. Since my build has pretty much followed this from the early days. Its time to operate on mine. My Vega 64 arrives tomorrow. Since I am working fine with the 1080 Ti, but FCPX as my main use for the Hackintosh, I'm going to a AMD but chose the Vega as my new MacBook Pro has the Vega 20 in it and works great with FCPX. I know to remove Nvidia from system. Also uncheck use Nvidia web in Clover. What else. I know this is more towards the graphics forum but wanna stick with whats so close to my build. Im just looking to make this painless as my system works perfectly. Thanks all. And also I have already change SMBIOS to a iMac pro.
@pastrychef can provide you with some more insight as swapped out his 1080 for a Vega 56. I'm hanging there with my GTX 960 on High Sierra to 10.14.3 is released, and them I'll make a decision to stay with the GTX 960 or move to the AMD side.
 
Joined
May 17, 2012
Messages
167
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
I9 9900K
Graphics
Dual Vega 64’s
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@pastrychef can provide you with some more insight as swapped out his 1080 for a Vega 56. I'm hanging there with my GTX 960 on High Sierra to 10.14.3 is released, and them I'll make a decision to stay with the GTX 960 or move to the AMD side.
Well just so for anyone else with this setup it was plug and play. Remove the Nvidia junk and cuda. Then search in spotlight for nvidia dump all that to trash and empty. Remove nvidia web from clover. Shutdown. Remove nvidia. Pop in Vega. Turn on and enjoy pure FCPX rendering heaven.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
asus p8cws
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
gtx 970
Mac
iMac
Please try this config.plist. Also, make sure you have the latest Lilu and WhateverGreen.

I had to create new Serial for you because your SMBIOS section was devoid of a lot of info.
Thank you very much pastrychef.
You have also help me with your config.file.
Since I have been getting hardware acceleration,I have not been able to open final cut pro,it's always quit unexpectedly.
But now I can open it and work with it.
More grace,more ideas in 2019.
And more money in your account.

My mobo is haswell.
Intel core i7 4770k
Gigabyte z97m - ud5h
Amd Rx580
32gb ram
Ssd 1tb.

I use it media encoding..
But if you still have support for me please do.
Happy New year.
 
Top