Contribute
Register

[solved] Surface Pro 4 Hackintosh - can't get HD520 working

Joined
Jul 6, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Surface Pro 4
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD 520
I did try to boot with ig-platform-id 0x19160000 but ended up in KP. I thought I can't get an ioreg from a system that's not properly booting, since I need to run the IORegistryExplorer? Thats why I booted the system with an invalid id.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Jul 6, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Surface Pro 4
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD 520
IT WORKS!
It was my mistake, I didn't follow what you told me carefully enough. I tried your config.plist again with Clover ver4674 and the 0x19160000 platform-id, and it works like a charm. Thank you for all the work you did and the enormous patience with me in this issue. So happy now!
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
66
Motherboard
Intel Skylake-U Premium PCH
CPU
Core i7-6500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 520 (1920x1080)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
IT WORKS!
It was my mistake, I didn't follow what you told me carefully enough. I tried your config.plist again with Clover ver4674 and the 0x19160000 platform-id, and it works like a charm. Thank you for all the work you did and the enormous patience with me in this issue. So happy now!
Can you please post your last config.plist?
Have also a HD520 and issues with it.

Thanks

EDIT: Also works now for me. I re-read the post and saw, that I did not use the WhateverGreen.kext but the old IntelGraphicsFixup.kext. Using the WhateverGreen.kext got me working immediately.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
5
I am currently trying to install Mojave beta on a Surface Pro 4.
Everything seems to go very well so far but I can't get my HD520 working.

I tried this method because it worked with Sierra on my SP4:

1. Booted successfully with platform-id 0x12345678
2. Added newest IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and newest Lilu.kext to Clover (/kexts/others)
3. Added RehabMan's Config.plist for HD520 as default config (config_HD515_520_530_540.plist)
4. Added -lilubetaall and -igfxbeta bootflags
5. Rebuilded cache (sudo kextcache -i / )
6. Rebooted with platform-id 0x19160000 (also tried 0x191B0000)

It results in a kernel panic (see attachment, sorry for the quality, this is the best I could do..)
I can't figure out whats the problem here. Thanks for any help :)
Hi xhyann,

I also have Surface Pro 4 with same configuration as yours and would like to know if you're successful in installing High Sierra or Mojave successfully. If yes, it everything working properly ? Please advise and let me know if you can help in installing the same on my Surface Pro 4 too as it's also with same configuration. Awaiting your reply. Thanks
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,228
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi xhyann,

I also have Surface Pro 4 with same configuration as yours and would like to know if you're successful in installing High Sierra or Mojave successfully. If yes, it everything working properly ? Please advise and let me know if you can help in installing the same on my Surface Pro 4 too as it's also with same configuration. Awaiting your reply. Thanks
As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier
https://www.tonymacx86.com/account/

please read the faq for proper hardware profile setup:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Surface Pro 4
CPU
i5-6300U
Graphics
HD 520
Hi xhyann,

I also have Surface Pro 4 with same configuration as yours and would like to know if you're successful in installing High Sierra or Mojave successfully. If yes, it everything working properly ? Please advise and let me know if you can help in installing the same on my Surface Pro 4 too as it's also with same configuration. Awaiting your reply. Thanks
Hey Jogindar,
yes, I was indeed successful in installing Mojave on my SP4 but there are three flaws I was just not able to fix.

First of all, you will of course need a WLAN USB-Module which is kinda annoying with such a slim, good looking device (keep in mind: just one usb port - so either internet or a usb stick etc.) If you want high Speed / higher range, you need to choose a big antenna. There are nothing you can do about this since you cant really open this device to change your NIC.

Second and for me even more annoying than the WLAN/USB issue, your Trackpad won't be supporting Multigestures. I spent days looking up a solution, but this was the reason I finally removed macOS from the Surface and use Windows / Ubuntu dualboot instead. (Ubuntu will support your NIC and Multigestures if configured properly). The generic mouse kext may work (for one finger) but I included Multigestures heavily into my workflow. This rendered the Surface more into something I could show off than something to be productive with.

The third issue, a smaller one, i couldn't get the webcam to work.

Besides that, I managed to get most of the things working. I didn't bother with things like FaceTime etc. because I don't use that. It shouldn't be neccessary to say that touch won't work on macOS. With a fully charged battery you would last about 3 hours mediocre use. (This was at least too short for me since you reach somewhat about 6h under Windows).

You'll face issues here:
- Graphics Acceleration (ofc, follow this thread)
- Brightness Slider (funnily, an app will help you out: Brightness slider from the app store)
- Sound (Input and Output, just install voodoohda kexts)
- Battery Indicator (there is a regedit patch for this one)
- Annoying 'charger connected' sound all the time if you're 100% charged already (there is a console command to deactivate that, you could autorun it after booting)
- App Store (use nullethernet.kext)
- I also had problems with restarts while I didn't use the device (for example, I went to bed and the next morning clover greeted me and the Display was hot (worked around that with a timeout but never found the issue tho)

Maybe there will be more problems but these are all I could think of atm.

All in all if you ask me, this is a nice opportunity to learn something about Hackintosh, but you'll definetly get rid of this Setup sooner or later. The Hardware isn't even strong enough to do specific things you only can do on macOS (thinking about Final Cut or Logic Pro). I do rather use Windows with a long(er) lasting battery and no usb antenna for tasks you'd be able to do on macOS, despite the fact I don't really like Windows.

I included a picture with my WLAN Module so you know how it would look...

I wanted to upload a hq tutorial for the Surface Pro 4 on YouTube but haven't had enough time to do that yet. Maybe I will in the future. If you really want to do it and stumble upon any questions, ask them here or pn me and i'll look into it when I got time.

Good luck and cheers, mate.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS XI HERO (WIFI/BT)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
ok .... I have the surface pro i5 6300u with 520 hd ..
I can't for the life of me get to boot.

I have set bios as per the guides. I've used the plist from here. tried 0x12345678

it stalls on loaded kexts:
(none)
 
Joined
May 4, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
Surface Pro 4
CPU
i5 6300u
Graphics
HD520
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have been trying for ages on my surface pro 4 but boots only with (-v) and 0x12345678 can someone please post a working .Plist for us idiots lol :)

Mike
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
11,228
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
I have been trying for ages on my surface pro 4 but boots only with (-v) and 0x12345678 can someone please post a working .Plist for us idiots lol :)

Mike
As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier

please read the faq for proper hardware profile setup:

Link to laptop guide:
 
Top