Contribute
Register

macOS 10.13.6 Update

Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus H170M-PLUS
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
GTX 1060 / HD 530
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ran the update and had to use the USB Boot Loader (Clover 4428) and then run the update from the boatload screen several times to get the update to Finnish. When I boot from the USB and then Load the OS from my HardDrive, it will boot into the desktop OK but with the default drivers. I can go to About This Mac and it shows the update has happened successfully (10.13.6), but I can ONLY get to boot to desk top IF I use the USB install boot loader... Thats using clover 4428. When I let it run through the BIOS screen, and it goes to the hard drive clover, thats running 4910... The I boot from the HD It hangs.... This is the END of when I include the VERBOSE mode (let me know if there is a way to scroll back up so I can get it all...). Thanks for any help.... I know the OS is on the HD and I can get to it using the USB boot loading, I;ve messed up the HD Clover or something... Grrr. Thanks.
We have somehow the same setup (Skylake, Pascal GPU & 170 chipset) and I had the same issue.

What I suggest is for you in the BIOS, disable the dGPU (by choosing iGPU as the primary display), unplug your 1050 Ti (from PCI-e slot), plug your display (keep only 1 plugged) directly on the motherboard, boot from HD's Clover (in verbose mode and with Nvidia related option disabled). If you succeed, just run the Nvidia web drivers update (either from the Nvidia control panel or from Nvidia.sh) and it should be OK. You can then enable again the dGPU in your bios, plug back the GTX, plug again your screens to the GTX and it should be good.
 

CDT

Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-Ultra Gaming (F22 Bios Update)
CPU
i7 6700 Skylake
Graphics
Gigabyte Geforce 1050ti 4mb
We have somehow the same setup (Skylake, Pascal GPU & 170 chipset) and I had the same issue.

What I suggest is for you in the BIOS, disable the dGPU (by choosing iGPU as the primary display), unplug your 1050 Ti (from PCI-e slot), plug your display (keep only 1 plugged) directly on the motherboard, boot from HD's Clover (in verbose mode and with Nvidia related option disabled). If you succeed, just run the Nvidia web drivers update (either from the Nvidia control panel or from Nvidia.sh) and it should be OK. You can then enable again the dGPU in your bios, plug back the GTX, plug again your screens to the GTX and it should be good.
Dang, was hoping it would be a software fix, but I'll give that a shot... Thanks.
 

CDT

Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-Ultra Gaming (F22 Bios Update)
CPU
i7 6700 Skylake
Graphics
Gigabyte Geforce 1050ti 4mb
We have somehow the same setup (Skylake, Pascal GPU & 170 chipset) and I had the same issue.

What I suggest is for you in the BIOS, disable the dGPU (by choosing iGPU as the primary display), unplug your 1050 Ti (from PCI-e slot), plug your display (keep only 1 plugged) directly on the motherboard, boot from HD's Clover (in verbose mode and with Nvidia related option disabled). If you succeed, just run the Nvidia web drivers update (either from the Nvidia control panel or from Nvidia.sh) and it should be OK. You can then enable again the dGPU in your bios, plug back the GTX, plug again your screens to the GTX and it should be good.
Ugh, that hasn't worked. Stuck at the same place when booting from HD without the 1050i installed. Took it all the way out, reset the bios as you suggested and same result. Sigh. Thx for the suggestion though.
Cam
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
42
Motherboard
MSI B85I Gaming
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega 56
Hi, guys!
After the sec-update + Clover 4700>4924, I get an Clover reboot loop. (High Sierra 10.13.6 apfs.)
After Googling around, I thought it has something to do with osxaptiofix and/or aptiomemoryfix in efi/clover/..64/.
Taking files from EFI-backup to fix it, I rename+insert into EFI, but that doesn't help.

At the moment my only annoying workaround is starting from the High Sierra "recovery" icon showing in Clover ... wait ... let it load until about 70% (waiting around, it doesn't load into macOS, either ... then hard-reboot into Clover, select High Sierra icon, and then it starts successfully into High Sierra (apfs), just one time.

Another thing, audio:
Also, since Apple sec-update ... no sound (alc1150). I fixed it the last time (3-4months ago) with Googling around (config.plist, insert id 3 or 5 or so, trying around+2 kexts)and plug my stereo set into the "black" audio port instead of "normal"green audio port.

Maybe someone has a kick for me, where to try & error next time.

Greetings
nurbs

Edit: thanks for the quick tip.
ATM, I tried to rerun the sec-upd 2019-02 from App Store. This time it worked out. At first glance, it looks like it worked out.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,854
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, guys!
After the sec-update + Clover 4700>4924, I get an Clover reboot loop. (High Sierra 10.13.6 apfs.)
After Googling around, I thought it has something to do with osxaptiofix and/or aptiomemoryfix in efi/clover/..64/.
Taking files from EFI-backup to fix it, I rename+insert into EFI, but that doesn't help.

At the moment my only annoying workaround is starting from the High Sierra "recovery" icon showing in Clover ... wait ... let it load until about 70% (waiting around, it doesn't load into macOS, either ... then hard-reboot into Clover, select High Sierra icon, and then it starts successfully into High Sierra (apfs), just one time.

Another thing, audio:
Also, since Apple sec-update ... no sound (alc1150). I fixed it the last time (3-4months ago) with Googling around (config.plist, insert id 3 or 5 or so, trying around+2 kexts)and plug my stereo set into the "black" audio port instead of "normal"green audio port.

Maybe someone has a kick for me, where to try & error next time.

Greetings
nurbs

Edit: thanks for the quick tip.
ATM, I tried to rerun the sec-upd 2019-02 from App Store. This time it worked out. At first glance, it looks like it worked out.
Hi there.

Unless you have a specific reason for updating Clover, I would perhaps try rolling-back to an earlier one and see if this improves things. This has worked for me.

If you use MultiBeast 10 for High Sierra, you will get an earlier version of Clover and audio drivers for ALC1150. :thumbup: (Remember to put your AudioID back to what it was before.)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
Eurocom laptop 15"SKY X4 + clover2.3k_r3728
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
gtx970 4K display
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Security Update 2019-003 High Sierra (17G7024) is released.

Beware that the NVIDIA drivers are not available yet for 17G024 ... I got the update done without any problems otherwise, but NVIDIA updater did not find a new driver. This is not as bad as Mojave issue, I think we will have an updated driver in a couple of days. I would wait a bit until the updates are available.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 950
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Beware that the NVIDIA drivers are not available yet for 17G024 ... I got the update done without any problems otherwise, but NVIDIA updater did not find a new driver. This is not as bad as Mojave issue, I think we will have an updated driver in a couple of days. I would wait a bit until the updates are available.
Not necessary. You can install previous drivers with vulgo repo. Version 104 works great.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
Eurocom laptop 15"SKY X4 + clover2.3k_r3728
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
gtx970 4K display
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Not necessary. You can install previous drivers with vulgo repo. Version 104 works great.
The Nvidia drivers are released. Just finished my update, worked very well.
 
Top