Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install High Sierra or Mojave on the Dell Optiplex 7010 / 9010 Desktop PC - Revision II

Joined
Sep 11, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9010 MT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
This is what the msi rx 580 will look like. Notice it covers the pci 1x but you barely have enough room for the white one so it will be a super tight fit.
Thank you. I think it would be to much tight. Maybe I will go with the RX560 or even a gt710. I want to upgrade for photo editing but the main use is for audio production. I have an other 7010 with a gtx 750 ti for light gaming (with windows).
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,186
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I want to upgrade for photo editing but the main use is for audio production.
I wouldn't recommend the GT 710 for photo editing if you will use a 4K monitor as it can only do 4K @ 30Hz via HDMI not 4K @ 60Hz via DP like the RX560. The 710's performance is not much better than HD4000 integrated anyway.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
457
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
@craighazan Did you get your NVMe x4 drive working with an adaptor that also took an M2 SATA ssd drive as well - out putting that to a standard sata? Im after advice on how to format my drive (info on it here).
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,186
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
out putting that to a standard sata?
Here's what the Silverstone site says:
411003
Looks like you just connect the Sata cable to the Sata0 port. Format the drive APFS/GUID partition table which will create the EFI partition for Clover to be installed. The same as if you were installing macOS.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
110
Motherboard
Dell 7010
CPU
i7-3770/Q77
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@craighazan Did you get your NVMe x4 drive working with an adaptor that also took an M2 SATA ssd drive as well - out putting that to a standard sata? Im after advice on how to format my drive (info on it here).
Hi @nicksoph. No my Rivo adapter doesn't have a SATA connection, just the NVMe M.2 slot. Though what you're suggesting sounds like it could work. I'd like to hear how this goes, I think it might work, as SATA is the official start up connection on this board. Great speeds on that NVMe you have!. I have to edit my thread about the $34 250GB EX900. The 300MB read speed difference was down to the processor not the different drives. I received my new 7010 mobo which I'm rebuilding for my G5. (More details on that thread when the new parts arrive next week). And tested the EX900 with an i3 3245 and i7 3770 on the new board, using the $2 adapter in the X16 slot. 350MB in read speeds was the difference, using different processors.
Not for this thread I know but I was given a Dell Inspiron one 2020 today, Intel H61 Express chipset and Intel Celeron G1620T. Ill start with the processor.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
116
Motherboard
Q77 Board
CPU
I7 3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you. I think it would be to much tight. Maybe I will go with the RX560 or even a gt710. I want to upgrade for photo editing but the main use is for audio production. I have an other 7010 with a gtx 750 ti for light gaming (with windows).
Not to mention that msi gets super loud. I'm returning mine.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
116
Motherboard
Q77 Board
CPU
I7 3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
What's the max resolution that the HD 4000 will support through DP?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
457
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GTX 710
Mobile Phone
Android
Here's what the Silverstone site says:
The same as if you were installing macOS.
I was hoping to find out what was causing a particular behaviour - not important now but still puzzling. -
When the card only had the NVMe drive and the OS was set to boot from the USB it would boot from USB and show the NVMe drive, as a boot option on the first clover screen.
If I added a standard SATA drive with a Hackintosh install on, directly to the MB (not to the SSD card holding the NVMe drive), it would boot clover from the USB and NOT show the NVMe drive as a clover option but only show the standard SATA drive.
Unhiding drives in Clover still didnt show the NVMe drive.
If it then loaded OSX from the standard SATA the NVMe drive would show in OSX.

Just to add - that upto now on this double SSD on a card build, I didnt put anything in L/Extensions. I think I need to understand more about where kexts should go but atm intending to go with put most in both and select "Detect" in clover. Any thoughts?
 
Last edited:
Top