macOS High Sierra is Now Available on the Mac App Store

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by tonymacx86, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. rccollins

    rccollins

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    hd 4000
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Oct 4, 2017 at 12:50 AM #421
    rccollins

    rccollins

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    hd 4000
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    I have two Western Digital drives that no longer work in High Sierra, really strange, they both get "Unable to write to the last block of the device" errors when trying to format. No other issues with the 5 other drives in my system. Not sure what kind of SATA controller my Asrock Z75 Pro has.
     
  2. Esau_Canto

    Esau_Canto

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87-UD5H
    CPU:
    i5 3.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 4, 2017 at 2:12 AM #422
    Esau_Canto

    Esau_Canto

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87-UD5H
    CPU:
    i5 3.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hey Amblin thank you so much apparently I though that EFI was other EFI (A little dumb thing because that was the only HDD that was connected to my PC). Anyway thanks High Sierra is running smooth.
     
  3. headkaze

    headkaze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Mobo:
    MSI Cubi2 Plus (MS-B123)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700T
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Oct 4, 2017 at 4:10 AM #423
    headkaze

    headkaze

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Mobo:
    MSI Cubi2 Plus (MS-B123)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700T
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    Did you try AppleAHCIPort.kext (or the Clover patch in the file comments)?
     
  4. rccollins

    rccollins

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    hd 4000
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Oct 4, 2017 at 5:35 AM #424
    rccollins

    rccollins

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    mavericks
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    hd 4000
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Thank You!

    That totally fixed it!!!
     
  5. Linuxhack

    Linuxhack

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Oct 4, 2017 at 8:36 AM #425
    Linuxhack

    Linuxhack

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Cannot tell too many interesting facts ... I had to remove one pair of memory modules and the graphics card to boot into the firmware screen, then did all the known corrections there (including setting memory to XMP profile), then had to figure out how to correct the old Sierra config.plist settings within the Clover boot menu, as High Sierra boot got stuck every time ... I needed at least 20 reboots to get to a successful boot, then finally arrived in macOS, changed all the relevant settings in config.plist, and had many more reboots to refine it. Strangely the USB works fine with the old uia-exclude-setting, whereas none of the newer methods worked.
    I don't like that childish looking "racing" interface of the new Gigabyte firmware, but still I would recommend it highly:
    1. There are no excessive boot entries anymore.
    2. On F5 I couldn't get my 6700K below 1100 MHz idle – on F22a it's 800 MHz. (Could be due to OC before, though.)

    On High Sierra I removed all the rubbish, as I do always:
    iTunes, iBooks, Photos, Maps, Messages, Notes, Reminders, Stickies, Time Machine.
    And – as I am radically boycotting anything from Microslut and Oracle: I removed every file containing "Microsoft", "Oracle" and "Java" (not Javascript!), mainly located in various /Library or /System/Library folders, as I have to do after every update or upgrade, and also from some applications, namely LibreOffice, within their packages.
    Now I feel "clean" again. :)
    Though, I still haven't found a way to replace the disgusting Microslut FAT format of the EFI partition – any ideas about that?!?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 4, 2017
  6. bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 12:37 PM #426
    bizzlemac

    bizzlemac

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4702MQ
    Graphics:
    intel HD 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    After updating, I can't boot my hackintosh. I have done the copy paste of FakeSMC and apfs.efi. When I press boot Mac from my SSD, it only shows the Apple logo with a progress bar for only a second, and then it restarts.

    Any help?
     
  7. shlomic33

    shlomic33

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z97x-ud5h
    CPU:
    4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    Oct 4, 2017 at 3:04 PM #427
    shlomic33

    shlomic33

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z97x-ud5h
    CPU:
    4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 960
    It would be useful to add some information after booting with "-v" boot parameter (verbose mode), but what you describe may just be a kernel panic. I had the same thing after upgrading. The update finished, but then I couldn't boot my Mac anymore. After booting into single user mode (-s), I looked at the panic log files in /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports and saw that the panic caused by a leftover kext for the Intel e1000 network adapter. After removing it from /System/Library/Extensions, I managed to boot into the preboot partition that was created during the upgrade (not my original mac partition). And ONLY THEN could I boot into my regular partition. Everything was just fine from then (installed nvidia web drivers etc.). One thing that bothers me is that the preboot partition still exists. I guess i could delete it but I don't care too much for it.
     
  8. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 5:57 PM #428
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I upgraded with a 1080 card installed, didn’t have to disconnect anything.

     
  9. Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 11:47 PM #429
    Intelis

    Intelis

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme 7+
    CPU:
    i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    1080 GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I trully wait UNIBEAST and MULTIBEAST for High Sierra ... hope to come soon ... for now it is a pain to do it !!!
    Only way I did it was upgrading ...
    Can't do a clean install at all ... too hard for me ...
     
  10. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 12:16 AM #430
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    575
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you upgrade, you don't need MultiBeast or UniBeast, they just assist anyways. You can do it without them.
     

Share This Page