On-Board
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, so I want to start off by saying that I am totally new to this stuff. I have no problem following instructions and building a successful hackintosh, which I did 3 or 4 years ago. I found myself unwilling to update as I wasnt sure about stability, and I didnt want to rock the boat.

Move ahead to last week, I made a pot of coffee, found some free time and updated to El Capitan. Everything was working pretty darn good. Then I got the idea to work on getting the HDMI port to work so I could hook up to the TV, and I also had the iMessage issue. So I started plucking away at things. Here is where the issue came in to play:

I fired up Multibeast and changed a few things, and re-installed. Took longer to boot up, but I finally got back into the OS. Figuring that I didnt get the settings right, I made more changes within Multibeast and re-installed, thats when I wasnt getting any boot up at all. Progress bar that would stick, do not enter sign, and the "Insert in boot drive.....blahblah". I tried booting safe and verbose modes, still a hang. I then used my trusty USB install and booted up off of that, and was able to get back into my OS on the HDD.

Questions/assumptions: After reading into things AFTER I messed things up, I am assuming that I have too many kext files plugging up the s/l/e folder and thus causing these issues. Is there a way that I can delete all the kext entries, and then run a vanilla install just to get everything up and running? or is a wipe and re-install in order?

Also once I do get everything up and running once again in a vanilla state, is there a way that I can edit/adjust those settings to get my system running optimally? Again, without a basic understanding of how UNIX systems work, some of the jargon that I see gets very daunting, and it does take me some time to work out what its doing to make things happen.