[Solved]Fixes to Get Full Acceleration on Intel HD Graphics in iMac 17.1

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by jktaurus8, Mar 6, 2017.

  1. jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2017 at 5:58 AM #1
    jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This thread is for fixing Quick Sync and full Hardware acceleration in Intel HD Graphics. Although 14.1 definitions are working, In 17.1 with HD 530 and 630 it is not functioning at all. If anyone fixed this, share with others because there are many of those occurs the same problem.
    In Intel HD 530 and 630 tried renaming GFX0 to IGPU with no hope.

    The fixes in #16 th post.

    Current Config
    Intel i5 7600
    H270N WiFi
    8GB Corsair DDR4

    ioregistery.jpeg quicksync.jpeg system properties.jpeg
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
  2. darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    Mar 6, 2017 at 8:38 AM #2
    darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    It has something to do with the fact that on all SMBIOSes with integrated graphics it works. I try iMac 16.1, 16.2, 14.1 and Mac mini 7.1. With them Quick sync is enabled and all of them have integrated graphic from factory. So it looks like system just check if you have Mac model which was manufactured with integrated graphics and support for Quick Sync is based solely on that fact.
     
  3. slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2017 at 12:23 PM #3
    slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You can patch your DSDT to enable QuickSync by changing all instances of GFX0 to IGPU.
     
    jktaurus8 likes this.
  4. jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2017 at 12:29 PM #4
    jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I tried it but no hope. I have my IORegistery Screenshot in #1 post
     
    wellingtonscm likes this.
  5. slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2017 at 12:44 PM #5
    slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It worked for me using the iMac14,2 system profile
     
    jktaurus8 likes this.
  6. jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 6, 2017 at 12:50 PM #6
    jktaurus8

    jktaurus8

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    165
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA H270N WiFi
    CPU:
    Intel i5 7600
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, that used to work for me too but not working in 17.1. There are any fixes?
     
  7. darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    Mar 6, 2017 at 7:21 PM #7
    darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    It looks like, that renaming GFX0 to IGPU has nothing to do with it... with iMac14.1, 16.1, 16.2 QuickSync works even when you dont rename GFX0 to IGPU.
     
    jktaurus8 likes this.
  8. slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 7, 2017 at 3:53 AM #8
    slim.jim

    slim.jim Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,881
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well it has something to do with it because it doesn't work without that when using iMac14,2
     
  9. zakklol

    zakklol

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mar 7, 2017 at 4:37 AM #9
    zakklol

    zakklol

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
    CPU:
    i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    I have no instance of IGPU in my IORegistry and I still have working hardware encoder with iMac14,2. It does complain about not finding IGPU in the IORegistry, but it still instantiates a GVA encoder and successfully encodes frames.
     
  10. darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    Mar 7, 2017 at 7:41 AM #10
    darthsian

    darthsian

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
    How you have enabled Intel HD GFX? Via "Inject Intel" in Clover config?
     

Share This Page