Contribute
Register

[Guide] Install High Sierra or Mojave on the Dell Optiplex 7010 / 9010 Desktop PC - Revision II

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,196
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm running 10.14.6 I believe. I am not home atm. And also the system hardware are Dell optiplex i7 3770 with the Radeon hd 4000
10.14.6 is still in beta. HD4000 is by Intel not by AMD (Radeon)
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
129
Motherboard
Q77 Board
CPU
I7 3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Yes, I need the pci (white) slot. Even if it is no longer supported by Apple, the audio card still works thanks to a pilot of the company.

I thought to take the MSI Radeon RX 580 which according to the post # 2 measures 7.8 inches.
This is what the msi rx 580 will look like. Notice it covers the pci 1x but you barely have enough room for the white one so it will be a super tight fit.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
250
Motherboard
Dell 9010 XRRDV desktop
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
It will only cover the PCIe x1 slot (the shortest one) not the white PCI slot. Is that what you are asking ?

View attachment 410665

Note that the 580 cards are all close to 10 inches long and will block the Sata ports.
aliexpress has various inexpensive PCI risers and extension cables, freeing up all lanes and sata ports...
mentioned here https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-install-high-sierra-or-mojave-on-the-dell-optiplex-7010-9010-desktop-pc-revision-ii.251736/post-1956657
 
Joined
May 31, 2019
Messages
3
Hello,
I can't install Mojave and I don't know why because I see no error message. After the installation dialog and the first reboot, the machine stuck while booting Mac OS. I only see the Apple logo but the process bar stucks at 0%.

I have an Optiplex 7010 with Core i5-3470 and the Intel HD4000 GPU. The HDD is empty.
At first I created an Mojave install stick on my Macbook and copyed the kext files on the EFI partition. Because I'm using the HD4000, I don't replaced the config.plist, right?.
Then I configured the BIOS options as discriped.
And then I booted up from the Movaje stick to start the installation. After the first reboot, I see in the Clover menu the installation stick and one HDD with the AFS icon (see attach 1). If I click on the hdd with the AFS icon, I see the Apple logo and the process bar at 0% and it stucks. If I boot in verbose mode I see after some seconds the screen on the second attach.

I have no idea how to fix the problem.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,196
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have an Optiplex 7010 with Core i5-3470 and the Intel HD4000 GPU
The 3470 only has the unsupported HD2500 so you'll need a Mojave Compatible GPU. See post #2.

Alternatively you can swap out the 3470 to one with HD4000 if you want to try that instead.

410958
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
129
Motherboard
Q77 Board
CPU
I7 3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello,
I can't install Mojave and I don't know why because I see no error message. After the installation dialog and the first reboot, the machine stuck while booting Mac OS. I only see the Apple logo but the process bar stucks at 0%.

I have an Optiplex 7010 with Core i5-3470 and the Intel HD4000 GPU. The HDD is empty.
At first I created an Mojave install stick on my Macbook and copyed the kext files on the EFI partition. Because I'm using the HD4000, I don't replaced the config.plist, right?.
Then I configured the BIOS options as discriped.
And then I booted up from the Movaje stick to start the installation. After the first reboot, I see in the Clover menu the installation stick and one HDD with the AFS icon (see attach 1). If I click on the hdd with the AFS icon, I see the Apple logo and the process bar at 0% and it stucks. If I boot in verbose mode I see after some seconds the screen on the second attach.

I have no idea how to fix the problem.
You have to use the config from the guide also the it 3470 doesn't use the he 4000 it uses the hd 2500.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,196
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
How would I go about enabling quick sync?
If you are just using the iGPU/HD4000 it should be working already. If you have a dedicated graphics card then you'd need to run the IGPU in headless mode.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
28
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you are just using the iGPU/HD4000 it should be working already. If you have a dedicated graphics card then you'd need to run the IGPU in headless mod
Yup, just realized I'm not using my iGPU anymore. Going to look through the guide.
 
Top