Contribute
Register

Multibeast won't install bootloader/drivers (Yosemite | newbie)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel i7-3770 Ivy Bridge (3.40 GHz)
Graphics
AMD Radeon R9 270X (Curacao XT) 4095 MB
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey all,

first of all, I'd like to inform you that I'm completely new to Hackintosh, and pretty much Mac in general. I play with Linux, but most of the time I'm (unfortunately) Win user. Hope to change that :)

I'll start with my HW setup:

Motherboard Asus Maximus V Gene (Micro ATX Z77)
CPU Intel i7-3770 Ivy Bridge (3.40 GHz)
RAM DDR3 Kingston 1334 MHz (16 GB)
GPU AMD Radeon R9 270X (4095 MB)
Audio Realtek/AMD HD Audio
SDD SandForce OCZ-AGILITY3 (119 GB)
HDD Western Digital WDC WD10EALS-00Z8A0 (1000 GB)
HDD Western Digital WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0 (2000 GB)

So I've followed the Unibeast OS X install guide (Lifehacker's one with some assistance from here) and succesfully managed to install Yosemite on my hardware (I've installed it on my SSD).

After install, I started Multibeast and installed all the drivers (I thought) I needed. After reboot however, I couldn't boot into Yosemite. The only way to get into the OS was through the install USB. So I've tried to install the drivers via Multibeast a few times, trying different combinations, but without any success.

Seems like Multibeast failed to install anything; I was without bootloader (I suppose), audio didn't work (never) and my GPU would be happy for some better drivers (even though it was usable).

With the need for functional OS, I wiped it and reinstalled Win. However I don't plan to surrender just yet :) I've searched these forums, but haven't find anything that would help my case.. (maybe I'm just not sure what exactly to search for as I'm new to all this).

Any help would be really appreciated!

Hey all,