Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Elite 8300 & 6300 Pro (all form factors) using Clover UEFI hotpatch

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,549
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Guess this tells us it's not optimal to use an HD2500 Ivy bridge CPU and Nvidia graphics if you want to hackintosh one of these HPs. One of the HD4000 CPUs is the better choice. HD4000/5000 support in macOS is the best of any of the integrated Intel gfx options.

There is always USB audio but I'm not really interested in using that long term.
Not really, im pretty sure we can make even HD2500 work by properly patching it as it's Ivy Bridge graphics and we had proof that it is working for some people there.

About your issue: it's just a small issue causing that 4 min delay in your case, im confident that we can solve it, im too tired it's 2:00AM in my country right now, i will go to sleep and check tomorrow with energized brain.

Also special note, i did post PR files on another thread & Rehabman just found a bunch of issues on my setup which i corrected and i will update the files & guide accordingly.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Good to know you'll update the guide. RM can figure out almost anything hack related. Have a good sleep !
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,549
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Good to know you'll update the guide. RM can figure out almost anything hack related. Have a good sleep !
@trs96 i just pushed a major update on Github, done all the corrections that @RehabMan suggested.
USB Ports properly configured now with USB Injector.
Noticeable performance improvements.
Full change log on Github by reading the latest commit (not full changelog, still beginner at xcode, accidentally pushed halfway written changelog)
Give the new files a try including config.plist (only adjust Nvidia related settings and SMBIOS 13.2 as you would usually do).
Hopefully it does also solve your current long boot problem with AppleALC installed.

- Remove FakePCIID.kext & FakePCIID_XHCImux.kext
- Add USBInjectAll.kext into EFI/Clover/kexts/Other & install it to Library/Extensions as well.
- Also try removing FakeSMC plugin kexts and leave only FakeSMC.kext.
- Use new SSDT-HP.aml & new config.plist
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Made the above changes but still get the three 60s timeouts/delays on IOHDACodecfunction.
I'm also still using your modded AppleALC kext. I'm also booting with igfx disabled as it won't boot
with the HD2500 enabled in BIOS. Do you think using a different ig-platform ID would work when
having igfx enabled ?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,549
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
Made the above changes but still get the three 60s timeouts/delays on IOHDACodecfunction.
I'm also still using your modded AppleALC kext. I'm also booting with igfx disabled as it won't boot
with the HD2500 enabled in BIOS. Do you think using a different ig-platform ID would work when
having igfx enabled ?
I would try an EC reset first, it might help in some cases.
(whenever i had audio issues on my Lenovo L440) it was due to EC fault.

From Rehabman FAQ:
Q. How to do an "EC reset"?

Resetting the EC (EmbeddedController) can help if it gets into a bad state. To reset the EC, all power must be cut.

Shutdown, then disconnect all power sources including the battery. Hold the power button 30 sec. Reconnect power sources and turn on the computer.
the battery refers to laptops, without CMOS Battery its supposed to be a CMOS Reset.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,549
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm also booting with igfx disabled as it won't boot
with the HD2500 enabled in BIOS. Do you think using a different ig-platform ID would work when
having igfx enabled ?
Try only changing device-id to 52010000 on config.plist:
HD2500.png

This is the device-id that some people showed for their working HD2500.
Make that change and your PC should be able to boot with HD2500 (if not at least without hardware acceleration).
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
the battery refers to laptops, without CMOS Battery its supposed to be a CMOS Reset.
The CMOS reset didn't change anything. I'll try to flash the BIOS to 3.04 and see if that helps.
 

Sniki

Moderator
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,549
Motherboard
Lenovo V330 - 15IKB
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620 /1920x1080
Mobile Phone
iOS
The CMOS reset didn't change anything. I'll try to flash the BIOS to 3.04 and see if that helps.
Make sure to try post #16 changes that i suggested and see if you can boot only with HD2500.

Yes upgrading to that bios version would be a great idea as it's the latest one without the meltdown/spectre patches.
Also you are able to downgrade from that version.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Make sure to try post #16 changes that i suggested and see if you can boot only with HD2500.
Is it necessary to Inject Intel too ?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Try only changing device-id to 52010000 on config.plist:
It will boot using that id but still to a black screen with only the mouse pointer visible.

I think that the only way to make HD2500 work for anyone, not just a few "lucky" people would be to get the HD2500 kexts, plugins and bundles from Mountain Lion and install them to /S/L/E. I never installed ML and don't have a copy so I can't do that myself. I went from Lion directly to Mavericks instead.
 
Last edited:
Top