Contribute
Register

iMac Pro X299 - Live the Future now with macOS 10.14 Mojave [Successful Build/Extended Guide]

Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
111
Motherboard
MSI H81M-P33
CPU
i5-4670
Graphics
GTX 750
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello, I have the AQC111, if I update the firmware will it work OOB in macOS?
Tried, but the update did not work for me.
Aquantia 5Gbit network PCIe adapter, ran "diag -p" & shows firmware as: 1.5.69.
Following the instructions, ran (in a Windows elevated command prompt): "diag -k -f XXXX.clx" (replacing XXXX.clx with DellNormalDirtyWake-3.1.56_bdp.clx) to program the firmware.
Then got:
"PHY flash bdp and clx bdp differ! Specify which to keep if not running in interactive mode. Use --phy_flash_bdp to force flash bdp, or use --phy_clx_bdp to force clx bdp."

Did anyone get this firmware flash to work correctly?
 
Reactions: kgp

kgp

Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,598
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Fully uninstall ScreenResX. My guess is thst you set the preference to always show the resolution.

When you set a scaled resolution, what real resolution is the screen set at? 34401440 or 51202160?
You see this in the screen settings, preferences second page down.
Unfortunately it appears to be anything than trivial to entirely remove SwitchResX.

Basically I followed these instructions:


and


although still no way to get your profile loaded on X299. On X99 it works despite the fact that SwitchResX is still installed.

Also your command line just returns:

2019-02-06 18:28:07.992 defaults[4415:304863]
Domain (/Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver) not found.
Defaults have not been changed


although there is a com.apple.windowserver.plist in /Library/Preferences/.

In system preferences, I just have these options and no choice of selecting predefined scaling icons like in your case or like in my case with the VII and X99:

386815


386816


Reasonable option that work are just 5120x2160 with UI 2560x1080 and 5120x2160 with UI 5120x2160. All other available resolutions are either blurred or the wrong format..

About this Mac under Display also just shows LG HDR 5K 34-inch (3440 x 1440)

386817


Another clean install of macOS is impossible. It would mean a lot of time and effort to once more configure everything subsequently.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
861
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Reasonable option that work are just 5120x2160 with UI 2560x1080 and 5120x2160 with UI 5120x2160. All other available resolutions are either blurred or the wrong format..
Yeah, all the other resolutions set the screen to 3440x1440 which looks awful

That's what the
Code:
    <key>DisplayPixelDimensions</key>
    <data>
    AAAUAAAACHA=
    </data>
fixes.

Unfortunately it appears to be anything than trivial to entirely remove SwitchResX.

Basically I followed these instructions:

Another clean install of macOS is impossible. It would mean a lot of time and effort to once more configure everything subsequently.
It's trivial to remove SwitchResX.
Start the SwitchResX app, in the top left "ScreenResX" menu (on the left of File), there's an "Uninstall ScreenResX" button.
Click on "How do I uninstall SwitchResX ? " link.

After that, go to /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-1e6d and remove the custom profile ScreenResX may have left in there, something like DisplayYearManufacture-2018-DisplayWeekManufacture-9
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
861
Motherboard
ASRock X299 Professional Gaming XE
CPU
i9-7980xe
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Unfortunately it appears to be anything than trivial to entirely remove SwitchResX.

Basically I followed these instructions:


and


although still no way to get your profile loaded on X299. On X99 it works despite the fact that SwitchResX is still installed.

Also your command line just returns:

2019-02-06 18:28:07.992 defaults[4415:304863]
Domain (/Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver) not found.
Defaults have not been changed


although there is a com.apple.windowserver.plist in /Library/Preferences/.

In system preferences, I just have these options and no choice of selecting predefined scaling icons like in your case or like in my case with the VII and X99:

View attachment 386815
What do you have in /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-1e6d ?

When you run:
ioreg -lw0 | grep IODisplayPrefsKey

what do you get?

Also, maybe try enabling the pref instead:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool true

you need to reboot after that
 

kgp

Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,598
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
What do you have in /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides/DisplayVendorID-1e6d ?

When you run:
ioreg -lw0 | grep IODisplayPrefsKey

what do you get?

Also, maybe try enabling the pref instead:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool true

you need to reboot after that
386824


Code:
    | |   |           | |   |       "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PC02@0/AppleACPIPCI/BR2A@0/IOPP/PEGP@0/IOPP/EGP0@0/IOPP/GFX0@0/ATY,AMD,RadeonFramebuffer@0/AMDFramebufferVega10/display0/AppleDisplay-1e6d-7720"
Entered last provided command line, will reboot now and reedit this post with the result.

Edit: no change after reboot
 
Last edited:

kgp

Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,598
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@jyavenard,

I finally reinstalled SwitchResX with these settings:

Startup resolution: 5120x2160@60Hz
Scaled resolution base: 5120x2160
Custom resolution profile: 5120x2160, 60Hz (see blow)

386838


By this I get with your monitor profile 5210x2160@60Hz screen resolution but also the following HiDPI options, which perfectly work:

UI resolutions (screen resolution always the double)
3840x1260 @60HZ
3360x1417 @60HZ
3200x1350 @60Hz
3008x1269 @60Hz
2560x1080 @60HZ

Just one example below:

386841


Also "Displays" information under "About this Mac" is adequate

386842


Only remaining inconsistency:

Under System preferences/Displays/Display

I still have

386843


instead of

386844


For some reason I cannot achieve the default Icon menu option under "Scaled". The option with all available resolutions usually appears only by pressing the Alt/Option key, however on my X299 system, it is still default.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
306
Motherboard
ASUS PRIME X299-Deluxe
CPU
i9 7980xe
Graphics
Vega Frontier
@kgp on your 10.14.3 su, do you the MacOs Public Beta Access Utility? can you see the 10.14.4 beta 2 update?
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
One thing after the other my friend. Let's focus first on the onboard TTR controller and then investigate your USB issues.

USB-C ports of onboard TTR controller only should pop-up under XHCI with Alpine Ridge XHCI WA Enabled in BIOS.. Please disable!

Also disable Thunderbolt USB Support, Thunderbolt Boot Support and Wake From Thunderbolt(TM Devices).

Does this remove the XHCI HS09/HS10 relation of the onboard TTR controller? See respective ACPI table in IOREG!

What about TB Hotplug?
@kgp
I am now using the latest EFI folder in #1,735, and the TB settings you mentioned in BIOS are all disabled.
HS09 & HS10 are now gone in IOreg (probably because the USB kext does not implement HS09&10 in it?)

But both TB and USB-C hotplug still do not work, the TB SSD partition now takes about 30 seconds to show on the desktop after the OS boots, which does not happen before (before: the TB SSD partitions shows immediately after the OS boots) EDIT: After several times of reboot, the TB SSD partition now appears as soon as the system boots into desktop.

Another difference is that when I disconnected the TB device without ejecting, now the system will show the warning, which does not before.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe II
CPU
i9-9940X
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi AsEvil,

I have two questions:

1. Why do you have in your TSCAdjustReset.kext 19 and not 27 threats for a I9 9940 X CPU ?

2. Do you have a "wake after deep sleep" issue ? With your EFI (without the ...580.aml) and a Vega 64 my system don't wake up after deep sleep.
1. Oh...my fault, I misplaced the kext for the i9-9820X to the i9-9940X EFI folder!!! Thank you for pointing out my stupid mistake.

2. Currently, I do not have this issue, because whenever my system goes to deep sleep, it will automatically wake up...
 
Top