Contribute
Register

[Solved]Fixes to Get Full Acceleration on Intel HD Graphics in iMac 17.1

Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
323
Motherboard
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500NSUS
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
Intel® UHD Graphics 620
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi - I finally have quicksync working on my hackintosh (I think). MacX Video Converter Pro shows that yes, hardware encoding is supported. Unfortunately, I do not seem to be able to access quicksync in Handbrake. Am I missing something? Does Handbrake not support quicksync on the mac platform? I know it works in windows.... Thanks for any help/answers.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
319
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi - I finally have quicksync working on my hackintosh (I think). MacX Video Converter Pro shows that yes, hardware encoding is supported. Unfortunately, I do not seem to be able to access quicksync in Handbrake. Am I missing something? Does Handbrake not support quicksync on the mac platform? I know it works in windows.... Thanks for any help/answers.
Handbrake is not working with Quicksync in Mac Read the release note of it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
319
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes I saw that after I posted. Never went back to comment. I just boot into windows to do my handbrake conversion.
I mean I do not need Quicksync anymore, I did not even use HD630. I am using Handbrake in Mac not so bad so far. :))
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
323
Motherboard
Lenovo IdeaPad 330S-15IKB-81F500NSUS
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
Intel® UHD Graphics 620
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I mean I do not need Quicksync anymore, I did not even use HD630. I am using Handbrake in Mac not so bad so far. :))
FYI - converting a blu-ray rip to a MP4 file using H.264 with Handbrake on a mac takes about 40 min (or more). Converting the same blu-ray rip to a MP4 file using H.264 (QuickSync) with Handbrake on a PC takes about 15-18 min. Time savings is huge. It is unfortunate that Handbrake on mac does not use QuickSync.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z97M D3H
CPU
i5 4690k
Graphics
280x
Mobile Phone
Android
i have two setups
1st : HD4600 + Saphire r9 280x

2nd : HD4600 + XFX r9 280x

i followed this guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/amd-nvidia-primary-display-with-airplay-mirroring.118662/

in both cases Display Connected to r9 280x
:headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang:
And magic happens...he made my day.....Worked like charm....just fantabulous
1st setup get working. Dont used, shiki.kext, lilu.kext, whatevergreen.kext, intelgraphicsfixup.kext etc. nothing at all.
just pure patches. Intel Quick Sync i.e Hardware acceleration/hardware encoding supported


:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
but for 2nd setup , hardware acceleration didnt worked , as its amd xfx, and it required to load vbios 1st
so my Question is How to inject two ig-PlatformID's in config.plist
as i wanna inject
0x67981002 for XFX amd card
0x04120004 for HD4600

plz help ,
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z97M D3H
CPU
i5 4690k
Graphics
280x
Mobile Phone
Android
View attachment 315243 View attachment 315251 View attachment 315252 it seems like using 0x19120000 with inject intel (YES) and shikigva=28 seems to work for me.
i hope u have connected display to Discrete Graphics Card, if no then still u have not done yet,
if ur using FCPX then it is very imp to connect display to Discrete Graphics Card, in terms of performance.

follow this guide : https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/amd-nvidia-primary-display-with-airplay-mirroring.118662/
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
63
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z97M D3H
CPU
i5 4690k
Graphics
280x
Mobile Phone
Android
- config.plist/Devices/FakeID/ATI=0x67981002
- config.plist/Graphics/ig-platform-id=0x04120004
:headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang:

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

Ther you ARE. Bravo BreBo .....you made my day ...thank u so much.

H/W acceleration now supported on xfx amd 280x now....
yahooooooooo.......:headbang::headbang::headbang:
 

TYR

Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
14
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
AFAIK not all AMD cards support all encoding/decoding features so it depends on the card. I've not found a source detailing which cards support which features. If you're on 10.14.1 hardware acceleration on AMD seems somewhat broken anyways...
 
Top