Contribute
Register

High Sierra native support for 10Gb ethernet

Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Other
Here's an Update: I hauled my Computer and my Cinema Display over to the other end of the world (flat) and plugged it into my FritzBox using a Cat5e cable (after reading some posts here again, I just couldn't help, but get curious) and it worked!
Again: I still lack the hardware to do proper speed tests! Board is Z390 Aorus xtreme and firmware reported by Apple verbose log is 2.11.3. Anyone wanting to try is welcome, but remember: I started with 10.13.3! and manually downgraded the FW first. NO PATCHES APPLIED SO FAR
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asrock X299M
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks again @pastrychef. I have just received the card and I get the following screen upon OSX loading. Clover/BIOS and apple loading bar all usual but as soon as it boots to OSX i get this screen, upon removing the card OSX functions as usual. What do you think?:


View attachment 386529
I'm having literally the exact same issue. I've been trying to figure it out for a couple days now but no progress. Any suggestions would be awesome!

Card: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07G2DV9K2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
Asrock X299M, i7-7820X, MSI RX Vega 64

EDIT: I finally figured it out... I needed to disable CSM in the bios and it resolved the issue of login screen garbled / glitched graphics when installing the Syba AQC107 card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
19
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Other
Just another quick update; 10.14.5 seems to have updated FW to 2.11.8. Device is still detected under system information and can still connect to the Internet. Still no patches needed for it to work so far.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS B150M-A/M.2
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anyone tested tehuti cards? I bought 2 tehuti card (tn4010) and tested with 2 hackintosh.

Install with homepage driver and file sharing works fine.. But transfer speed dropped to half of full speed.

(At first it shows 1000MB/s from SSD RAID 0 to SSD RAID 0. After a few seconds, it shows 400~500MB/s)

In windows 10, same result. Maybe problem of tehuti chipset?

Oh, I used cat6a cable.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
X299
CPU
İ9-7900X
Graphics
Zotac RTX 2080ti AMP
Anyone tested tehuti cards? I bought 2 tehuti card (tn4010) and tested with 2 hackintosh.

Install with homepage driver and file sharing works fine.. But transfer speed dropped to half of full speed.

(At first it shows 1000MB/s from SSD RAID 0 to SSD RAID 0. After a few seconds, it shows 400~500MB/s)

In windows 10, same result. Maybe problem of tehuti chipset?

Oh, I used cat6a cable.
Have you checked SSD or NAS RAID level bottlenecks?

Any SATA3 based SSD will max out at 550 MBps. You will also need Core i5 based NAS with 6-8 7200 RPM drives running on RAID 5-6 to max out 10 Gbe Bandwidth.

Initial high speed might be some SSD or RAM cache. Find that out.

You need NVMe to NVMe test to evaluate your 10 Gbe performance if you want to test it cheaply.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Pro
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x GTX 1080 Ti
Hey, anyone know how I can get 10.13.3 installed on a new x299 as rock professional gaming i9 board so I can get the Aquantia 10g flashed ? I have a extra SSD installed, and it even had 10.13.3 installed but since this computer is under the iMac pro smbios I am having difficulty getting 10.13.3 installed on the extra SSD so I can get the Nic flashed. any suggestions ?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2014
Messages
24
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Pro
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x GTX 1080 Ti
@auzer1 here's an EFI folder for this motherboard and HighSierra ;-)
thanks Oli. I have the computer working in 10.13.6 following KGP's guide. But the problem now is that since it has a imacpro smbios i cant boot up with the copy of 10.13.3 that i had so i could flash the NIC. i guess either i try and get a differnt smbios working (your efi is also a imac pro) or i try and find a copy of 10.13.3 for imac pro.....any other ideas anyone ?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
192
Motherboard
X299 UD4 PRO
CPU
i9-7900
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
I understand, I was facing the same situation a while ago..... I think I have a bootable iMac Pro 10.13.3. But I have to find some time to make it available to you. may be next week, no guarantee !!
 
Top