Contribute
Register

High Sierra native support for 10Gb ethernet

Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Formula
CPU
i7-3820
Graphics
GTX 970
Motherboards have 20 to 24 lanes (Non HEDT ones) So please check if you are over your lane limit.
I have 4 x16 PCIe3 lanes in x16/x8/x8/x8 mode and two x1 Lanes
x16 is GPU and x8 are Areca 1882, Sonnet Allegro USB 3.1 and Sonnet Solo10g.
x1 lanes are Decklink Mini Monitor and Innateck 4006 USB3

Do you see "built-in" in IOService plane?

I do not see "built-in"... I attached screenshots.
But I also don't see the NIC in IOACPIPlane like on your screenshots.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.08.18.png
    Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.08.18.png
    360.7 KB · Views: 45
  • Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.09.53.png
    Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.09.53.png
    206.1 KB · Views: 54
  • Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.10.28.png
    Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 12.10.28.png
    135 KB · Views: 44

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,443
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have 4 x16 PCIe3 lanes in x16/x8/x8/x8 mode and two x1 Lanes
x16 is GPU and x8 are Areca 1882, Sonnet Allegro USB 3.1 and Sonnet Solo10g.
x1 lanes are Decklink Mini Monitor and Innateck 4006 USB3



I do not see "built-in"... I attached screenshots.
But I also don't see the NIC in IOACPIPlane like on your screenshots.

I highly doubt the issue is with PCI-e lanes. I've jury-rigged my AQC107 based card in to a PCI-e x1 slot and it worked fine, albeit at 5GBase-T speeds.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Formula
CPU
i7-3820
Graphics
GTX 970
My onboard intel 1Gbe NIC showed connection in network preferences (even though there was no cable) when I connected 10Gbe NIC.
I then disabled onboard 1Gbe NIC and removed the kext but that did no help.
I also removed SSDT which Shilohh made for onboard devices but that did not help either.
I would have to modify that SSDT but I don't know how...
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
UHD 630 / RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I can confirm Aquantia AQtion 10G Gaming NIC (AQN-107) works natively. I had originally purchased the AQN/AQC-100 (SFP+ port instead of RJ-45) but that card wasn't detected and I'm not smart enough to hack any kexts to get it working. My 10Gbe switch has SFP+ ports so I just bought a 10GBase-T transceiver to plug the cat7 cable into.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
748
Motherboard
Asrock X299 Creator
CPU
i9 10900X
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook
Just to inform that the 10G onboard of the GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS XTREME, is working with Mojave 10.14.5
 
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus x99 Delux II
CPU
i7 6950
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
84
Motherboard
Asus x99 Delux II
CPU
i7 6950
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
My onboard intel 1Gbe NIC showed connection in network preferences (even though there was no cable) when I connected 10Gbe NIC.
I then disabled onboard 1Gbe NIC and removed the kext but that did no help.
I also removed SSDT which Shilohh made for onboard devices but that did not help either.
I would have to modify that SSDT but I don't know how...

Did you set the ip addresses manually from both computers for the direct connection?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,252
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
So, has anyone experimented with OpenCore? I have tried to move the Asus XG-C100C patch from Clover to OC and no success yet.....

I tried putting it in Kernel -> Patch (see below), but it did not work. Should the identifier be IONetworking?

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>AQC 107 10 GbE v2</string>
<key>Identifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleEthernetAquantiaAqtion</string>
<key>Count</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Enabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>YnVpbHQtaW4=</data>
<key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
<false/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleEthernetAquantiaAqtion</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>YnVpbHQtaW4=</data>
<key>Skip</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,443
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, has anyone experimented with OpenCore? I have tried to move the Asus XG-C100C patch from Clover to OC and no success yet.....

I tried putting it in Kernel -> Patch (see below), but it did not work. Should the identifier be IONetworking?

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>AQC 107 10 GbE v2</string>
<key>Identifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleEthernetAquantiaAqtion</string>
<key>Count</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Enabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>YnVpbHQtaW4=</data>
<key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
<false/>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleEthernetAquantiaAqtion</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>YnVpbHQtaW4=</data>
<key>Skip</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>

I didn't try with the card that needed the Meize patch, but my Syba card, which doesn't need the patch, worked fine with OpenCore.
 
Top